We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good service and perfect view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanging Gardens of Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good service and perfect view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

kindly staff ,good service and perfect hillside view.
had stay there for two days, kindly staff and amazing cable car transportation.
located a little far from ubud central ,maybe 30 minutes by bus.
Poor wifi connection, need go to bar for wifi if need booking tickets.
excellent view (swimming pool and valley and temple) from bar and restaurants
good place for relax and honey moon. not for shopping .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shakira_yan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    996
    243
    125
    56
    39
See reviews for
134
1,002
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful situation wonderful gardens and amazing pools!
The service is efficient and discreet! The food is ok prettier than tasty!
The drinks were fancy and nice but I have had much better
! Still a good experience and the pool is lovely to swim in!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalinesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

When you arrive you will be wowed with views and the fantastic setting of the villas and the pool. The rooms are nice with a little freezing pool. But when it comes to price and customer service you will feel let down a tad. Paying the prices that you do you would expect more of a feeling of being the centre if their attention.

We had to change rooms as the air con didn't work in our first villa, we had to lug our own cases at 12:00pm to another room. The second rooms doors would lock so a maintenance chap came at 12:30pm to fix it no apology given by reception.

We then had the romantic dinner at the temple lovely setting great service from the cook and blessing chaps. Food below par considering with a bottle of wine and tax it came to FIVE HUNDRED DOLLARS.

The rooms are cleaned but the decking outside and sun lounger covers are filthy.

Our bill after four nights after only eating in the room once at lunch time and an evening meal and the romantic dinner was 610 pounds sterling. Not cheap we didn't spend half the amount for ten nights in a four star in Nusa dua.

Worst and the real stinker for a hotel with huge prices was on the day of check out we were not getting picked up till five in the afternoon and the refused to offer accommodation past 12:00pm even though the hotel was half full in the off peak season.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Hailmary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bengottosmith, Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Mr Webb and Mrs Schofield,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and our sincere apologies that your stay did not meet expectations. We have very carefully reviewed your feedback and shared with the appropriate departments - it does indeed seem that the service was not up to our usual high standards and we are truly sorry - our guests should not have to carry their own luggage and we do normally try our best accommodate late check-outs when possible.

We also note your comments on our pricing - our steep jungle location does make the logistics of service and catering exponentially more difficult but we do at the same time strive to price all our offerings reasonably for a Five Star resort.

All of our villas and suites are currently undergoing an extensive improvement program that will see the decking timber refinished and brand new sunbeds - do please consider coming back again so we can show you our true colours.

Sincerely,

Ketut
Resort Manager
resortmanager@hanginggardensubud.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at this amazing hotel for our honeymoon in January 2014. It was just beautiful!!! The hotel staff are amazing, they are very friendly and they go out of their way to make your stay smoothly. The rooms are very nice, large and clean and the private pool in your room is just amazing. The food and service was excellent. We really loved the food and enjoyed our daily breakfasts. The hotel pool is so awesome. We also tried the SPA and it was a great service.

The resort is about 30 min from Ubud center, which makes it very quiet and relaxing. There are complimentary shuttle service every 2 hours till 4pm. If you get a cab from the hotel is about $15 (USD). Ubud is a very safe area, so you can easily get a cab to the hotel for about $10-$12. If you want to be in the center all the time this place is not for you, but if you are looking for a relaxing vacation and also be close to the center this is an amazing place. I highly recommend this place and would love to go back one day. 100% satisfaction.

Thank you again Ubud Hanging Garden staff for making our trip memorable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bengottosmith, Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Travelelover,

Thank you so much for choosing us for your honeymoon and we are just THRILLED you enjoyed your stay so much. I have shared your kind words with our staff who were very grateful.

Do come back and see us again one day.

Kind regards,

Ketut
Resort Manager
resortmanager@hanginggardensubud.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed at this beautiful hotel just after it opened. It was beautiful, stunning rooms with personal plunge pool which was so welcome in the sticky heat. The hotel pool was truly awesome and from the edge of the upper level quite a thrill. Food and service excellent and the setting is perfect for unwinding. Be prepared for a hillside setting, you need to use the funicular lift/train to go down to the restaurant and pool area if you have one of the higher suites, another treat as it is efficient and quite fascinating as you drop through the buildings and the vegetation. I highly recommend the hotel but would not want to be there more than a few days as I like to be active.

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up the hotel as it is set into a hillside and the views down into the bowl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bengottosmith, Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Alan,

We are thrilled with your recent review and that you enjoyed your stay here so much – thank you so much for taking the time to write about us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Ketut
Resort Manager
resortmanager@hanginggardensubud.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I spent the day at Hanging Gardens, visiting a friend who was staying at the resort. Apparently, the swimming pool is featured in Trip Advisor's list of best pools in the world and it definitely lives up to their reputation.

The resort is 30 minutes from Ubud, so away from the bustling city and even during the day I could hear the lovely lulling noises of jungle animals. The resort cascades down a steep hill, and fortunately there's a funicular to carry guests up and down the mountain. Although you may want to take the stairs because the food is divine.

The lunch was delicious, from lychee spritzers to the whole grilled snapper, and of course dessert! We enjoyed cappuccinos and dessert poolside - just a heavenly experience. I was curious to see the rooms, and our friend let us use his shower. The villa was stunning and would definitely recommend highly! The staff are all friendly, professional and extremely gracious.

The resort is going through a major renovation so will be even more amazing. I look forward to returning and will definitely recommend Hanging Gardens to my friends and family. Thank you for a wonderful day!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AnneXuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I spent three nights here in mid Jan 2014 and really enjoyed my visit. The setting of the hotel is truly spectacular. You feel like you are in the jungle with the roar of the river in the background. The hotel recently parted ways with Orient Express and I believe is being managed by the owners. The rooms could use some "tender loving care", as I would not consider them 5 star quality but I believe that the new mgt. is planning on making changes. The food in the restaurant was very good. We enjoyed a very nice breakfast buffet everyday and two dinners during our stay. They have a new chef, Jason, who knows what he is doing. The absolute best part of our stay was interacting with the staff. They could not have been nicer. Every single employee was gracious, friendly, and truly interested in making our visit the very best. I would not hesitate in returning to the Hanging Gardens Ubud.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheTobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
5.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
6.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#3 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
3.1 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 8 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
7.0 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Gardens of Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Gardens of Bali

Property: Hanging Gardens of Bali
Address: Desa Buahan, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
#6 Spa Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hanging Gardens of Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanging Gardens of Bali is a luxurious destination in the heart of the jungle. It is situated near Payangan, a village North of Ubud, whilst the hotel rests in the centre of the magical island of Gods. The enchanting five star luxury resort has 44 private suites and individual villas, each enhanced by its own granite infinity pool, rippling into the jungle below. Each villa is designed with traditional Alang Alang thatched roofs in complete harmony with nature. In 2014, TripAdvisor and Conde Nast Traveller named our Twin-Tiered Cascading Pool as the World's Best Pool and number one honeymoon destination in Bali by Conde Nast Traveller. In 2015 Hanging Gardens of Bali has been awarded: World Luxury Hotels Awards, Seven Star Global Luxury Awards and World Travel Awards as well as other prestigious recognitions, such as the World Luxury Spa Awards and the World Luxury Restaurant Awards. The renowned Garden Restaurant serves innovative Indonesian dishes with Asian flare and Mediterranean delicacies flavoured with the local herbs and spices grown on the land and freshly-caught fish from the Jimbaran Bay. The truly luxurious Spa Collection combines natural, local ingredients and ancient techniques to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energize the soul. Complimentary shuttles to Ubud center are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Hanging Gardens of Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Hanging Gardens By Orient-Express Hotel Payangan
Hanging Gardens Ubud
Hanging Gardens Hotel Ubud
Hanging Gardens Of Bali Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing