We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, great food...”
Review of Ayung Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Friendly, clean, great food...”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Would highly recommend Ayung Resort Ubud. The staff were always on hand when you needed them and more importantly with a smile on their faces. Sika (our own Man Friday) was particularly attentive and kind.

The resort, whilst a little way out of the centre, was so beautiful, clean and relaxing that you really needn't leave for the entirety of your stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Adam W

Thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could create a memorable experience for you.

We wish you all the very best for 2014 and look forward to welcome you back to the Ayung Resort Ubud soon.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    93
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
151
506
33
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The hotel is perfect, I love it an I totaly recomend it. If I come back to Bali I go there for sure.
The place is paceful and it is close to Ubud.
Amazing food, the chef is realy good.
The service is the best.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Cristina G,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I stayed at Ayung along with my wife for 3 nights and really enjoyed being part of this lovely resort. We loved its location and peaceful ambience. The staff is very kind and polite. Rooms are good in size and very well located. We enjoyed every part of this Resort during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliftont2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear cliftont2014,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

We wish all the very best for 2014

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Our stay at the Ayung Resort Ubub was unfortunately very short. I was immediately struck by the unique and ornate features in the main lobby. Very beautiful. The welcome drink and hand clothes were inviting after our long voyage.

It is here that I must inject the sole complaint of the trip, our interactions with the front office staff: each and every time I had to interact with the individuals at the front desk I was left feeling extremely frustrated. This was because I felt that there might have been a) language difficulties b) lack of training c) lack of basic hospitality focus necessary for a hotel employee or d) (and I am sorry for this ----- they were not very bright.

This was every time I wanted to organise something; taxi, room change, babysitter, motorbike rental, elephant park visit any of the myriad activities that hotel guests might want to participate in: and have no idea about- therefore needing the support of a helpful receptionist (or concierge). I felt that the problem here was really that these employees were lacking the spirit of hospitality and I felt that I was impinging on their actual responsibilities by wanting to organize extra activities. A few times I actually had to google information then take my ipad down- stand in front of them- and ask them to call 3 or 4 different companies for me :(.

Okay, aside from my failed interactions with front desk the rest of the experience was wonderful.

I believe that the value for money of this hotel is wonderful. The setting, facilitates and decor outstanding. AND I must absolutely expand on the AMAZING food and beverage! We ate at the restaurant 3 times a day for our entire stay and looked forward to it every time. This is a first for me. The food was that good. Amazing breakfast- just as the other reviewers mentioned. The service staff were also very kind. We were travelling with 2 small kids (no easy matter), and it even occurred that the restaurant manager offered to hold the baby and take him for a walk in order for us to actually eat. Now, that is the spirit of hospitality! And furthermore reflects some-of the guiding principles of the top luxury companies (see Ritz- & unspoken wish).

A last comment must compliment the GM. He is ever-present, ever-smiling, and ever-aware of his guests and any assistance they may need. I truly believe that without him, the hotel just wouldn't run properly. And in fact I think I would only go back if he was still there. He is constantly making sure that everything is running smoothly, and in fact under his guidance, he actually brings up that rating category of this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank marina_thetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Marina the Traveller,

Thank you very much for sharing such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could create a memorable experience for you. Your comments regarding the FO staff have been noted and additional training session have been executed.

We wish you all the very best for 2014 and look forward to welcome you back to the Ayung Resort Ubud soon.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Ayung for 5 nights, 16-21 Jan. The hotel itself if located in a very quiet, tranquil area north of Ubud. The staff here are top class. The most attentive I've ever experienced. Always smiling. They can't do enough for you. The breakfast is amazing with a great selection of very high quality foods. Dinner is also of an excellent standard. More expensive than outside the hotel but what do you expect. The chef is also Michelin rated! There is a free minibar and breakfast is also included. All in all, 10/10.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RobLeesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear RobLeesy

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

We wish all the very best for 2014

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Pros:
1) Quiet, hidden away from the busy tourist crowds, ideal place to just chill.
2) Food is amazingly delicious. Try the Balinese meals - I recommend the Balinese pork ribs.
3) Service is top notch, most staff can speak some English. Everyone smiles, and service is discreet.
4) Beautiful scenery, well kept gardens and the most awesome museum pieces at the lobby.
5) Beds and pillows are of high quality - Had one of my best sleeps ever while on holiday.

Cons:
1) Not near Ubud Central, definitely not within walking distance so the hotel shuttle/private driver is a must.
2) Expect to pay more for top notch food - USD $50 per pax for ala carte Appetizer, Soup, Main Course and Beer.

Room Tip: laksmana rooms are close to the lobby and restaurant, easy to walk to and fro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frozen_fire19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear frozen_fire19

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.
Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud.

They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

We wish all the very best for 2014

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in August 2013.

Ubud is famous for its exclusive resorts. Most of them are extremely over-priced but the Ayung resorts combines a acceptable price with excellent service, perfect food and great location.

Imagine yourself om top of a hill, everywhere you look there us rainforest, down in the valley runs a river and you hear birds sing and a scream of a monkey.
A regular day at Ayung will look like this.
You wake up at eigth for the daily yoga at the amphi theatre. You call the reception and they send one off the golf cars to pick you up. After your stretching and mindfulness you enjoy a fine breakfast and decide to swim bit in one of the invinite pools. You hup on one ofnthe shuttle fans to Ubud, visit a temple, do the bird walk and return on time for a marvelous diner. Dont forget the rooftop of the restaurant and enjoy the view!

Exceptional standars by the staff, extremely clean and a true paradise!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Niek1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Niek1985

Many thanks for your great review and for staying at the Ayung Resort Ubud. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for sharing this beautiful review to fellow travelers on TripAdvisor. We will make sure to share this wonderful feedback with our team

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Ayung Resort Ubud in the near future.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
4.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
5.3 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 10 in Payangan
654 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
6.4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#24 of 196 in Ubud
747 reviews
4.3 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 196 in Ubud
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayung Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayung Resort Ubud

Property: Ayung Resort Ubud
Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
#2 Spa Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayung Resort Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayung Resort is a breathtaking, mystique and unique lifestyle hotel, perched high up on the bank of a mostly untouched tropical mountain rainforest gorge, in the traditional Balinese village of Payangan Ubud, surrounded by the gentle, spiritual tranquility and pace of Balinese life. Along this serene 8 hectares rain forest domain runs The Ayung, Bali’s most sacred mountain river. In the rocks of the hotels pathways and along it’s 600 meters long riverbank fronting the Ayung Resort, 250 of the finest Balinese Stone Carvers have painstakingly worked,for over a 2 year period,to carve the spectacular Hindu mythologies, Ramayana and Mahabharata amongst others. These stone carvings have become the most sought after photo opportunity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ayung Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayung Resort Ubud Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing