We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We went as part of our Bali trip Honeymoon and stayed for 4 nights in a paroramic view villa. We had a private pool which we used eveyday and the staff kindly turned the filters on earlier for us as we were up early every day and liked a morning swim!
When we arrived we had a little treat each and a lovely drink to welcome us.

The room was nice and the bed was comfy but there was a foul smell in the toilet. They were a little tired but OK.

There is wildlife as you are in the jungle! We had frogs in our pool every night and they were fascinating to watch them glide through the water. The views were amazing and i could sit for hours just taking them in. We went for breakfast at 7am most days and it was quite and peaceful and gorgeous to sit outside.
(i loved the breakfast rice pudding!)

The food here was incredible! I had one of the most fantastic dinners here I have ever eaten and my compliments to the chef. (It is pricey though, but worth it)

I liked riding in the funicular!

Its a fair way from Ubud town but we had no problems with the taxi's. Do barter on the price. Monkey forest was great!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,042
    254
    131
    58
    42
See reviews for
148
1,044
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Me and my wife went there for our anniversary and stayed for 2 days. We were upgraded to Villa #10 which was a suite and had panaromic views. The rooms were beautifully deocrated, had great views as advertised and clean. The food was superb but with limited choices. The quality of treatment at the SPA is really good with a great ambience. You really have to spend the day there to enjoy the resort, travek to Ubud center takes 30min. If you are a nature lover and enjoy being away from crowd this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MohanKum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We loved this resort. Our friends had gone a few months before us, and had an unpleasant experience so we were nervous. It is really a unique situation and the setting is exactly what I picture Bali to be. It is truly a beautiful area to be completely immersed in trees, with (friendly-not mean) monkeys running around. The layout of the resort is phenomenal. I loved hearing the sounds during spa treatment quite literally right on the bank of the river.

The room service was quite good. It was also the one thing we wish was different since they were a bit pushy about doing things the hotel offered. For instance they advertised events and such in the vases at breakfast, and during dinner a man came around with an iPad asking if we wanted to a temple dinner. It was a bit in the face for us, but others might have appreciated the options.

The food was really tasty as well, and the prices were reasonable for a high-end resort. We didn't take any of the local 'tours' where we had to pay, but just walking and biking around the area was stunning.

Room Tip: We had villa 21-panoramic pool which we would highly recommend since no others villas were around us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwm_8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los angeles
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We got to Ubud Hanging gardens at around 5pm. We just saw this one big square open pavilion with thatched roof. It was the hotel reception area. I wondered where the rest of it was.. We checked in amongst beautiful decor, staff and views. Then it was time to go to our room and a resort tour. This 'funicular'(cable car) elevator was waiting for us and took us down a steep incline. Ubud hanging gardens is built on a steep incline of breathtaking gorges. As we went down, we passed the different parts of the resort - restaurant, shop, media center etc.. all built on different levels amongst lush greenery of the Balinese mountains. Our room was a river view villa which was so incredibly romantic. The villa had its private infinity pool overlooking the Ayung River and banana tree leaves hanging low giving you that feel of utter wilderness! The infinity pools overlooking the gorge was beautiful and every time we dined, it was such an awesome view. There is a temple across from the valley which is lit up by candles in the night. Gives a mystical feel. The resort has tons of adventurous little pathways. great to explore and go hiking. The breakfast was excellent. Fresh tropical fruit, hot breakfast items and fresh juices. The room itself was just amazing. Comfy canopy bed, super luxurious bathroom with all the amenities you can think of. They had these tropical flowers everywhere in the room even in the toilet bowl. hehe.
I was 6 months pregnant at the time of this trip and they were so caring and made sure i didn't have any food allergies or anything in particular i didn't eat. The staff was so so warm and welcoming. I still remember the staff in the funicular. always made sure we knew where we were headed, had a good day in town and always gave great tips. The resort offers shuttle service to Ubud town and it's very convenient. Only downside of the resort is the small road that you have to take from the main road going to the resort is full of potholes and a very bumpy ride. I wish the resort would invest and pave that road. I was pregnant so it bothered me that i had to sit on that bumpy ride every time. But other than that, this resort tops our list of resorts so far. Very very dreamy and romantic. Perfect for honeymoon,baby moon! I forgot to mention it's very very quiet and dark in a good way. Lots of privacy and the villas give you the feel of being in a comfy home.. Must go!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The view from our Villa 51 was sublime.As I write this I yearn to return to our gorgeous private pool overlooking the valley...yes it is like the brochures! The bed was sooo comfy. As stated in previous reviews, yes it is not in Ubud, however, being in the countryside is what Ubud seems to be all about anyway. The staff were attentive, helpful (thank you May in guest relations), knowledgeable and discreet. One of the highlights was a walk up to the temple (which looks amazing lit up at night) to converse with the wonderful spiritual leader, Tjok...my husband's feet will never be the same.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DreamingSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Beautiful retreat to immerse in nature and beauty. We decided to stay here for two reasons: the restaurant and the heated pools. Dining is terrific - both setting and quality, the babi guling, beef cheeks, and lamb trio top the list. The pools are stunning both to look at and swim in. In Bali most pools are too cold to swim in, they are gratuitous plunge pools few people use. If you want to swim comfortably in one, stay here. Our toddler loved the pool and environs too. Our first 2 nights (of 6) our villa pool was a little too cold, but later warmed up (seemed the heat was not on) and was lovely. So, do ask if the villa pool seems too cold, they can certainly adjust the temperature. The two large pools could be a few degrees warmer and really make for a flawless resort in an amazing setting. Honestly, though no complaints. Enjoy, certainly one of the best near Ubud.

Room Tip: Panoramic villas all have nice views looking 'at' nature and the green river valley while th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank m123178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This resort is absolutely beautiful. It has amazing views across the valley looking towards a temple. The resort infinity pools are amazing and great for a relaxing morning swim. Breakfast provides many choices of beautifully prepared and presented food. My favorites were the homemade muesli and tamarilo jam.
The staff and their service was impeccable. We had room service on several occasions. They set the table by our pool with a white table cloth, candle and flowers. The food is great, albeit a bit pricey.
It was a shame that the resort didn't provide more free activities such as a yoga session or art class. As Ubud has the reputation for being a spiritual and artist centre, these activities would have enriched the experience.
Be prepared to spend at least half an hour or more on the shuttle depending on traffic to Ubud as the resort is set in quite a secluded area. The shuttle does not drop you off in the centre of ubud town. It is about a 10-15 min walk to the palace and central markets. There are many nice restaurants and shops to explore near the drop off area. The shuttle stops at 5.30 so you need to get a driver to take you back to the resort if you plan to stay in Ubud for dinner. It cost around $10 to get a driver for the return journey.
We loved the resort but be prepared for the long car rides to ubud.

Room Tip: Suite was amazing. Our daughter had a room to herself with her own bathroom. Located at the top of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b0nditraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
6.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 196 in Ubud
1,055 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 10 in Payangan
858 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 196 in Ubud
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 10 in Payangan
655 reviews
7.0 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 196 in Ubud
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Gardens of Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Gardens of Bali

Property: Hanging Gardens of Bali
Address: Desa Buahan, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#6 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hanging Gardens of Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanging Gardens of Bali is a luxurious destination in the heart of the jungle. It is situated near Payangan, a village North of Ubud, whilst the hotel rests in the centre of the magical island of Gods. The enchanting five star luxury resort has 44 private suites and individual villas, each enhanced by its own granite infinity pool, rippling into the jungle below. Each villa is designed with traditional Alang Alang thatched roofs in complete harmony with nature. In 2014, TripAdvisor and Conde Nast Traveller named our Twin-Tiered Cascading Pool as the World's Best Pool and number one honeymoon destination in Bali by Conde Nast Traveller. In 2015 Hanging Gardens of Bali has been awarded: World Luxury Hotels Awards, Seven Star Global Luxury Awards and World Travel Awards as well as other prestigious recognitions, such as the World Luxury Spa Awards and the World Luxury Restaurant Awards. The renowned Garden Restaurant serves innovative Indonesian dishes with Asian flare and Mediterranean delicacies flavoured with the local herbs and spices grown on the land and freshly-caught fish from the Jimbaran Bay. The truly luxurious Spa Collection combines natural, local ingredients and ancient techniques to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energize the soul. Complimentary shuttles to Ubud center are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hanging Gardens of Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Hanging Gardens By Orient-Express Hotel Payangan
Hanging Gardens Ubud
Hanging Gardens Hotel Ubud
Hanging Gardens Of Bali Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing