We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!”
Review of Ayung Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014

A trully amazing experience! Ayung is a true gem; a unique property full of eclectic decor. Embodies and showcases the Balinese/Indonesian spirit, alongside the most modern facilities provided throughout. Set in a natural forest, where mature trees-some bearing fruit-are in abundance, the resort is spread around an enormous area, all rooms have breathtaking views of the natural forest and are exquisitely appointed. The staff are very attentive and you are made to feel very special at all times. Your every wish is seen to within minutes, and with a smile. This is a treasure trove, where exquisite art is found around the resort-including rock carvings and a small temple. The spa treatments are an absolute delight and one can enjoy these in private rooms, or, in cabanas overlooking the river. For the treatments, natural ingredients are used(herbs and spices). The restaurant offers stunning views and the food is a feast of flavours and a culinary delight! Little details such as the expanding hand towel(!) and the mini torch for reading the menu are just two examples of the attention to detail that one finds in this place.There is so much to see and do around the resort; the most important being the peaceful relaxation and sense of wellbeing one acquires during their stay.
I have stayed in many hotels around the world, this resort has inspired and excited me-i shall be returning for a longer time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpmp111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

661 - 667 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel's service is one of its best feature. Everyone is so friendly and really try to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The room is great and big. The view cannot be beat. Location is a bit far from Ubud which makes goin around a bit tough. Even though they have a shuttle, the last shuttle is too early for it to be useful. Rent a driver to pick you up from the airport, since taxi to go there cost the same as half day for a driver. Other than the shuttle, everything else is excellent!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yayit001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

On visiting this stunning resort we were immediately impressed with the authentic if somewhat eclectic decor the entire development presented. So many 4 & 5 star resorts look like the one down the road regardless of their global location, although very pleasant, they border on boring. Not the case with the Ayung Resort, from the authentic luxury Joglo style Villas with the incredible wood carving and typical Indonesian decorations to the awesome rock carvings throughout the complex.
The river gorge and rain forest views are absolutely enthralling and quite mystical, one could spend hours gazing at it.

Overall we could not fault anything, the natural gardens, the particular attention to customer service, the quality of food and accommodation - all surpassed expectations and would recommend this magic place to anyone looking for a special place to stay with authentic Balinese ambiance.

Room Tip: The privacy of the villas and ultimate luxury and decor fit out make them a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingpete255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed for three nights at the Ayung Resort.
The pros:
- wonderful, wonderful food at the restaurant! Every meal was a delight... Artisanal breads, amuse-bouche, artfully arranged food. We were spoilt!
- Very well-trained staff. Everyone speaks English well, servers at the restaurant are patient and professional. They also know the menu well.
- large and clean rooms and bathrooms. I can find no fault!
- resort was rather fascinating with its own stone carvings and deer park. The resort even sponsored some rock carvings along the Ayung River which we saw on our rafting trip.
- spa was pretty good and the complimentary morning yoga was nice

The cons:
- Ayung Resort is not only a 20min from Ubud centre but also a considerable ride from the main road! It would be impossible to walk anywhere from the resort. Thankfully there was the shuttle transport, though I would highly encourage the management to consider an evening trip as well.
- This place is carved out of the rainforest! Urbanites would need some time to get used to the monkeys, crickets, bees (plenty), spiders etc. It's Bali!

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it for a quiet peaceful stay to commune with nature rather than for a sightseeing itinerary.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kyklades19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed at the Ayung with my partner on the 1st-4th of January 2014 to end our trip to Bali and unwind. We were instantly won over by with the incredible scenery and beautiful art around the grounds of this hotel. This was my second stay in Ubud and didn't think any place could top the Alila but this was a close tie. From the moment we entered the driveway and were greeted by an amazing canopy of trees and art carvings along the drive, to stepping foot into the stunning lobby area we were blown away!

We stayed in a standard room in the Laksmana wing where we were overlooking the infinity pool from the ground floor, words (and photos) really can't describe the views. After walking around the grounds and seeing the villas which we had earlier wished we had booked in time, we were more then happy we got the room we did as i think it definitely has the best views and pool.
The room is well equipped with a free mini bar, great coffee machine which we never got to try, everything you could need in the bathroom amenities wise, and a huge shower and great bath.
It is set quite far away from the reception area and you generally need a buggy to pick you up and drop you to the lobby or restaurant but they were always there within 5 minutes or quicker so we never found it an issue. We started walking day 2 after thinking it was a long treck but only took about 5-8 minutes.

It rained the first two days we were there but on our third the sun came out so we ventured to the stunning pool and within seconds of sitting down staff came out with cold waters for us. It was bliss swimming in this pool i just wish we had longer.

The breakfast was INCREDIBLE! The restaurant is situated among the best scenery overlooking the Ayung river and the service is so friendly and professional, i can not give the staff more praise, they were the best! You get so much to choose and it was all delicious. I don't think i have ever had a better latte, anywhere! and the juices were amazing, which i've found is really hard to come by at hotels in Bali. We had dinner at the restaurant one night during our stay and although it is more pricey then other restaurants in Bali the prices are still really reasonable and what you would pay in Australia. $10+ for a wood oven pizza, $8+ for a glass of red, $30 ribs (perfectly done) etc.. And for the atmosphere and service it is worth it.

Other then the unfortunate mix up during our check in where we ended up getting twin beds instead of a king bed for our stay due to not specifying during booking (although i had emailed a few times stating i was staying with my partner for our anniversary) i could not fault this beautiful hotel and it's super friendly staff and would highly recommend to everybody!
I can't wait to come back!! Thankyou to all the staff at the Ayung:)

*I highly recommend doing the Ayung White Water rafting. Best thing i have done in 2 trips to Bali and never thought i would do it until we stayed here and we asked by many staff if we were going rafting. Not scary in the slightest like i thought it would be and 2 hours of breathtaking scenery.

**A suggestion for the hotel re the twin beds, the large posts at the end get completely in the way of the TV so maybe removing them like i have seen in some photos of the rooms would be a better option as we could never lay down and watch a movie properly.

Room Tip: Loved the rooms and more so the Pool in the Laksmana Wing, highly recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The rooms are so nice. If you got this type of room in the States at a tourist destination, it would cost you over $300 a night, and this hotel is not much over $100 a night. We had a room with a king bed and brought in a roller bed. The space in the room was huge. The internet worked great. We had a very nice balcony that over looked the pool. But the best part is the bath. There is a separate tub and shower. The shower was a huge walk in and so fancy with marble squares. The bathroom is also bigger than the one at my house, it was so nice. The employees drive golf carts to take you up and down the hills. And the lobby has beautiful artwork and wood carvings.

At the restauant, I just had dessert one night, and it was good. The ice cream was a stand out because you could tell it was homemade. And don't forget to stop by the restaurant every evening and order your breakfast that is brought to your room. The breakfast was very very good, one of the best I've had and it is included with the room. I loved the strawberry pancakes and pastries. They bring you an assortment from crossants, to cheese bread, to muffins, to toast with very good jam and honey. And you can order as much as you want. So be sure to order 3 bread baskets.

I don't see how any of the expensive hotels, as in over $300, in Ubud could be any better than this hotel. The standard room was terriffic and great breakfast and large swimming pools and beautiful landscaping. Highly recommend this, it surpasses standards of hotels such as Hilton, Marriott, that you find in the States.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinkles200000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I arrived to Ubud at about 4:30 in the morning after a red-eye arrival to Bali. Barely able to keep our eyes open on the ride from the airport, we experienced a surge of energy once we arrived at Ayung Resort, a beautiful resort that's roughly a ten to fifteen minute drive to Ubud. Although the distance from Ubud wasn't ideal (more on that in a bit), everything else about this stunning resort was-after our rapid check-in, we retreated to our room where a plush bed absorbed us and immediately took us to dream land. Awaking the next morning, we journeyed over to the restaurant for a scrumptious breakfast overlooking a vista of rolling hills and trees with a clear view of a volcano in the distance. Each day before embarking on our day trip to Ubud we would enjoy some time pool-side, which were always available, due to each building residence having its own pool for the people staying in those rooms. While the allure of Ubud calls, a walk around the resort is well worth taking an hour or two of your time and if the prospect of climbing the steep pathway is too daunting, there are always hotel staff members more than willing to transport you by golf cart. As already stated, the resort is a bit of a drive from Ubud, but you can catch a hotel shuttle three times a day and once in town, all the taxi drivers know where Ayung Resort is located. This was perhaps the most luxurious stay my wife and I have ever enjoyed at a resort/hotel, all for quite an affordable price due to sale prices made available online.

Room Tip: Get up early for breakfast-a spot on the veranda is desired so you can get the best views overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeruTransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frits H, General Manager at Ayung Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear PeruTransplant,

First of all we would like to thank you, for taking the time to post a review about our beautiful resort.

Your kind words are encouraging and make our staff very proud. They are happy that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and are looking forward in welcoming you back on your next trip to Ubud.

With Kind Regards,
Frits Henskes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
5.3 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 10 in Payangan
766 reviews
4.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
6.4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 199 in Ubud
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
3.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,268 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayung Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayung Resort Ubud

Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan 80572, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Payangan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
#2 Spa Hotel in Payangan
Price Range: £81 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayung Resort Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayung Resort is a breathtaking, mystique and unique lifestyle hotel, perched high up on the bank of a mostly untouched tropical mountain rainforest gorge, in the traditional Balinese village of Payangan Ubud, surrounded by the gentle, spiritual tranquility and pace of Balinese life. Along this serene 8 hectares rain forest domain runs The Ayung, Bali’s most sacred mountain river. In the rocks of the hotels pathways and along it’s 600 meters long riverbank fronting the Ayung Resort, 250 of the finest Balinese Stone Carvers have painstakingly worked,for over a 2 year period,to carve the spectacular Hindu mythologies, Ramayana and Mahabharata amongst others. These stone carvings have become the most sought after photo opportunity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ayung Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayung Resort Ubud Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing