We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place. Great value.”
Review of Ayung Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Very good place. Great value.”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Firstly, I made a very last minute booking directly with the hotel, via email, and they offered a reduced rate for a deluxe suite. We paid US200 for a room in the “Sita” rooms, which included breakfast and afternoon tea.
The hotel is situated about 25 minutes from Ubud central. The hotel has free shuttle buses running from the hotel to Ubud and return at convenient times. We used the buses each day and they were hassle free. We visited Ubud each day to shop, have lunch and have a massage each day.
We paid 180,000 Rup (A$17.50) each for a 2 hour massage at Putri Bali Spa. We did this twice and fully recommend it. The place is a short cab ride out of town (in fact it’s on the way from Ayung and the driver will drop you there). The massage place will drop you back into town after your massage – a 5 min drive).
The hotel is beautiful and situated on a hill. It is a collection of buildings, some are accommodation blocks, one is the restaurant area, one is the reception etc. Each accommodation block seems to be about 3 levels, with a magnificent infinity pool stretching from one side of the block to the other. Out block was called “Sita” and the rooms are huge and very comfortable. The room has everything that you want and a free mini-bar with water and soft drinks complimentary. No alcohol though, but you can buy it. (My tip is to buy a few beers in town and bring them along, to save a few bucks).
The swimming pools are beautiful with the most amazing views. We watched a few monkeys playing in the trees from the warm water. You can order food from the pool and most times we had the pool to ourselves.
The “Sita” block of rooms was down a steep, winding, paved road. When you wanted to head up the hill to say breakfast, afternoon tea or to get the town shuttle, someone would come down in a golf cart and drive you up. We waited no longer than a few minutes each time we rang for a driver. Great service! We always walked down the hill to our room, but you can use the carts if you wanted. Just remember that as they get constant rain, you need to walk in the middle of the road, so that you don’t slip. We didn’t have problems, but we noticed a gentleman slip on the moss (on the side of the road), but thankfully he was ok.
Another big tip: All guests receive complimentary afternoon tea with some light food. It was a nice touch and it shouldn’t be missed. In fact, my wife & I decided to have late (and huge) lunches in Ubud town (after our 2 hour massages and hours of shopping) and only required the afternoon tea for dinner. (Note: we didn’t need to dine at the hotel for dinner and noticed that the prices seem to be a bit high!).
So, I would easily return and definitely would recommend it to others. It was nice to stay at a hotel slightly out of town. The drive was easy and enjoyable to take in the surroundings).
Finally, the staff were wonderful and always happy and helpful. I learnt that labour is cheap in all of Bali and the staff receive about A$4 per day for their services, so don’t be afraid to tip them, if you get a chance.
Another tip: I had a driver from another hotel collect us for the drive back to the airport. It was about half the price of the Ayung hotel driver. I paid 450,000 Rup for a driver for 8 hours (ie. A$50 with a tip). He drove us around for the whole day (as we had a 10pm flight). If you can’t find a good driver, then either use the hotel driver, or negotiate a rate with a taxi driver in Ubud town).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFLLFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    93
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
151
506
33
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I still dream of Ayung breakfasts. During the rest of my travels nothing has even come close. Incredible bakery selections, divine eggs Benedict, fabulous fruit platters, decent coffee and that doesn't even scratch the surface of the options on offer, all cooked to absolute perfection. An Ayung breakfast really sets you up for the day.
Fortunately the hotel swimming pools are an extremely generous size so you can make sure you have ample room for that amazing breakfast by doing a few laps or joining the free daily yoga class.
On the matter of service, it was faultless. An extremely easy and comfortable check-in accompanied by welcome drink and towel.
Rooms were luxurious, with a decent sized loggia to sit out on and both separate shower and bath in the bathroom.
Minor niggles, it would have been good to have more information about the hotel and its facilities in the room, perhaps with some walking trail maps, (did I mention the stunning rainforest location of this hotel, right next to the river, which coincidentally you can enjoy incredible views of whilst enjoying that infamous breakfast!)
I didn't use the spa, mainly because its prices were just not competitive with the amazing spa offers available in central Ubud. It would be good to see at least a couple of special offers to motivate the more cost conscious visitor such as myself to use this resource.
Shuttle services to Ubud were much appreciated, we tended to use them to get in in the morning and then take a taxi back in the evening. Taxi fares worked out around £5.
This was the first place we stayed in Indonesia, booked at one of their special discount rates, and I couldn't have asked for a better place to help me get over the jet lag. Would I stay here again? In a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomad_Spagsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had a great time at the Ayung. The food was exceptional and the staff are friendly and helpful. The massages were the best we had in bali! There is a free shuttle bus to and from ubud and whitewater rafting is 5 minutes away!
Yoga in the morning was a great way to start the day. There is also buggies to get you around the resort.
This is a great place for couples or anyone looking to relax.

Room Tip: There's buggies to get around the whole resort sod any room is great and super tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed here in January 2014 and could not recommend it highly enough. The resort is an absolute maze when you enter and you wonder when you're going to reach the actual reception, but when you do, it does not disappoint.

The whole resort is fantastic and the grounds are very large. You're offered a ride on golf buggies anywhere you want to go by the staff, which is often hard to turn down as it's a very steep walk from the quarter where some of the rooms are to the restaurant. Every one of the staff without fail were incredibly friendly and professional. The rooms are spacious with a big TV, nice bathroom and a coffee machine (very good coffee) and a selection of teas. The free minibar has milk and soft drinks (no alcohol). There are two pools in the resort, both of which are very large. We were there during low season so we often had it to ourselves.

The restaurant is fantastic and we had dinner there every night. The breakfast has the benefits of 'a la carte' and 'buffet' rolled into one, in that it's all 'a la carte' to order, but there is no issue with ordering as much as you want - bread & pastry basket, fruit, American breakfast (egg, sausage etc) (or other egg dishes), blueberry pancakes (delicious!), charcuterie, smoked salmon, selection of fresh juices. It was amazing. Dinner is also excellent (particular mention for the beef tenderloin and the panache creme brulee - I don't usually like creme brulee but this was amazing).

Other posts I'm sure have mentioned the free shuttle service, which is very handy. I would say the grounds of the hotel are actually nicer to walk around than Ubud centre itself, but definitely worth a spin or two in. The hotel is a good bit out from central Ubud but, given the shuttle service they put on (not to mention that a taxi would be cheap if you wanted to stay in for the evening - €10 max), I don't think this is a big issue.

Overall, I have no criticisms of this hotel. I could hardly believe the quality of it for the price we paid (even factoring in that we were there during low season). It's relatively new (I gather about a year old), so perhaps that will change with time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tchrakiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Had an amazing stay at Ayung! Staff were very friendly and more than happy to help with all issues! All inclusive mini bar was great, breakfast was amazing- would recommend the blueberry pancakes! Loved the details which made our stay special! Would recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shama-L123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

There was nothing that was ever too much trouble from the staff at this hotel. The restaurant service was incredible, matched by the food, which was to die for. The staff always set up a table for the 6 of us and had it waiting for us. They remembered which coffee we liked and how we liked our eggs, even after hte first day. The waitresses were amazing in that they remembered our orders without writing it down. I only drink decaf coffee and the room service people gladly got me more decaf pods to go in our coffee machine, which is in the room. The mini bar is all free, including a carton of milk for your coffee or tea. There are only 2 downsides: 1. It is a good 20 - 30 minute drive out of Ubud and is a pain to get back in if you miss hte shuttle. As it is a new hotel, a lot of the taxi drivers don't know how to get there, so you need to learn quickly! 2. The food and the spa prices are almost equivalent to what you would pay in Australia. However, the food was a little bit cheaper for the quality that you get, plus the 6 star service makes up for it. The breakfasts, afternoon tea and min bar are all included in the price and 3 return shuttles a day. I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to have a beautiful view over the valley, trees everywhere, away from the traffic and mayhem of Ubud. A gorgeous retreat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hi2lea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

A beautiful place to relax and take in the Bali experience. Great staff and service is fantastic. Only downside (if there are any) the room should have a couch so you can relax in your room. Only 2 chairs to sit on that was the only draw-back, otherwise this place is top notch. Make sure to take time to see the carvings down the gorge, which go from mid-way of the property down to the river! Apparently it took 300 workers 90 days to complete....looks like you are in a fantasy world!

A little over-the-top on carvings, but otherwise a total pleasure to stay there....I would give this place a 9.5 out of 10, only because of the missing couch in the room, but that is nothing compared to the location and service. Stay there it is well worth the money!

Room Tip: Take a deluxe rooms which is on the 3rd floor, only a few $$ more. Other great part of the stay is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fuzzyswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
4.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
5.3 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 10 in Payangan
654 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
6.4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#24 of 196 in Ubud
747 reviews
4.3 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 196 in Ubud
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayung Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayung Resort Ubud

Property: Ayung Resort Ubud
Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayung Resort Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayung Resort is a breathtaking, mystique and unique lifestyle hotel, perched high up on the bank of a mostly untouched tropical mountain rainforest gorge, in the traditional Balinese village of Payangan Ubud, surrounded by the gentle, spiritual tranquility and pace of Balinese life. Along this serene 8 hectares rain forest domain runs The Ayung, Bali’s most sacred mountain river. In the rocks of the hotels pathways and along it’s 600 meters long riverbank fronting the Ayung Resort, 250 of the finest Balinese Stone Carvers have painstakingly worked,for over a 2 year period,to carve the spectacular Hindu mythologies, Ramayana and Mahabharata amongst others. These stone carvings have become the most sought after photo opportunity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ayung Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayung Resort Ubud Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing