We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth!”
Review of Ayung Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The service at this resort is impeccable! We stayed at a two room villa with our daughter, niece and nephew. The staff are very attentive and having our own butler taking care of us in the villa was amazing! It is very secluded, be prepared for an hour's drive from the airport, but totally worth it. The perfect place for honeymooners :)

I understand that the owner of this place is an avid art collector, but personally I feel that he has gone overboard with his decorations. Every inch of this place is filled with carvings and statues. It is really quite overwhelming! Even the villa had carved panels lining the walls and I almost missed the live frog that was perched on the bedroom wall! One quick phone call, and 3 lovely staff members removed the frog in no time. Problem solved! Fortunately, with the attentiveness of the staff and the beautiful natural surroundings, the carvings and statues are soon overlooked!

I cannot recommend this place enough…when you have breakfast at the breakfast villa, the view is just breathtaking in a lovely serene environment! Truly Heaven on Earth! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weezy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

617 - 623 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Samaya is one of the nicest resorts I've ever stayed in. Full of beautiful greenery that blends into the natural flora of the surroundings, it is truly a paradise. The ayung resort is surrounded by wonderful views of the river Agung, padi fields and mountains. As wonderful as the resort was, the service the staff provided surpassed it. They were truly fantastic!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon. When we arrived we were upgraded to a private villa decorated with flowers and chocolates. It was a beautiful villa with ornate wooden carvings, stunning views of the rainforest and private pool over looking the river. The mini bar was free and generously stocked. The food was incredible, the best food a hotel has ever offered us. I would recommend the breakfasts as a must. The staff were friendly and very helpful throughout our stay. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

What an amazing resort.
I think the owner built these structures simply to display his art.
The rooms are beautiful and loaded with wood carvings, marble statues, bronzes-you name it.
In order to check in, you had to weave your way thru all the statues.
The ten minute approach off the "main road" is unimpressive, but once you arrive, you won't want to leave. Five stars on every level. Once this place is discovered, the prices will triple.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Ayung Resort has it all. Subtle class mixed with friendly, attentive staff and a beautiful location.
Amazing hotel! There is a reason Ayung Resort consistently ranks in the top 10 of all hotels in Bali. Don't think about it, just book a stay and go. We live in Bali and went up for our wedding anniversary. Now my wife wants to go back for her birthday and any other excuse she can find to return. Our room was great, the pool had crystal clear and cool water, the (free) afternoon tea was yummy, dinner was delicious as was the breakfast the next day. They even delivered to our door a complimentary heart shaped chocolate mousse for our wedding anniversary. Thank you to all the staff at Ayung Resort. We will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balifitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed at Ayung for 7 nights in the amazing villa Wibisana and absolutely loved everything. A big thank you to all the staff of the resort, the service was very warm and efficient. Quite a few people knew us by our names which was really sweet. Food quality in the restaurant was superb, starting from a la carte breakfast menu with a selection of freshly squeezed juices and a vast array of breakfast options and fruits. We were so full every day, but just could not resist to finish off with a nice cup of coffee and a bakery basket (all baked on premises and still warm when served, yum!). Dinner was always a fine dining experience. We especially enjoyed the duck breast with gnocchi, the wagyu sirloin and all of the amazing salads they have. Cocktails were also quite impressive, so was the wine list.
But the best thing was definitely our villa (comes with a huge lounge room with a dining area and your own pool overlooking the rainforest! It was very spacious and impressively constructed with wooden carvings all around and marble finishes. There were plenty of fans and air-conditioners to accommodate any preference. The bathroom was very large and comfortable and had an amazing view, so if you choose to take a bath, it is truly an unforgettable experience.
A balcony wraps around the whole villa so you have unlimited panoramic views of the rainforest and rice fields and even Ayung river. If you are keen on yoga, there is a beginners class every morning at 7.30, otherwise you may prefer to do your own practice on the balcony in the most tranquil setting you can imagine. I really could stay there forever!
Missing it already!
Thank you for the most amazing and relaxing holiday, Ayung!

Room Tip: go for villa Wibisana, it is a bit pricier than a standard room but so worth it, its like having you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Super_Runinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

There's a reason this resort has so many excellent reviews. My partner and I stayed for 3 nights and the tail-end of our Bali holiday. We picked it based on the reviews on TA and were not let down.

Our expectations were actually blown away. From the moment you enter the check-in lobby with ceiling high carvings and smiles on all the staff, all the way to the lobby in the rooms and the lush green views on the golf-cart ride down there.

The place is so tranquil and peaceful that at night the only sound you hear are the insects and the occasional monkey (yes we saw monkeys in the trees).

The rooms are massive, everything is just grand at Ayung. The fine dining at night is a treat, only shadowed by the equisite breakfast (the highlight of our trip).

For around $120-$150USD you are getting a resort, service and an experiance worth five times the value.

We will be back, there is no doubt.

Thankyou Ayung

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
5.3 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 10 in Payangan
766 reviews
4.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
6.4 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 199 in Ubud
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
3.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,268 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayung Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayung Resort Ubud

Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan 80572, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Payangan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
#2 Spa Hotel in Payangan
Price Range: £81 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayung Resort Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayung Resort is a breathtaking, mystique and unique lifestyle hotel, perched high up on the bank of a mostly untouched tropical mountain rainforest gorge, in the traditional Balinese village of Payangan Ubud, surrounded by the gentle, spiritual tranquility and pace of Balinese life. Along this serene 8 hectares rain forest domain runs The Ayung, Bali’s most sacred mountain river. In the rocks of the hotels pathways and along it’s 600 meters long riverbank fronting the Ayung Resort, 250 of the finest Balinese Stone Carvers have painstakingly worked,for over a 2 year period,to carve the spectacular Hindu mythologies, Ramayana and Mahabharata amongst others. These stone carvings have become the most sought after photo opportunity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ayung Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayung Resort Ubud Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing