We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel, escape the hustle of kuta and stay in ubud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel, escape the hustle of kuta and stay in ubud”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed December 2011 in a riverside delux pool villa. One of the best hotels ive stayed in. Staff incredibly friendly. Hotel very clean. Own pool in each villa. Huge spa in the villa and freash fruit daily. They also made up our room each morning while we were at breakfast. Some days we would sea monkeys in ther river. Only con is the riverside villas can get very cool at night and in the afternoon due to being in the shade. The pool is also very cool. Was very refreashing though at the end of a busy day exploring ubud. staying at the bottom we had to wait for the cable car each time to get to breakfast etc and on our return. the other option is to take 500 or so stairs. The river can be loud but we found this relaxing. ABout a 10-15 minute shuttle bus into town. Would recomend having an early dinner in ubud and getting the shuttle bus back. Last shuttle is around 6pm i think. The dinner is excellent at the hotel but quite expensive. The breakfast is free and is very nice sitting overlooking the valley. The resort pools are also amazing.
The cheaper villas are up the hill and may have a nicer view. All seemed to have pools and are all fairly private. Would definatly recommend this place to anoyone wanting to spend a few days in ubud. I did not want to leave. Organising white water rafting and elephant safari from ubud as it is really close. The drive from legian, kuta etc takes over an hour and half each way.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up probably get warmer, are cheaper, have a nicer view and closer to breakfast and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamsue_dc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    250
    131
    58
    41
See reviews for
142
1,036
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

If you are staying in Bali, for goodness sake, book in for at least 3 nights, you won't want to go anywhere. Firstly, the cottages are very private and include a private infinity pool as week as a large private decking area to sunbathe, sit and read. The restaurant provides superb food, the Spa will relax you. Meanwhile, after a few hours the staff will have learned who you are and will greet you by name. They say it is in the detail, The Hanging Gardens has the detail down to a fine art.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I went just for a few hours pampering at the spa followed by afternoon tea and a swim in that simply spectacular pool. The spa treatments were incredible - I had a Balinese massage (one of the best ever) and a body scrub followed by a bath. The path looks over the whole valley. I felt utterly blissed out. Perfect way to spend a birthday. Afternoon tea was a delicious stand of sweet, traditional treats whilst watching young Balinese girls learn to dance. Truly spectacular place with perfect service.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R3becca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We were in Bali for two weeks and stayed in 4 hotels total throughout the island. We saw this hotel online when planning our trip and decided to splurge and stay here the last night of our trip. It is not cheap but if you can afford it, or a special occasion or a splurge night it is for sure worth it. The grounds are beautiful and it is set on a hill above a river. Each villa is totally private with your own pool which is such a treat and so fun. The cleanliness of the place is supurb, the villa itself is perfect and so nice. The restaurant serves great food and the breakfast buffet that is included is wonderful. The main pool that you see in all the pictures is absolutely stunning in real life.
the only drawback and downside of staying here is if you really want to spend time in Ubud its about 30 + minutes away. We also stayed in Ubud itself for a few nights at a great hotel and it was fun to explore the area. At hanging gardens, the place itself is so amazing you don't really want to leave and is far away from everything.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 24, very private, great view, and close to the top and close to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My wife and I spent some days of my honeymoon in Ubud Hanging Gardens. It was a wonderful experience and a unique place that deserves every minute spent there.
The Spa and the Restaurant are able to give you exquisite service and ambiance but are expensive. In any case, you will feel that you are paying for the quality you get in such a place.
The pool in the villa was absolutely fantastic and the staff was delicate and made us feel like home!
It's luxury in the middle of nature. Unforgettable!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PauloSCurto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This was our first stop in Bali on our honeymoon. What a beautifully located hotel/villa. The view from the room was amazing, the location is beautiful, the service was very good. This was an amazing experience. If you are going to Bali I would highly recommend paying the Ubud Hanging gardens a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harpaul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at this stunning property for our honeymoon, in addition to their Jimburun Puri location. The location of this hotel is the closest thing I have ever seen to an Eden on earth. Just stunningly gorgeous.

The rooms at the hotel were spectacular and the service was second to none.

The only thing to be aware of is that all of the Hanging Gardens properties in the area are a bit of a hike to downtown Ubud, and there is the sound of mountainside traffic going by all day.

Other than that, this place is pretty damn special. Go there!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Urbane_Biz_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
6.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#8 of 198 in Ubud
1,033 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 9 in Payangan
825 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Payangan
616 reviews
7.0 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#16 of 198 in Ubud
1,873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Gardens of Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Gardens of Bali

Property: Hanging Gardens of Bali
Address: Desa Buahan, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#6 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hanging Gardens of Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanging Gardens of Bali is a luxurious destination in the heart of the jungle. It is situated near Payangan, a village North of Ubud, whilst the hotel rests in the centre of the magical island of Gods. The enchanting five star luxury resort has 44 private suites and individual villas, each enhanced by its own granite infinity pool, rippling into the jungle below. Each villa is designed with traditional Alang Alang thatched roofs in complete harmony with nature. In 2014, TripAdvisor and Conde Nast Traveller named our Twin-Tiered Cascading Pool as the World's Best Pool and number one honeymoon destination in Bali by Conde Nast Traveller. In 2015 Hanging Gardens of Bali has been awarded: World Luxury Hotels Awards, Seven Star Global Luxury Awards and World Travel Awards as well as other prestigious recognitions, such as the World Luxury Spa Awards and the World Luxury Restaurant Awards. The renowned Garden Restaurant serves innovative Indonesian dishes with Asian flare and Mediterranean delicacies flavoured with the local herbs and spices grown on the land and freshly-caught fish from the Jimbaran Bay. The truly luxurious Spa Collection combines natural, local ingredients and ancient techniques to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energize the soul. Complimentary shuttles to Ubud center are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hanging Gardens of Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Hanging Gardens By Orient-Express Hotel Payangan
Hanging Gardens Ubud
Hanging Gardens Hotel Ubud
Hanging Gardens Of Bali Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing