We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ayung Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
1 review
“Unforgettable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Alrighty, here is how our stay went..

We were three guys (My friend, brother and I), we arrived at the airport late and we found our driver to the resort waiting for us. His name was Katut - great guy - who was really helpful in explaining how everything goes in Bali especially ubud and recommended many places for us to visit. After that, we arrive at this wonderful secluded location with amazing architectural atmosphere decorated with alot of statues. We were greeted with welcoming smiles from really extremely friendly people who were very helpful during our 6 nights stay.

The resort is top notch. The rooms are spacy, cozy, very alive. The balcony painted a view you can only see in the movies, it was magical. We felt our stress baggage quickly emptying out from the moment we arrived. YOU MUST TRY THEIR SPA!

Food was amazing, our hosts were elegant and very kind to everyone, always smiling and greeting. the breakfast is magical with an amazing view. They fully understood and spoke English perfectly. There is no doubt our stay at Ayung Resort Ubud was the highlight of our 10 nights vacation in Bali. We truly missed it when we were staying at the other resort. The resort has this couples vibe going on and is an excellent choice if you want to spend some cozy time with your SO.

Overall, outstanding location, extremely nice/helpful hosts, amazing food, great scenery, very artistic and quiet memorable, If someone from ART sees this, Thank you very much for giving us memories of happiness and pure joy.

Shukri M.

Room Tip: Balcony on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shukri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    89
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
131
472
28
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The Ayung Resort is perfect in many ways - beautiful location, extremely friendly and welcoming staff, and really good food in the restaurant. The morning yoga was also enjoyable, if a little basic.

But, for a hotel claiming 5 stars, and charging 5 star prices, some things were a little off...

The rooms are extremely large (we stayed in the Sita Wing), but bizarrely they have very little furniture in them so they feel very empty. The bed was comfortable, but the only chairs were wooden chairs that you would expect to see around a table. Similarly on the balcony, which had a lovely view over the swimming pool, the only thing to sit on was these wooden 'dining room' chairs - not ideal for relaxing.

- The rooms don't have basic amenities like hair dryers and irons. All of these have to be requested separately, and when I did request an ironing board the one provided was very rusty.

- There are no staff based in the Sita Wing. One evening, after going swimming, our room key would not work. It took us ages to find someone to help, then they had to go back to reception to get a new key, then come back. This took some time, and at no point did anyone apologise.

- The hotel is about a 20 minute drive from Ubud, and the free shuttle runs only 3 times per day. Although we booked a place on the shuttle the whole experience was very chaotic. In the morning the shuttle bus arrived and there was not enough space for everyone who had booked. The doorman arranged extra buses but didn't really explain what was going on so it was quite confusing for everyone involved.

Overall, These experiences were not really a problem but they weren't 5 star experiences either.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at three different locations on Bali this year. Ayung was by far the best. It is in a class of its own with a truly private jungle location, best in breed service from all staff as well as (top of) world class facilities.

We stayed in the Arjuna two bed room villa - with its own large infinity pool, stunning view over the river to the jungle beyond, absolute privacy and two huge bedrooms plus living room and two bathrooms - all kitted out to the highest standard with carvings and high tech (we had a huge marble lion in our foyer).

The site is huge and spectacular (it has its own amphitheatre and stone/wood carvings everywhere).

The staff were amazing .. providing complimentary champagne and restocking the mini bar with complimentary beer, soft drinks tolberone and nuts and we got thro them. Even unusual requests were understood and followed up quickly and with enthusiasm.

The restaurant was also the best we experienced on Bali .. although just 20mins from Ubud we saw no reason to leave this beautiful sanctuary.

We are experienced travellers (see other reviews) This is one of the top three hotel experiences we have had anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: go for one of the villas .. they are more private than the main building. I think that the ones over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loss-leader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The resort is surrounded by the forest. We were in the Sita wing further down in the valley. The restaurant has great views from higher up. It is one of those places that make you feel relaxed almost immediately. We felt like we were really on holiday.
We booked superior but were upgraded to deluxe. it was a good size. The room has everything you need, coffee machine with pods if you like your coffee and a carton of real milk in the fridge. The room was quite plain, although we liked the lizard sculpure on the wall. I would have liked a day bed on the balcony as I arrived after a long flight so could have done with a snooze, but couldn't bear to stay in the room.
Breakfast was absolutely fantastic, just order everything. The few pastries that we couldn't manage each morning were great as afternoon snacks!
Make sure you have dinner here at least one day as the food, taste and presentation is great. I think the desert I had there was the best I've ever had. For information, I heard one woman saying she couldn't eat anything on the menu as she was a vegetarian, and they gave her a separate vegetarian menu
Delicious sweets for the afternoon tea as well. Maybe should think about selling them separately as well as I would have liked some to take away.
Easy enough to get the little golf carts up and down the hill.
All staff were great.

It is about 20 mins in the car to Ubud town, althought there is a free shuttle at various times. We hired a car and driver who was great and took us round to a number of spots and I can provide the details if anyone is interested.
The river rafting is great fun (you can hear some of the screams from the resort-(not in a disturbing way!) but I nearly fell in twice and one of the group on the other raft did fall in so watch out. You get a great view of the area from the river.
There are some lovely rice fields around, would have been nice to do a longer walk among them (we walked through some to get to the rafting).
The hotel had just enough people not to be creepy but not too many either. Over three days there were about 6 people altogether around the pool near our accommodation.
Didn't try the spa but looked on the expensive side.
We loved it! Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Sita wing is down in the valley, nearer the river surrounded by trees. There were separate villas do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank amalfipurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This resort is about a 20 minute drive north of the town of Ubud and clings to the banks of the Ayung river. It is set amongst manicured gardens with spectacular views of the surrounding forest that provides for a most relaxing and peaceful environment. The whole resort is stacked with beautiful artwork, wood and stone carvings typical of the locality as well as paintings depicting Balinese culture. Our room was a deluxe, one of the cheaper options, in a small block with three floors and its own swimming pool. There were some pool villas which looked to have enviable private locations with their own plunge pools. The room had everything you would expect in a five star resort including excellent cable TV, tea/coffee, king sized bed etc. My only criticism of the room was there was quite a large empty space, but no sofa or other comfortable chairs that would have finished the room off. One of my favorite aspects of this resort were the staff who were impeccably trained, genuinely friendly and keen to ensure our stay was a pleasant one. The breakfast is superb and enhanced by spectacular views down the valley if you get the right table and the complimentary afternoon tea is also a pleasant way to spend an hour lounging in the large arm chairs. Given the location from Ubud and the fact that there is only one restaurant at the resort the food choices were a little limited, the food is high quality with excellent presentation but a little overpriced (at least by HK standards, which is my frame of reference), particularly when the 21% tax is added to the bill. My other minor concern was the steep slope that the resort is built upon, it makes the walk to breakfast a pretty challenging one, however, you can call for a golf buggy with a friendly driver to take you anywhere on the resort if you cannot manage the hills. We also had massages at the spa which were very good, but again perhaps a little pricey.
Overall this is a top notch resort, worthy of the excellent ratings it receives on this site. I would recommend to anyone wishing to have a tranquil, back to nature kind of holiday... perfect for a honeymoon. We certainly hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This is a weird place. The good- kindly staff, views. However, Very tacky art, garish sculptures throughout. Paid for a deluxe room and had a middle floor room. Rooms very poorly oriented. Overpriced room service. Location very far from town. Staff uncomfortable helping make restaurant recommendations. In room coffee maker did not work. Overall surprised by all the good reviews- expected much more.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have been to over forty countries and stayed in hundreds of hotels. This was one of the best, if not the best, I have stayed. The hotel is luxurious, the rooms are spacious and clean, the staff is helpful and friendly, the environment is magnificent and tranquil, the breakfast delicious and large. The food in the restaurant is worth a Michelin star. Perhaps by the standards of Bali it may be on the (slightly, taking into account the facilities) expensive side but for a European it is a terribly good value for money. The only disadvantage is the distance from Ubud, but taxis in Bali are not expensive. Highly recommended and I do hope that I will have the opportunity to visit it again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
5.3 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
4.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
3.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 24 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
4.3 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#7 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayung Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayung Resort Ubud

Property: Ayung Resort Ubud
Address: Desa Melinggih Kelod | Banjar Begawan, Payangan, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
#2 Spa Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ayung Resort Ubud 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayung Resort is a breathtaking, mystique and unique lifestyle hotel, perched high up on the bank of a mostly untouched tropical mountain rainforest gorge, in the traditional Balinese village of Payangan Ubud, surrounded by the gentle, spiritual tranquility and pace of Balinese life. Along this serene 8 hectares rain forest domain runs The Ayung, Bali’s most sacred mountain river. In the rocks of the hotels pathways and along it’s 600 meters long riverbank fronting the Ayung Resort, 250 of the finest Balinese Stone Carvers have painstakingly worked,for over a 2 year period,to carve the spectacular Hindu mythologies, Ramayana and Mahabharata amongst others. These stone carvings have become the most sought after photo opportunity of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayung Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayung Resort Ubud Bali/Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing