We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Ayung Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Had an amazing stay - can't begin to explain how beautiful it is. Can't wait to come back! :) It was where dreams become a reality - the yoga was fun, pool was incredible and the service and food sensational!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank partylover23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
There are newer reviews for Ayung Resort Ubud
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 897 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

The location - climbing down the edge of the Ayung River valley is stunning. The art work both in the rooms, the public areas and carved into the rocks is quite amazing. This collection looks like a labour of love over many years. The food and service are absolutely first class. - we will go again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sanur2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Splendid hotel in the middle of nowhere. Among the fantastic greenery, great meals and very friendly service. In all, splendid rest. Although eight kilometers from the center of Ubudu but good connection hotel by minibus.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wieslaw S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Absolutely beautiful place in the middle of the Balinese forest, an Art Gallery Hotel to re-command
Different choice of accommodation. Very nice room to huge Traditional wood Villa with private swimming pool.
All staff are very professional and friendly, always a small work to know if you enjoy
Restaurant amazing food and service
We so enjoy our first 5 days trip, that we return for a second one for 4 days, before leave Bali.
Thanks special to Fritz, the GM and all staff

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jean-Francois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This year valentine's day which happen to be on the weekend, we decided to go to Ubud. Getting away from seminyak crowd, into the serene surroundings of ubud. We chose Ayung Resort.

From the moment we stepped into the resort, we were welcomed by lavish palm trees on the drive way. Everything has been prepared by them. Checked in was so easy.
We were escorted to our Honeymoon Villa, with.......A Breathtaking view EVER!. Blissful and lavish rain forest, with the sound of the river and birds chirping.

Traditional teak-wood style, with spacious bathroom overlooking the rainforest, with a private pool and hanging balcony. what else could you ask for more!

Service is flawless, food are amazing, the Spa is one other thing that you should try.

We really enjoyed during the whole trip and definitely will come back
Special Thanks to Mr. Fritz, the General Manager of this resort, to made the trip of ours such an unforgettable one.

Room Tip: WIbisana and Arjuna villa is the best
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Firstly, I made a very last minute booking directly with the hotel, via email, and they offered a reduced rate for a deluxe suite. We paid US200 for a room in the “Sita” rooms, which included breakfast and afternoon tea.
The hotel is situated about 25 minutes from Ubud central. The hotel has free shuttle buses running from the hotel to Ubud and return at convenient times. We used the buses each day and they were hassle free. We visited Ubud each day to shop, have lunch and have a massage each day.
We paid 180,000 Rup (A$17.50) each for a 2 hour massage at Putri Bali Spa. We did this twice and fully recommend it. The place is a short cab ride out of town (in fact it’s on the way from Ayung and the driver will drop you there). The massage place will drop you back into town after your massage – a 5 min drive).
The hotel is beautiful and situated on a hill. It is a collection of buildings, some are accommodation blocks, one is the restaurant area, one is the reception etc. Each accommodation block seems to be about 3 levels, with a magnificent infinity pool stretching from one side of the block to the other. Out block was called “Sita” and the rooms are huge and very comfortable. The room has everything that you want and a free mini-bar with water and soft drinks complimentary. No alcohol though, but you can buy it. (My tip is to buy a few beers in town and bring them along, to save a few bucks).
The swimming pools are beautiful with the most amazing views. We watched a few monkeys playing in the trees from the warm water. You can order food from the pool and most times we had the pool to ourselves.
The “Sita” block of rooms was down a steep, winding, paved road. When you wanted to head up the hill to say breakfast, afternoon tea or to get the town shuttle, someone would come down in a golf cart and drive you up. We waited no longer than a few minutes each time we rang for a driver. Great service! We always walked down the hill to our room, but you can use the carts if you wanted. Just remember that as they get constant rain, you need to walk in the middle of the road, so that you don’t slip. We didn’t have problems, but we noticed a gentleman slip on the moss (on the side of the road), but thankfully he was ok.
Another big tip: All guests receive complimentary afternoon tea with some light food. It was a nice touch and it shouldn’t be missed. In fact, my wife & I decided to have late (and huge) lunches in Ubud town (after our 2 hour massages and hours of shopping) and only required the afternoon tea for dinner. (Note: we didn’t need to dine at the hotel for dinner and noticed that the prices seem to be a bit high!).
So, I would easily return and definitely would recommend it to others. It was nice to stay at a hotel slightly out of town. The drive was easy and enjoyable to take in the surroundings).
Finally, the staff were wonderful and always happy and helpful. I learnt that labour is cheap in all of Bali and the staff receive about A$4 per day for their services, so don’t be afraid to tip them, if you get a chance.
Another tip: I had a driver from another hotel collect us for the drive back to the airport. It was about half the price of the Ayung hotel driver. I paid 450,000 Rup for a driver for 8 hours (ie. A$50 with a tip). He drove us around for the whole day (as we had a 10pm flight). If you can’t find a good driver, then either use the hotel driver, or negotiate a rate with a taxi driver in Ubud town).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LFLLFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I still dream of Ayung breakfasts. During the rest of my travels nothing has even come close. Incredible bakery selections, divine eggs Benedict, fabulous fruit platters, decent coffee and that doesn't even scratch the surface of the options on offer, all cooked to absolute perfection. An Ayung breakfast really sets you up for the day.
Fortunately the hotel swimming pools are an extremely generous size so you can make sure you have ample room for that amazing breakfast by doing a few laps or joining the free daily yoga class.
On the matter of service, it was faultless. An extremely easy and comfortable check-in accompanied by welcome drink and towel.
Rooms were luxurious, with a decent sized loggia to sit out on and both separate shower and bath in the bathroom.
Minor niggles, it would have been good to have more information about the hotel and its facilities in the room, perhaps with some walking trail maps, (did I mention the stunning rainforest location of this hotel, right next to the river, which coincidentally you can enjoy incredible views of whilst enjoying that infamous breakfast!)
I didn't use the spa, mainly because its prices were just not competitive with the amazing spa offers available in central Ubud. It would be good to see at least a couple of special offers to motivate the more cost conscious visitor such as myself to use this resource.
Shuttle services to Ubud were much appreciated, we tended to use them to get in in the morning and then take a taxi back in the evening. Taxi fares worked out around £5.
This was the first place we stayed in Indonesia, booked at one of their special discount rates, and I couldn't have asked for a better place to help me get over the jet lag. Would I stay here again? In a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomad_Spagsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
4.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
5.3 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 10 in Payangan
699 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
1,193 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
764 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayung Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayung Resort Ubud

Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan 80572, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
#2 Spa Hotel in Payangan
Price Range: £82 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayung Resort Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayung Resort is a breathtaking, mystique and unique lifestyle hotel, perched high up on the bank of a mostly untouched tropical mountain rainforest gorge, in the traditional Balinese village of Payangan Ubud, surrounded by the gentle, spiritual tranquility and pace of Balinese life. Along this serene 8 hectares rain forest domain runs The Ayung, Bali’s most sacred mountain river. In the rocks of the hotels pathways and along it’s 600 meters long riverbank fronting the Ayung Resort, 250 of the finest Balinese Stone Carvers have painstakingly worked,for over a 2 year period,to carve the spectacular Hindu mythologies, Ramayana and Mahabharata amongst others. These stone carvings have become the most sought after photo opportunity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ayung Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayung Resort Ubud Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing