We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stunning getaway - decadent, deluxe!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanging Gardens of Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A stunning getaway - decadent, deluxe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We had no idea what to expect and didn't realise this was part of the high-end Orient Express chain ... from the moment we arrived, we were beaming with delight! The hotel is built in a 'cascading style' down a mountain, in a jungle/forest, to a rushing river. Each villa has its own private infinity pool jutting out into the trees that is pretty much obscured from other villas etc. We were warmly welcomed and escorted via the almost-silent funicular down to our villa for our welcome drink and cold towel (very nice after a 5 hour flight and almost 2 hour bus trip). We had a 2 bedroom/level villa for 4 people and it was relatively spacious and well equipped. The decking area with sun lounges and an outdoor table is where we spent most of our time, including before breakfast, when the steam rises off the pool in the morning sun ... beautiful, breathtaking. The room service was excellent and the food (considering the poshness of the place overall) was reasonably priced and delicious. The breakfast buffet is exceptional and again, the service is great. Afternoon tea in the cafe is a lovely experience by the river. The treatment spa is semi-open air and we enjoyed a really good facial and massage there with the friendly and professional staff. We also had a few hour-long Balinese massages by the main pool, which was hard to beat! When we arrived at the balcony restaurant at night, which looks across the valley to the lit-up temple opposite, we were greeted with a fresh flower, and the food and cocktails were awesome, although after 3 nights (we were there for 4) the dinner & specials menu could be a bit repetitive. The 2 level pool with the water cascading from the top to the bottom is probably the most amazing pool we've ever seen!!! We would love to go back one day. It's a great place to escape from the world, which was just what we wanted. They run a shuttle to Ubud (a 30min drive) and back several times a day and we did go one day, but otherwise this is the kind of place you just stay put; it's too beautiful to leave the views, the peace and the clean air. Great for friends and couples (so romantic), but probably not right for small kids, and probably too quiet/boring for teenagers! Our only feedback is to stop using small plastic bottles of water (especially the imported Evian) - which you need for drinking, brushing your teeth etc - they should install spring water dispensers in the villas, bars etc and you should get a jug to your table when you want water.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Netski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    996
    242
    125
    56
    39
See reviews for
133
1,002
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

If you have ever fantasised about tarzan and jane and living in a jungle paradise, all with 5 star facilities then this is heaven on a vine. The views are spectacular and the service was superb. From the minute we arrived we were greeted with nothing but lovely staff who attended to everything possible to make our stay so memorable. We were lucky enough to score an upgrade with a panoramic view also and that is truly what it was. Panoramic. Just beautiful. So beautiful in fact the first night we had room sevice and they set our table up with tablecloth a gorgeous meal candles and a bottle of red overlooking the hills of ubud. Pure heaven! The massages at the spa were to die for and we had some monkey encounters that still have us laughing and adrenalin filled memories at that.(Cheetah aint got nothing on these monkeys). Thouroughly recommend this hotel for peace, relaxation, romance and serenity. Thanks to all of the staff at Hanging Gardens for a great stay.

Room Tip: Room 53 was extremely private and had fantastic panoramic views with plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank auntysuzy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

The hotel is worth a visit simply for the views and the wild monkeys that come to visit.The rooms are very private, each one being cleverly shielded from the others.My only critiscisms are that the hotel is well outside Ubud and the pump for the rooms infinity pool is very noisyThe food was excellent ,the bar relaxing and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 186356terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Tired, after a long, late flight and the hour long drive from Denpasar airport, we were grateful to arrive at the quiet, open air, sanctuary-like lobby of Hanging Gardens. The staff were waiting for us, check in was quick, we had a tour of the room and as it was late they had prepared juice, sliced fruit and sandwiches for us in case we hadn't had a chance to eat. It was a good sign that our villa, 53, had Ganesha protecting it-each villa has a statue. The staff said our villa which is accessed by a little bridge is one of the most romantic because it has the "love bridge"! The interior is everything you want in a luxury hideaway, huge stone bath with rain showerhead, plenty of pillows, even aspirin with the daily toiletries supply. The free wifi does cut out later in the evening but we were too busy getting our romantic on, skinny dipping and watching the fireflies! The private infinity pool heat and filter turns off around 10 pm and starts again around 8am. A lot of the villa pools can be seen, 67 is very very private. Our villa, 53, was reasonably private, the sundeck can be seen by the villa above but when you're in love you don't care! Some of the top villas (23, 33) also looked quite private and it would pay to ask for one at the end of the row (usu. 3 or 4 villas in each row) as they are more out of the way. Breakfast was gorgeous, my favourite was the vanilla bean rice pudding and the chocolate, ginger, caramel creme-yes, for breakfast! If you like good tea, ask for 2 teabags for 1 pot. The dining area exudes relaxation, overlooking the two common area infinity pools, then out to the jungle and Royal Family Temple. The Temple looks great, lit up at night and it is worth a visit to chat with the Temple Master who is wise, worldly and very charming, you can leave a donation to help locals who help maintain the area. There are monkeys and luwak (civet cats) and squirrels and fruit bats to see and our favourite were of course the fireflies at night. We had no issue with mosquitos, the area is fogged twice a week and the rooms have sprays and plug in repellent. The complimentary afternoon tea at the cafe is very nice and there is a cultural activity or performance at the same time which is a nice touch. Food is pricey but excellent and the staff will organize a car to take you into Ubud (about 30 mins), the driver will take you wherever, then back to Hanging Gardens for around $30 AUD. The staff are wonderful, they all seem to know you and go out of their way to accommodate. Yes, they do ask about activities and promote events but I believe they want to make sure people have enough options to feel relaxed, they "kill you with kindness" in a way! We certainly didn't feel any pressure to sign up to anything but we were always aware that if we wanted to do anything there were plenty of ideas. We hired a local driver for the day to take us out to Jatiluwih Terraces and he took us to a small village for lunch and some local places of interest off the tourist track-hotel organized for $65 AUD for the whole day. This is paradise in the jungle and well worth a visit, we highly recommend Hanging Gardens.

Room Tip: Villa 67 is very very private. An earlier review recommended villa 21 but the pool can be seen from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank atiuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire, england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed for four nights at the end of our holiday to Bali. Upon arrival the views literally took our breath away. The room quality had a high end spec feel and was immaculately spotless. The outdoor pool was cool although personally I found this refreshing. We were also lucky enough to have a large family of monkeys play in front of our room during our stay !!!!

We ate once during our stay at the restaurant. I thought the food was excellent although my wife found it a little 'fussy'. Yes it is a little pricey ($180 for two courses and four beers) but I personally thought it was worth it. It's also worth adding that we ate twice using room service which we really enjoyed.

I can't say the same for the wine list and cost of drinks though which seemed to be unjustifiable. A small beer was around $7 and a mediocre bottle of red $75 (I'm not sure if this is local tax but wine was generally expensive on the island). Breakfast was very good and extensive.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEN79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
215 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

A breathtaking environment that can't even be imagined ! You can spend hours from your private pool looking at this magic scenery offering a symphony of always changing greens.
The hotel provides you with a lot of treats : efficient and enjoyable massages after the afternoon tea by the river Agung. Dining is the ultimate pleasure of the day : after a colourful and tasty cocktail try any fish which will be cooked in an indonesian and refined way.
Last but not least the efficient staff is there to make your stay still most enjoyable.

Elisabeth

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DANIEL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zutphen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Although it is already 7 months ago we were there, we really like to share our experience about this wonderful 'resort'.
We stayed at 'Ubud Hanging Gardens' for 3 nights, as part of our 3 week roundtrip on Java and Bali. Upon arrival we were welcomed with a refreshing fruit drink and a lot of smiling faces.

The resort is tucked away in the rainforest from the Ayung River Valley of Ubud. Opposite the resort you can see the 'Pura Dalem Segara', an ancient temple which is lit every night and can be booked for a romantic diner, but also can be visited (when you are going to Ubud town by taxi, just ask the taxi driver to stop over here for a couple of minutes).
Although each villa has it's own plunge pool there is also an infinity-edge swimmingpool on two levels. Because the resort is built on a "hill", guests can use a funicular which runs from the reception down to the Ayung Spa. From the Spa you can take a walk down to the river.

We stayed in a panoramic deluxe pool villa (nr. 10) which is set amongst terraced gardens and offers a panoramic view of the valley. This luxury villa features large glass sliding doors, has a very comfortable king-size bed with mosquito net, a writing desk, a very spacious bathroom with a sunken bath and rainshower, two sinks, a spacious wardrobe and a separate toilet. The villa was very clean and used towels were changed twice a day.
Outside the villa there is a large, partly covered, private terrace with a shower, a table with 2 chairs, 2 sunbeds, an umbrella, a small plunge pool and a covered daybed.

Breakfast (buffetstyle) is very good, with an extensive choice of food, fruit and juices.
In the half open-air Beduur Restaurant you can enjoy real fine dining, and the food menu offers a good choice of dishes with Asian, French and Mediterrean influences.
The cosy Bukit Becik Bar is very nice for a drink or small bite, and meanwhile you can admire the surroundings on the open terrace.
Food and drinks are reasonable pricewise (it is a 5 star hotel by Orient-Express).

The Spa, in a very peaceful surrounding near the river, is also great, and I can highly recommed the Balinese massage.

The resort offers a complementary shuttle service to and from Ubud town, which takes about 30 minutes drive one way. You can find the time table in the pocket guide in your room. Every evening, after turn down service, you will find a programm in your room with acitivities/excursions/tours (not for free) for the next day, which can be booked through Guest Relations or Reception. A free afternoon tea is offered every day and while enjoying your tea you can learn for instance how to make a hat from coconut leave or Balinese offering.

Staff is very, very friendly, polite and helpfull.

U.H.G. is a very good choice if you want to have a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing stay with great service and excellent food in a stunning location.

After U.H.G. we went to their sister resort ´Jimbaran Puri Bali´ in Jimbaran, and because of this combination we both got a voucher for a free Balinese massage of one hour in their Ayung Spa. A very nice gesture!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
5.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
6.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
3.1 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
7.0 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Gardens of Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Gardens of Bali

Property: Hanging Gardens of Bali
Address: Desa Buahan, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#6 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hanging Gardens of Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanging Gardens of Bali is a luxurious destination in the heart of the jungle. It is situated near Payangan, a village North of Ubud, whilst the hotel rests in the centre of the magical island of Gods. The enchanting five star luxury resort has 44 private suites and individual villas, each enhanced by its own granite infinity pool, rippling into the jungle below. Each villa is designed with traditional Alang Alang thatched roofs in complete harmony with nature. In 2014, TripAdvisor and Conde Nast Traveller named our Twin-Tiered Cascading Pool as the World's Best Pool and number one honeymoon destination in Bali by Conde Nast Traveller. In 2015 Hanging Gardens of Bali has been awarded: World Luxury Hotels Awards, Seven Star Global Luxury Awards and World Travel Awards as well as other prestigious recognitions, such as the World Luxury Spa Awards and the World Luxury Restaurant Awards. The renowned Garden Restaurant serves innovative Indonesian dishes with Asian flare and Mediterranean delicacies flavoured with the local herbs and spices grown on the land and freshly-caught fish from the Jimbaran Bay. The truly luxurious Spa Collection combines natural, local ingredients and ancient techniques to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energize the soul. Complimentary shuttles to Ubud center are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA and Prestigia so you can book your Hanging Gardens of Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Hanging Gardens By Orient-Express Hotel Payangan
Hanging Gardens Ubud
Hanging Gardens Hotel Ubud
Hanging Gardens Of Bali Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing