We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The bungalow's size and amenities were lovely. We stayed only two nights, but wish it could have been a longer visit. Great food both for breakfast and dinner. The staff knew our names when
we came for breakfast on the second day!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hastings4681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,552)
There are newer reviews for Hanging Gardens of Bali
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

722 - 728 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

We were there as a couple on 2 weeks vacations, we experienced something that we will never forget, we felt like in a James Bond's movie set !
From our villa suite with private infinity pool to the kitchen, through the staff, the spa, that was amazing to see ourself in this little paradise ...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rameau75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We as a family like to travel to far away places and experience something more than ordinary that a hotel can offer. And we find Hanging Gardens Hotel in Ubud Bali Indonesia fits our description as a unique place to be. The lay out of the villas are amazing because you have the feeling as if you are hanging in the air and can enjoy the surrounding view. The rooms are spacious with big windows overlooking the valley outside. There is also family rooms which splits into 2 levels so parents children privacy guaranteed. The own individual is quite large and the only one in Ubud which is heated as far as i know, Food is really fresh and using local produce at the same time is so tasty. Service is second to none. And there is a scenic funicular ride to take you up and down the hotel complex. A truly enjoyable stay ever.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I went here for a drink/snack. The views are lovely and the service was good. It is a bit on the expensive side but the calmness and quietness is worth it.
The staff were friendly. We took the tram down to the spa and then did a little walk towards the river. It was all very relaxing and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladypicassoontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We escaped here for 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We did have our 2 tween daughters in tow so we managed to get a family villa here. The girls had their own downstairs room with their own bathroom and picturesque balcony, whilst we still had the amazing 4-post bed overlooking our private infinity pool and the hanging gardens! Could not fault the accommodation at all.

The service was really good, from the guy who showed us and introduced our villa and the welcome drinks, to the people operating the funicular, restaurant staff, library lady, spa staff, etc. Only complaint would be it took a while to get our bags transferred up when checking out, but I do feel for the staff who had to carry our bags up stairs!!

The view from the hotel is amazing and we did go for a walk down to the river which was nice. One of the highlights is the double infinity pool - amazing! (Although chilly!! Wish it was heated slightly). Another pleasant treat was seeing monkeys climbing near our villa in the morning.

It is a little away from the Ubud centre which makes going out to town harder at night, so we dined at the hotel instead. They do have a free shuttle back and forth (but we used our driver instead for a bit more flexibility). Being in the "forest", there are more bugs around here, so there were a few around our room.

It wasn't cheap, but it's nice to go for a special occasion!

Room Tip: I've read some people saying to ask for a room higher up the hill. Our was quite low - the view...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JasePerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Our first stop on our honeymoon to Bali was this resort. I am writing this review on our last night here because I was so excited to share our experience. Service and accommodations were top class. I highly recommend their 'secret dinner' in the temple one night - this includes blessing by a Hindu priest. Pricy but for a honeymoon experience this was ideal. Best way to get in with the culture while indulging in the ambiance of the jungle. Loved every second of our stay. Will highly recommend in the future.

Room Tip: The suites above the river, to the top have a better view, thus a better experience.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole_Moise12211981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

4 of us girls stayed in a duplex family pool villa. It was our 4th nite in Bali - we stayed 3 nites in Seminyak and decided to spend our last 2 nites in Ubud, to soak in the mystical Balinese culture and be away from the buzz.

The in-room welcome drinks and cold towel was a delight - you can enjoy them whilst being toured around your room! And the view from the master bedroom was breathtaking!

Eventhough the resort is about 20~25mins out of Ubud town centre - you have no excuse to leave this place. As the infinity pools are amazing, you could spend an entire day, just lazing around the pool, sipping cocktails, reading and dipping! We started our 2nd day here with an early morning yoga session (high recommeded) - in a gazebo purched over the Ayung River. It was so serene. Then had breakfast and took an invigorating walk through the tropical terrain to explore the botanical life.

Look at our photos and you can understand why you wouldn't want to miss this for the world!

Room Tip: Upper duplex family pool villa - its higher up on the hill and has great views!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PrincessS0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
6.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
1,074 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 10 in Payangan
902 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.2 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#43 of 199 in Ubud
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Gardens of Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Gardens of Bali

Address: Desa Buahan, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
#6 Spa Hotel in Payangan
Price Range: £395 - £777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hanging Gardens of Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanging Gardens of Bali is a luxurious destination in the heart of the jungle. It is situated near Payangan, a village North of Ubud, whilst the hotel rests in the centre of the magical island of Gods. The enchanting five star luxury resort has 44 private suites and individual villas, each enhanced by its own granite infinity pool, rippling into the jungle below. Each villa is designed with traditional Alang Alang thatched roofs in complete harmony with nature. In 2014, TripAdvisor and Conde Nast Traveller named our Twin-Tiered Cascading Pool as the World's Best Pool and number one honeymoon destination in Bali by Conde Nast Traveller. In 2015 Hanging Gardens of Bali has been awarded: World Luxury Hotels Awards, Seven Star Global Luxury Awards and World Travel Awards as well as other prestigious recognitions, such as the World Luxury Spa Awards and the World Luxury Restaurant Awards. The renowned Garden Restaurant serves innovative Indonesian dishes with Asian flare and Mediterranean delicacies flavoured with the local herbs and spices grown on the land and freshly-caught fish from the Jimbaran Bay. The truly luxurious Spa Collection combines natural, local ingredients and ancient techniques to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energize the soul. Complimentary shuttles to Ubud center are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hanging Gardens of Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Hanging Gardens By Orient-Express Hotel Payangan
Hanging Gardens Ubud
Hanging Gardens Hotel Ubud
Hanging Gardens Of Bali Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing