We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning and extremely well managed resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanging Gardens of Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Stunning and extremely well managed resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Staying at the Hanging Gardens was an awesome experience and worth every penny. Its not easy for a resort to stand out in Bali, as the standards are really high when it comes to building and operating these developments (i.e. they know what they're doing). So considering the stiff competition in the market and relatively high prices at Hanging Gardens, its fair to say we had high expectations. Lets just say we were NOT disappointed.

The location is beautiful and the ambiance is serene. Although it isn't the smallest of resorts, the place never feels crowded. When I visited the spectacular infinity pool during the day, for example, I had the whole thing to myself. Hanging Gardens is not only a feast for the eyes, but for your other senses as well: think of the sounds of chirps birds and flowing water,the smell fresh, unpolluted air with the occasional whiff of flowers. As for taste and touch, we would highly recommend the spa and restaurant.

We had a river view pool villa which was located at the bottom the hillside. The room was very tastefully decorated and spacious as expected. Although you don't get sweeping views of the valley from here, we loved being so close to the river and jungle canopy: the sound of river below our plunge pool was so soothing, and we could spot plenty of colorfull birds flying between the trees. We also got a visit from a platoon of curious monkeys (they came close to our villa but they stayed in the trees, as these monkeys are rather timid compared to the tourist savvy ones in you find in Balinese temples).

The service is simply outstanding. The staff is very friendly and clearly well trained. Everyone seems to have a good command of English. Remember the song that goes "I just wanna go where everyone knows your name"? Well thats literally true here.

There really wasn't anything that we disliked about this resort, although there are some things to keep in mind . First, the nature is part of the attraction, so don't stay here if you are easily creeped out by the sight of insects, geckos, monkeys, etc. Its also pretty isolated, so if you are a bit of a busybody that needs to "do something" all the time, you probably would't like it here. For us city dwellers though, Hanging Gardens was the perfect getaway!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammo2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    997
    243
    125
    56
    39
See reviews for
134
1,002
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Attracted by jungle view and the private pool, we moved into Ubud Hanging Garden after we stayed in the Samaya Seminyak for three nights. The villa we chose was a panoramic pool villa. What dissoponited us first was the cable cars. The day when we arrived, it was out of work. We were so sorry that the hotel staff had to carry the heavy bags to our villa far down from the reception. We were told that the cable cars would be fixed quite soon but after three days when we left, the cable car from the restaurant to the reception still did not work.

The second disappointment was the old facilities in the villa, especially the facilities in the bath room are pretty much old and looked dirty.

The third disappointment was the insects. We understand insects are unavoidable in the jungle but the cleaning staff seemed to be blind to the dead insects on the floor or in the bath. Every time when had the shower, we could see dead insects floating in the water. We therefore left a note on the table to ask to pay special attention to these dead insects when they cleaned the room but it seemed things never changed.

As the hotel is far away from Ubud, we generally had to have the breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Although there was quite a lot food to choose, the varieties were quite limited and the fruits were not so fresh.

The good side was the dinner. We found the roast pork was especially tasty and the presentation of the other meals were good.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagement_8, General Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear David K,

Thank you for taking the time to review you stay at Ubud Hanging Gardens in December 2012.

I am happy to read that you liked the roast pork and food presentations in Beduur restaurant.

I do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the breakdown of the funiculars. We carry an extensive list of spare parts to enable us to respond quickly in case of a breakdown. In this case however, the faulty parts were not on our regular list of spare parts and had to be flown in from New Zealand and due to the Christmas holidays, it took longer than usual to get the spare parts delivered.

All other issues raised have also been discussed with our team and the necessary action has been taken. Thank you for making us aware of these.

I hope that on your next visit to Bali, you will return to Ubud Hanging Gardens so that you can have the pampered holiday you deserve without having to use the steps to get around the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

After a demanding two weeks travelling for work around South East Asia, I took the opportunity to escape to Hanging Gardens, Ubud for the weekend. Having seen its reviews on Tripadvisor and more facts on Orient Express website, I thought this would be a perfect place for my pit stop, to rejuvenate and revive. What a great decision. Arrived on Friday afternoon, the journe from Denpasar Airport was long, 2 hours into the mainland Ubud. But it was worth the journey. The moment you arrived, you feel like the whole place is just waiting to welcome and nurture your tired soul.

The forest and the sound of the Anak Ayung river, calm the mind. This is a perfect place to run away and hide from the harsh hustle and bustle of an ordinary demanding life. I felt immediately at ease with my surrounding, the nature, almost like coming home to the nature itself. I stayed 2 nights (too short) in the Deluxe River View Villa with its own infinity pool, very private and excellent for skinny dipping. The villa was higher on the grounds and has direct sunlight so the pool is naturally warmed by the sun which works very well. Waking up to the sound of the river and the forest lulls you and washes away your worries and troubles.

We had a Secret Dinner at the Temple across from the hotel which was an amazing experience. After desserts, and lighting the lantern that carries with our secret wishes written on a banana leaf, we were guided down to a blessing ceremony by a Hindu Priest. the ceremony was unique and I do recommend it for visitors. Thearafter you are rewarded by a relaxing food massage by the river. With the oil lamps and candles everywhere, the atmosphere was just magical.

The food at the restaurant is superb and the hospitality of the staff is wonderful and top notch. The Balinese staff are warm and friendly and very genuine...they actually love doing what they do, in welcoming guests. All remember you by your names and even know how long you are staying there.

I certainly feel revived after the spa, the massage in a room facing the river was out of this world. These people know the real meaning of pampering the tired bodies and souls. The stay at Hanging Garden may be expensive but what you receive for every pound you spend is really worth it. After all, you work hard and somebody, somewhere here in Ubud appreciates your efforts and in a way give it all back by looking after you very, very well. Certainly worth all the praises they have got.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We were staying in bali anyway, and saw the pictures of the pool on Facebook as 'one of the most amazing things in the world' so we had to go. The whole hotel really is as breathtaking as you'd expect, the staff, the hotel and the rooms were absolutely perfect. You do pay for it though.

We had the panoramic deluxe suite, with its own lounge building and private pool and 2 hot tubs - the usual rate for this is around $650 plus 20% in taxes and services charges.

The only real downside is that as it is so far from ubud (it's not actually in ubud at all) or anything else to that matter, you must eat at the hotel, and the prices are exceptionally high for bali. For a meal for 2 (on a normal evening) with a glass of wine is cost around £150. Considering most locals earn the equivalent of £80 for a whole month here in bali it's crazy.

Word of warning. If you get their free shuttle from the hotel back to ubud it will drop you at the palace outside of town, which means you will need a taxi to get into town still.

I'm not hard up for cash, but have to say, this was very pricey - costing around £600 for one night and one day, and each day would be around the same. It's worth it for one day just to see the infinity pool though!

Room Tip: Room 10 is amazing, 2 suites with the best panoramic view of all! (Incl. private pool)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Timbogray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Even though you seem to be prepared after you've seen the pictures, when you arrive, the reality is just unbelievably beautiful. Don't miss the chance to stay here for 2-3 nights when you are on Bali. This is a perfect place to relax and to enjoy the wild surroundings. Spa is great. Restaurants are superb. You can climb to the temple and enjoy the view of your hotel from the other side of the river, and also to exercise a bit. There are a lot of monkeys on your way to the temple.

We stayed for 3 nights in April 2013 in Deluxe Family Duplex villa. The weather was great. For the first 2 days we were simply enjoying the gourgeous view from our villa. Our pool was rather cool as our villa had rather little of direct sun, so we went down to the big pool - it is warmer and the view is even more stunning. We enjoyed the Tuesday festive dinner in Diatas Pohon Café. We also had a Cooking lesson - this is a lovely picnic in the isolated beautiful area 5 minutes walk from the hotel, you cook, you have lunch and there is also a pool and sunbeds to enjoy the sun. Awsome!

Room Tip: We stayed in Duplex Villa number 42. It is very big, it is originnaly planned to accomodate up to 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alla Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed December 2011 in a riverside delux pool villa. One of the best hotels ive stayed in. Staff incredibly friendly. Hotel very clean. Own pool in each villa. Huge spa in the villa and freash fruit daily. They also made up our room each morning while we were at breakfast. Some days we would sea monkeys in ther river. Only con is the riverside villas can get very cool at night and in the afternoon due to being in the shade. The pool is also very cool. Was very refreashing though at the end of a busy day exploring ubud. staying at the bottom we had to wait for the cable car each time to get to breakfast etc and on our return. the other option is to take 500 or so stairs. The river can be loud but we found this relaxing. ABout a 10-15 minute shuttle bus into town. Would recomend having an early dinner in ubud and getting the shuttle bus back. Last shuttle is around 6pm i think. The dinner is excellent at the hotel but quite expensive. The breakfast is free and is very nice sitting overlooking the valley. The resort pools are also amazing.
The cheaper villas are up the hill and may have a nicer view. All seemed to have pools and are all fairly private. Would definatly recommend this place to anoyone wanting to spend a few days in ubud. I did not want to leave. Organising white water rafting and elephant safari from ubud as it is really close. The drive from legian, kuta etc takes over an hour and half each way.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up probably get warmer, are cheaper, have a nicer view and closer to breakfast and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamsue_dc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

If you are staying in Bali, for goodness sake, book in for at least 3 nights, you won't want to go anywhere. Firstly, the cottages are very private and include a private infinity pool as week as a large private decking area to sunbathe, sit and read. The restaurant provides superb food, the Spa will relax you. Meanwhile, after a few hours the staff will have learned who you are and will greet you by name. They say it is in the detail, The Hanging Gardens has the detail down to a fine art.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
6.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#3 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
3.1 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
7.0 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Gardens of Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Gardens of Bali

Property: Hanging Gardens of Bali
Address: Desa Buahan, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
#6 Spa Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hanging Gardens of Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanging Gardens of Bali is a luxurious destination in the heart of the jungle. It is situated near Payangan, a village North of Ubud, whilst the hotel rests in the centre of the magical island of Gods. The enchanting five star luxury resort has 44 private suites and individual villas, each enhanced by its own granite infinity pool, rippling into the jungle below. Each villa is designed with traditional Alang Alang thatched roofs in complete harmony with nature. In 2014, TripAdvisor and Conde Nast Traveller named our Twin-Tiered Cascading Pool as the World's Best Pool and number one honeymoon destination in Bali by Conde Nast Traveller. In 2015 Hanging Gardens of Bali has been awarded: World Luxury Hotels Awards, Seven Star Global Luxury Awards and World Travel Awards as well as other prestigious recognitions, such as the World Luxury Spa Awards and the World Luxury Restaurant Awards. The renowned Garden Restaurant serves innovative Indonesian dishes with Asian flare and Mediterranean delicacies flavoured with the local herbs and spices grown on the land and freshly-caught fish from the Jimbaran Bay. The truly luxurious Spa Collection combines natural, local ingredients and ancient techniques to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energize the soul. Complimentary shuttles to Ubud center are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your Hanging Gardens of Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Hanging Gardens By Orient-Express Hotel Payangan
Hanging Gardens Ubud
Hanging Gardens Hotel Ubud
Hanging Gardens Of Bali Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing