We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true paradise on Earth”
Review of Ayung Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A true paradise on Earth”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in August 2013.

Ubud is famous for its exclusive resorts. Most of them are extremely over-priced but the Ayung resorts combines a acceptable price with excellent service, perfect food and great location.

Imagine yourself om top of a hill, everywhere you look there us rainforest, down in the valley runs a river and you hear birds sing and a scream of a monkey.
A regular day at Ayung will look like this.
You wake up at eigth for the daily yoga at the amphi theatre. You call the reception and they send one off the golf cars to pick you up. After your stretching and mindfulness you enjoy a fine breakfast and decide to swim bit in one of the invinite pools. You hup on one ofnthe shuttle fans to Ubud, visit a temple, do the bird walk and return on time for a marvelous diner. Dont forget the rooftop of the restaurant and enjoy the view!

Exceptional standars by the staff, extremely clean and a true paradise!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Niek1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Niek1985

Many thanks for your great review and for staying at the Ayung Resort Ubud. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for sharing this beautiful review to fellow travelers on TripAdvisor. We will make sure to share this wonderful feedback with our team

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Ayung Resort Ubud in the near future.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    89
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
136
490
32
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed for five days, including ChristmasDay, and we were continually impressed by the very high standards, by the friendliness, by the sheer beauty. We stayed in a villa with its own pool, and we enjoyed every moment. The restaurant was equal to -- or even better than -- anything we have experienced in Australia or Europe; the food and its presentation was 6-star quality. We both thought this was the most romantic holiday we have ever had. Will we return? Most definitely!!!

Room Tip: If you can, go for a villa, you will be lost inyour own paradise. The coffee maker is brilliant, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Dave H

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.
Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud.

They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

We wish all the very best for 2014

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Phenomenal place - clean, excellent service, beautiful views/grounds, great food. All around a fantastic experience. It is pretty quiet, so if you are looking for craziness, go elsewhere or just take advantage of the shuttle. Really a phenomenal place and a great value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Austin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Austin T

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

We wish all the very best for 2014

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagrasse, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

When experience of excelent matters ... voyage is about memories AYUNG RESORT UBUD made our trip to Ubud Unique full of Amazing memories.
Good service, dream location among the forest of Ubud
Tranquility,Peaceful,Elegant,Fab selection of wine and wonderful food.
Great staff, fantastic Rooms ...Dream View of untouched Forest....
Very good value for money.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Delish99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Delish99

Many thanks for your great review and for staying at the Ayung Resort Ubud. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for sharing this beautiful review to fellow travelers on TripAdvisor. We will make sure to share this wonderful feedback with our team

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Ayung Resort Ubud in the near future.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Ayung Resort Ubud is an amazing combination of nature and comfort, great food, warm people and excellent service!

My wife and I were there in November of 2013 for an event called Tango in Paradise. The complex is filled with nature and walking around the place is a great feeling since we felt like strolling in our garden, occasionally meeting with people from the hotel that greeted us always with a warm smile.

The Wijaya Kusuma Restaurant inside the complex has a very good view over the valley and offers great food including different kinds of cuisine. We tried several options and all of them were very good. The breakfast is amazing! All kinds of natural juices are available. Try "Body Cleanser", ya?

The Spa at Ayung Resort is farther down the complex, near the river. The environment and great service is very relaxing to begin with. That was an unforgettable experience we would like to repeat.

In the 6-days we stayed there, we could see the diligence in many details and the good intentions of our hosts to make our stay highly pleasurable. The biggest treasure indeed, is the people that work in this hotel, because they treat the customers from their hearts. They are warm and happy people and we felt at ease interacting with them.

By the way, walking around listening to tango music pour out of some of the salons was such a treat! ^^

Daniel & Anna
Taipei

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanyTaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear DanyTaipei

Many thanks for your great review and for staying at the Ayung Resort Ubud, and thank you for sharing this beautiful review to fellow travelers on TripAdvisor

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We will make sure to share this wonderful feedback with our team

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Ayung Resort Ubud in the near future.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Ayung for 2 nights. The room was very nice with a balcony overlooking the jungle and pool. There was a very comfortable king bed and super clean bathroom with a big bathtub and shower. The property was immaculate and filled with impressive statues and well maintained jungle.
One of the highlights of this stay was the food. This stay included breakfast, and to date, is one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. Get whatever coffee/tea you like, followed by fruit/meat/cheese/breads, and a main. Make sure you stop for high tea between 4-6pm for more good coffee and tea with some delicious snacks.
We had dinner here as well and were very impressed. The wine selection was good and decided to have splurge on tenderloin and a sirloin which were cooked to perfection.
In our 3 weeks in Indonesia, this was a our best breakfast and dinner. The service was exceptional and staff were very friendly and helpful.
If you have the budget for $125 night, its well worth your stay - relaxing, clean, and friendly place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_Over_604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear S_Over_604

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud.

They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

We wish all the very best for 2014

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We reached there around midnight as our flight was terribly delayed. Luckily we had engaged the hotel's driver for airport pick-up(very pricey though!).The staff greeted us as if it was still early and helped us to a swift check-in and immediately took us to our room. The room was simply marvellous, very clean(except for the komodo dragon statue in the room, eerie at times...)and the view from our balcony was just spectacular. Breakfast was amazing, though limited selection as it was ala-carte. You can enjoy walking from the restaurant to your room(quite a distance though!) as the resort is amidst a small jungle and full of statues and carvings of all sorts. First time experiencing staying in a hotel where the mini bar is FREE! and has an expresso machine complete with whipped cream maker....WOW!! However, the free shuttle to Ubud centre is only 3 times daily(only during the day) and the timing is not convenient as many cultural activities are held at night, and we have to find our own way back to hotel after that. Though we stayed only for 3 nights, I wished we could stay longer as we truly enjoyed our time there. A definite recommendation for those who wish to stay in Ubud area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Haishana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Haishana

Thank you for sharing this beautiful review to fellow travelers on TripAdvisor and thanks for your great review and for staying at the Ayung Resort Ubud.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We will make sure to share this wonderful feedback with our team

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Ayung Resort Ubud in the near future.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
5.3 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Payangan
616 reviews
4.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 198 in Ubud
734 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.4 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#12 of 198 in Ubud
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayung Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayung Resort Ubud

Property: Ayung Resort Ubud
Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayung Resort Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayung Resort is a breathtaking, mystique and unique lifestyle hotel, perched high up on the bank of a mostly untouched tropical mountain rainforest gorge, in the traditional Balinese village of Payangan Ubud, surrounded by the gentle, spiritual tranquility and pace of Balinese life. Along this serene 8 hectares rain forest domain runs The Ayung, Bali’s most sacred mountain river. In the rocks of the hotels pathways and along it’s 600 meters long riverbank fronting the Ayung Resort, 250 of the finest Balinese Stone Carvers have painstakingly worked,for over a 2 year period,to carve the spectacular Hindu mythologies, Ramayana and Mahabharata amongst others. These stone carvings have become the most sought after photo opportunity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ayung Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayung Resort Ubud Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing