We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome valley side rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome valley side rooms”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, and this was the place where our honeymoon ended. It was nice to wake up early morning and take a bath in your personal swimming pool right under your feet. food of indian taste & market nearby made it easier to get back to india after 15 days long honeymoon.

Room Tip: take a room with the personal swimming pool...the higher you are nicer is view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SinghiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    243
    127
    57
    39
See reviews for
139
1,011
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Exceptional, breathtaking, fantastic, and even more... My English vocabulary is missing the words to describe this hotel...
The service is exemplary, every details are so well-considered and we just had a wonderful time. Definitely in the top 3 hotels I have ever stayed at. I strongly recommend it - perfect place to relax and escape from the busy- crowded center of Ubud

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pcandolfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Waking to the mist clearing from the rain forest across the valley. The trees and morning sky reflected in the personal infinity pool. Not another person, or building in sight, apart from the ancient temple on the far side of the valley. Idyllic!

The hotel is a series of cottages, many with own sun-deck and infinity pools, set in levels on the steeply-sided vole. Surrounded by lush greenery and positioned for great privacy. The whole complex is served by a rather quaint funicular railway with ever-smiling driver.

The food is excellent and provides true local flavour, but with the precision and flare of a good French-trained chef. Wine is very expensive, but some of the local wines are good and provide best value.

The staff are wonderfully friendly and will do anything to please. A car with driver can be hired for the day or part of the day for just $15 per hour, and is the best way to see the local attractions and the many craft villages. Ask for driver Made Kramas. A friendly man with great local knowledge and infinite patience. He has good command of English. He needs our help as he is saving to put three girls through University with little or no help from the Government. I urge you to give him you custom and tip generously.

Room Tip: The higher rooms have the best views. Those near the valley floor have rather limited outlook and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Beautiful resort surrounded by flora n fauna.fresh air, delightful service n enquiries n concerns diring reservation handled very well. We drove up but gps was of not much use at first. Had to stop n ask friendly balinese villagers 4 times but everyone seems to know it but we had to figure out what they were saying. Part of the fun.

The only thing that was the first villa we had was on the higher level, which has the panaromic views, but i couldn't take the noise of motorbikes going up the road which although hidden from view but was clearly audible. The airconditioning was not working very well too. We expressed our concerns as we came to the hills to relax n they were kind enough to upgrade us to a family villa on the east side lower in the valley when it became availablle which was perfect !

The views at the resturant was out if this world but the food gets boring after a while but we were able to drive to ubud town for dinner, coffee n market shopping. You can catch a kecak dance in town. We discovered that the hotel was on google map n we had no problem finding out way around.

Room Tip: East side, mid valley is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazylion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

If you're considering going here you've probably already seen the uber cool infinity pools and read all the other 5 star endorsements. It is really a magical place in the middle of the forest - can be a bit difficult to find if your driver hasn't been here before. The view is very spiritual - just jungle and a beautiful temple. The villas are large, well appointed and very private.

What surprised us the most was the food - the menu was fantastic and varied and truly 5 star fine dining - I'd never have thought I'd be having foie gras in the Balinese jungle but it was so expertly prepared.

There's also complimentary afternoon tea in the tea rooms which I found very cute.

The stay did not disappoint, this was the most expensive place we stayed at in Bali but definitely worth it.

Room Tip: The private pools are heated - super delicious on a rainy day - but I think you may need to request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaZhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

From ubud center it takes almost 25 minutes by car. When we arrived at the hotel we were mesmerized with the stunning and breathtaking forrest view that greeted us. Overall everything was amazing from the rooms as well as very friendly and welcoming personel and food. The few commentaries I can offer, the rooms can accommodate italian style espresso machine (illy or other brands). Having said this they do have kettle for balinese coffee. The transportation to the airport should be free of charge. Chedi club even did not charge anything for the transfer to hanging gardens. As I am a huge spa lover, I can say that hanging garden spa is average. Don't have great expectations. Most of all, since you are in the middle of forrest, be aware of the insect bites. The hotel can provide lotion for easing the rashes. Last tips, choose panaromic view rooms and definetely do the baliniese blessing. Unique experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AresK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to Bali, and we'd always wanted to see more than just the beaches of Nusa Dua, and this was a perfect alternative. Dining at the hotel is outstanding - very extensive menu, with changing daily specials, and also some great wines by the glass (a rarity for most hotels in Asia). Fantastic views from the villa and dining room/bar across the jungle to Balinese temple. Service was also excellent and child friendly. Speaking of children, it's probably obvious from the website (and the name of the hotel), that the hotel is on the side of a hill, and there are a few areas you'd want to keep young children away from (the edge of the infinity pools in the villas and surrounds), but nothing a vigilant parent can't manage. Also be aware it's about a 2 hour drive from the airport - our kids were definitely starting to feel sick by the end of it, and a stop was needed on the return leg. Overall excellent and I'd recommend to anyone.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
6.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#6 of 195 in Ubud
977 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
997 reviews
3.1 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 8 in Payangan
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 8 in Payangan
791 reviews
7.0 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
1,810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Gardens of Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Gardens of Bali

Property: Hanging Gardens of Bali
Address: Desa Buahan, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#6 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hanging Gardens of Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanging Gardens of Bali is a luxurious destination in the heart of the jungle. It is situated near Payangan, a village North of Ubud, whilst the hotel rests in the centre of the magical island of Gods. The enchanting five star luxury resort has 44 private suites and individual villas, each enhanced by its own granite infinity pool, rippling into the jungle below. Each villa is designed with traditional Alang Alang thatched roofs in complete harmony with nature. In 2014, TripAdvisor and Conde Nast Traveller named our Twin-Tiered Cascading Pool as the World's Best Pool and number one honeymoon destination in Bali by Conde Nast Traveller. In 2015 Hanging Gardens of Bali has been awarded: World Luxury Hotels Awards, Seven Star Global Luxury Awards and World Travel Awards as well as other prestigious recognitions, such as the World Luxury Spa Awards and the World Luxury Restaurant Awards. The renowned Garden Restaurant serves innovative Indonesian dishes with Asian flare and Mediterranean delicacies flavoured with the local herbs and spices grown on the land and freshly-caught fish from the Jimbaran Bay. The truly luxurious Spa Collection combines natural, local ingredients and ancient techniques to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energize the soul. Complimentary shuttles to Ubud center are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanging Gardens of Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Hanging Gardens By Orient-Express Hotel Payangan
Hanging Gardens Ubud
Hanging Gardens Hotel Ubud
Hanging Gardens Of Bali Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing