We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to our Bali vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ayung Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect start to our Bali vacation”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed four days after arriving in Bali, facilities were gorgeous, staff extremely helpful and friendly, food was delicious. Somewhat out of the way from Ubud, but certainly worth the extra travel time. Stayed in a regular room, didn't feel like we missed out on anything for not getting a villa. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sptlmbyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    89
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
131
471
28
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

hi

location is key here. more about the hotel later, but i should first tell you why ubud is such a great place to visit. it is the cultural hub for bali. so while kuta and nusa dua will be sprawling with tourists doing the regular, ubud is a quiet little mountain place where art flourishes. you see the village mindset in the people there too. a shoppers delight, and for the person who wants to see real bali, its a must visit.

coming to the hotel, its really inside guys. so if u wanna stay near the market, this is not the place for you. and the hotel knows it. its arranged for transit twice a day to the market and back, i would ve loved the return transit to be back a bit later at night as nightlife in ubud is good too.

every place worth visiting from here attarcts a half day charge of 300000 rupiah at least. be it the zoo, monkey forest or the mountain. but i guess its unescapable unless u ve rented a bike.

the hotel, has a basic swimming pool, but believe me, the last thing one should do is lounge around the hotel when there is so much to do. if u have no plans, do river rafting - thatll take care of half your day.

coming back to the resort - good staff, helpful staff, minimal breakfast options (iuts inclusive in th fare) but i loved all their egg preparations and fruits.

id probably live here again, but will ensure i am out in the morning and return at night to the luxury of my room.

Room Tip: try for a room nearer the river. you may just hear the water while you're in bed. its an amaxing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harsh1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We visited in June for a romantic break and it was awesome...really lovely staff very polite and friendly...breakfast was great especially the pancakes and there was lots of it!

Location is good with a free shuttle into town three times a day (takes half an hour and wouldn't recommend walking!) feels like living in the jungle

Only slight moan is that the restaurant is very expensive compared to prices in town (roughly 3 times as expensive) easily solved by just eating in town!

And if you need a guide Id recommend a local taxi driver called Made whose number is 081 855 9201 he speaks English and Japanese fluently

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank neil3723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Ayung Resort
What a pleasant surprise. We stayed for 5 days in May, 2014. This new resort (just over a year old) sits along the Ayung River in Ubud, close to some of the most expensive resorts in all of Bali. It is a quiet, peaceful place, with as much of the “real” Bali as is possible these days. The pricing is also attractive for this area. We stayed in a standard room, close to the main entrance. This was a fine room, large and comfortable. It had a nice view from the balcony. The hotel offers deluxe rooms and spectacular villas as well. The location is quite steep as you go down toward the river and the more expensive and exclusive rooms and villas, but “buggy” (golf cart) transportation is readily and quickly available. We had breakfast and dinner regularly in the hotel’s restaurant. We enjoyed all our meals. The hotel offers complementary transportation into Ubud, and can arrange transportation to any place in Bali. I enjoyed simply walking in the local small village and into the rice fields beyond. We covered all of Bali with the help of hired cars, but I really enjoyed the local setting immediately around the hotel. The hotel has great respect for the natural setting. It is well groomed, but not overly so. The Ayung Resort is well worth looking into. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spunkymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Arrived at the new airport in Denpasar to be picked up as arranged with the resort. Was glad we organised this as the resort is about a 20 minute drive out of Ubud, so well over an hours drive and a standard taxi would have a hard time finding this unless he knew where he was going. Not much more than taxi fare but nice to see a face in the crowd just for you. We travelled through small villages and narrow roads until this garden oasis appeared. Wonderful place but made more so by the local staff who were the real stars here. Nothing was a problem, this was a five star resort in all ways. Restaurant was first class. Breakfast was fantastic, all home made with a bountiful menu eaten overlooking the rice fields and tropical forest. Dined there for two of our three nights as it was first rate. Afternoon tea is complimentary and not to be missed. Wine list extensive and in all very fairly priced as likewise the food. We stayed in the Sita wing with large comfortable rooms and balcony. Large pool with plenty of beds. Spa was good which also looked over the fauna and river The resort is steep so guests are transported via buggy. We checked out the villas and will treat ourselves next time as they were gorgeous with their own infinity pools. Free shuttle into Ubud several times a day.
Only one thing we would have liked was a day bed on our balcony or comfy room chair to sit. There was a lovely lounge area down the hall though but it is nice to have this in your room.
This is a magical place to chill out and relax which is what we were looking for. I highly recommend this resort, fantastic long weekend. Don't hesitate to come here.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Sita rooms which were excellent but treat yourself to a villa if you can as you will n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have just spent 3 wonderful days in the most tranquil and peaceful place you could wish for.
The staff were without exception he friendlest and most welcoming that you could wish for.

The attention to detail is superb in every aspect, The food is some of the best I have eaten especially the tenderloin steak.

I will be returning at the earliest opportunity, to enjoy a longer stay if possible.

If you want to wind down and lose the stress this has to be the place for you.o

Room Tip: try a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casuarina, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We spent 10 days in Bali and stayed Sanur, Nusa Lembongan, Ubud and Nusa Dua. This trip we wanted to get a feel as to where we will stay for longer in the future. As it was my birthday my partner wanted something special and booked Ayung Resort Ubud. We had Hanoman Villa, absolutely beautiful! Cannot fault this place. We were looked after by Krishna who was incredibly efficient and professional. He is a great asset to the resort. The dinners were exceptional and breakfast was very substantial and we loved the fresh juices, pastries, fresh fruit, choice of egg dishes etc. loved getting around in the golf buggies. Yoga was excellent and teacher very skilled. We loved our private infinity pool, with view of the jungle and glimpse of river! We believe this resort is world class and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone! Looking forward to our return trip! Thank you Ayung Resort Staff, you are wonderful!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
5.3 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 8 in Payangan
518 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
996 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 24 in Lovina Beach
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
6.4 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
674 reviews
24.2 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayung Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayung Resort Ubud

Property: Ayung Resort Ubud
Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayung Resort Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayung Resort is a breathtaking, mystique and unique lifestyle hotel, perched high up on the bank of a mostly untouched tropical mountain rainforest gorge, in the traditional Balinese village of Payangan Ubud, surrounded by the gentle, spiritual tranquility and pace of Balinese life. Along this serene 8 hectares rain forest domain runs The Ayung, Bali’s most sacred mountain river. In the rocks of the hotels pathways and along it’s 600 meters long riverbank fronting the Ayung Resort, 250 of the finest Balinese Stone Carvers have painstakingly worked,for over a 2 year period,to carve the spectacular Hindu mythologies, Ramayana and Mahabharata amongst others. These stone carvings have become the most sought after photo opportunity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotelopia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayung Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayung Resort Ubud Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing