We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astonishing and really expressive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I saw this hotel in russian TV show and decided to see it.
Well....it was an excellent experience.
Fantastic views, personal pool, welcome fruits and drinks and everyone cares about you.
Dinner in restaurant was fantastic....Cornetto chicken is amazing.
Spa is luxury and great. You will remember it forever.

Highly recommended as something really unique when you are in Bali.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svadg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

617 - 623 of 1,574 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Stay there for 1 night, attracted by the infinity pool, its as amazing as in the picture, but mind for it is not for children cause they dont put a lifeguard in the pool, the room is a beautiful tradional room, too bad in our private pool, the gazebo is dirty, and a lot of ant & bug crawling,the view is a hill sourrounding and you can hear the ayung river below, very relaxing,the food is good, eventough a bit overprice , i like the chocolate deserts and they have a good selection of wine, the location is remote, so its a little hard to go anywhere, just stay at hotel all day(fit for honeymoon),i stay a lot of hotel in bali, but its the first time there a furnicular in the hotel, it's unique

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kikimarizka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 7 nights in November/December 2013. We stayed in the second level from the top, which let us enjoy the magnificent views. Nothing feels better then waking up early morning, sun shining, water in the pool already nice and warm and inviting you in for a morning swim. The mornings were the best!
Breakfast buffet was amazing! Fantastic choice of food! My fave were the thick pancakes served with fresh raspberry syrup! Heaven! I'm sure everyone would find something the love! The choice if fresh fruit was also great!!! The only downside is the evening / dinner menu. Not that much choice and both me and my husband struggled to choose something we liked! We either are early from the bar menu or ate out in town. Also the prices were quite high!
The rooms were serviced twice daily. The stuff left fruit for us in the morning and some little sweets in the evening. They even made your slippers ready next to the bed!!! Overall the staff were fantastic!!!! Very attentive, helpful and kind. Always happy to converse, share a story, have a laugh with us. Especially with my husband, who often took a ride on a funicular just to chat to the person serving it. The lady in the hotel shop was also very nice and always smiling when she saw us! I do regret we forgot their names, otherwise would praise them here by name!!!
The afternoon tea was nice too.
The hotel spa was a but pricey but still worth getting a massage there. Very nice!!
We both loved listening to the story of the hotel. I really can't read all these negative reviews! The people there are really, really kind and always had a smile and time for us! They shared so many stories about the hotel with us!
It is a jungle, so insects and lizards are seen daily! It can be a bit uncomfortable at times if you are not used to seeing the creatures.
Definitely take a walk down to the river! The steps can be slippery at places so be careful, but it's definitely worth it!
The hotel pool is lovely too! A lot of people come here and head straight to the pool just to take a photo there! Hahaha we've seen many over the week we stayed there.
Hotel taxi to Ubud is an ok service. Could have been more often and sometimes didn't come to pick us up at all, but we had 2 other private taxi drivers, so we were never worried. One of them was Adil - our go to driver in ubud (dirsavones@yahoo.com) Very nice man, very humble. Say hi to him from Mick and Hanna from London if you ever use his services, please. The other one was Nyoman (Nyomansuntayasa@yahoo.com) who took us for a day trip around Bali (mt Batur, coffee plantation, water temple, etc) definitely contact him for a day trip! Speaks very good English!
Overall we loved our stay in Hanging Gardens. Not a good choice to go with family as can be a bit boring for the kids due to lack of entertainment, but perfect for couples who are looking for peace and quiet!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsHaniaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Amazing views, the room was magical and most of all because we got an upgrade...

If you go to this hotel do not forget to take the cooking lessons!! They hold them in a magical place in a cabin at the top of a mountain were you will prepare your meal... it is like a dream! Both chefs are super professionals and you will not regret the experience ... I think it was the experience I remember the most of our complete visit to Bali!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Karla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Wow wow wow. The view, the location, the quietness of the place, the beauty of the room. This ace is just magic. We loved the room, you can actually stay there all day long and just go out for a walk outside the hotel. Its the ace to go to relax and chill out, not for partying

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AMPAOLINI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

i usually dont write reviews due to time constraints. but our stay at this hotel during our holiday recently have been such an experience that i could not help but write a review.

when you may be shortlisting hotels from your so called "luxurious 5 star hotels" in Ubud Bali you will definitely come across this property and may be you also go ahead and book the hotel for your holidays, honeymoon etc. this is because of the photos and reviews about the picturesque view of the valley from the hotel. BUT THATS ABOUT IT. THE PRICE YOU ARE PAYING TO STAY IN THIS HOTEL JUST GIVES YOU THIS.

during my holidays i was not only terribly disappointed but furious as well. this hotel is ranked so high and amongst the premium properties !!!!! impossible.

i so agree with my fellow reviewer below it is exactly as he has written. this hotel is not worth the price you pay. it is high at price but the lowest at service, cleanliness, food etc etc you name it.

you will definitely have big issues with food. first morning we went for breakfast and that was the time we realized that this hotel in no ways is a 5 star or even a 4 star property. the breakfast menu was not only limited but hopeless.

MOST IMPORTANT THING THEY DO NOT HAVE 24 HOURS ROOM SERVICE ( A 5 STAR LUXURY PROPERTY AS THEY CALL IT DOES NOT HAVE THIS. also this is not informed, infact i had read somewhere that it is 24 hours and will soon post the same here. this was the reason i was shocked when the guy at the hotel told me its only till 10:00 pm.

now come to traveling between the hotel and the ubud city. you will have to spend a minimum of 50 dollars per round trip from the hotel after 5:00 pm because their shuttle service ends at that time. WOW till 5 pm only compare it with other properties who are not as highly rated as this they have better customer service. Further when you book a taxi with them for night or evening travel to the ubud city they first need cash from you for the trip before you start the trip that is how much they trust their customers who have paid huge amounts to stay at their overpriced hotel.

Beware of the mini bar!!!! things outside the minibar not even marked at all are not free which you will realise while checking out if you dont read their mini bar menu in detail which i suppose you will have ample time to do on a holiday. (sarcasm)

Coming back to food you will have the most stinking and stale cheese ever in your life. also if you are a VEGETARIAN ALERT !!!!!!! NO WAYS YOU CAN THINK OF STAYING AT THIS PLACE. food for you is going to the ubud market and having it which is again half an hour drive.

The hotel is not at all lively. it feels as if it has been ruined by some disaster. the cafe at the bottom near the ayung river shuts at 6:00 pm reasons better known to them. you have a restaurant and a pool side thing to enjoy in the hotel. well its the only restaurant. the pool side bar/restaurant/cafe as you may call it has to shut at 11:00 pm as per their timings but look at their wonderful service they start winding up from 10:00 pm and dare you go at that place after that you will be served with waiters and staff yawning in front of you and disinterested in serving you.

there are many more things but one of the most important thing that you would like to have when you stay at these kind of hotels in a deluxe pool villa or for that matter any other villa is PRIVACY. well you dont have that the villas are close by and in placed in such a manner that your rooms and pools are so visible to each other. the blinds in the bathroom do not roll down till the bottom and you will definitely not have privacy. if you have stayed at other such properties around the world you would definitely understand what i am trying to convey.

I just cant stop as this hotel had too many bad things which reminds me of the cleanliness. the outside gazebo and loungers are not cleaned at all and they are so dirty that you need a towel to put before you sit. but surprisingly the towels outside are dirtier than the seats at the gazebo and the loungers.

in conclusion i would agree with many other reviewers that there are many other better properties in that region at the same price or even better price.

ONE SHOULD AVOID THIS PROPERTY IN ALL WAYS ONLY IF ONE HAS MONEY STOLEN FROM SOMEWHERE AND DOES NOT KNOW WHERE TO SPEND THEM ALL. loll

This property does not justify the price tag it comes with.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Hiteshshah1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bengottosmith, Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Hiteshshah1983,

Thank-you for taking the time to write such a thorough review, although we are of course very disappointed to hear of your experience with us and sincerely apologise.

We want to you know that we take such feedback extremely seriously and have run through all comments with the respective department heads and formulated an action plan against each item.

In fact, several of the points you raise were already being addressed as part of a complete improvement programme we currently have underway or will be now changed based on your feedback:

We have housekeeping visit the villas three times per day to help clean away the natural jungle debris from the outside areas, and they are available for additional clean-up by request, which we will make clearer in our in-room materials. All our furniture will be replaced over the coming months.

We are currently revising our Mini Bar menu and will incorporate your advice in improving labels, offerings and menu clarity. Please forgive us for any confusion.

We have now extended our Spa and Café opening hours till 10pm - thank you for the suggestion. We have also extended our room service hours till midnight in hope of accommodating more late night requests.

We are currently planting extra bamboo to help shelter the gaps between the few villas that may offer partial views of another villa.

We are sorry our local and International breakfast offerings failed to please and are continuously striving to bring improvement to all menus. We particularly noted your comments on our cheese and vegetarian selections and will make this area a top priority for attention.

We pride ourselves on an extensive offering of estate-grown and fresh local fruits and vegetables. We apologise if we failed to effectively communicate this to you and will endeavour to better emphasise this on our menus in the future.

Whilst our steep and remote location has the advantage of peace, tranquility and stunning scenery, it does make the logistics of running the hotel significantly harder and thus put pressure on our pricing structure. Whilst we cannot control this, we have just launched a new website at www.hanginggardensubud.com on which we have tried to be as transparent as possible with pricing so guests can see costs before they arrive.

Our local transportation team provides a service in late model air-conditioned cars with water and bi-lingual drivers, knowledgeable on all popular destinations in Bali. Their prices are very competitive for the area and level of service: to Ubud one way is US$16, a half day is US$55 and a full day $85. We apologise if you were mistakenly charged and asked for money in advance. This is not right and we are looking into the error to prevent reoccurrence.

Please accept again our deepest apologies and rest assured that our team will now be working extra hard to deliver the best possible guest experience.

Kind regards,

Ketut, Resort Manager
rm@hanginggardensubud.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

One of the most picturesque hotel view I have ever been. The serenity of the location truly is a slice of heaven. Very friendly and accommodating staff, so full of smiles too!-Top Notch! Then again, this is what we have come to expect from Balinese service quality. Unfortunately, the rooms are dated, breakfast was mediocre, and so many hidden charges!

Rooms are well appointed, that when you step into your room, you are in your sanctuary, you don't see other rooms or hear your neighbours. But, they are dated, and as you are staying in the midst of the jungle, little cracks from the door equals to bugs in your room. The hardwood floors is also very very slippery in our room, so be wary and cautious, we ended having to wear our outdoor sandals to have some traction and avoid slipping (room slippers are made of fabric and have no traction whatsoever). Amenities are great, and plenty of bottled water during the stay!

Breakfast menu is the same throughout our stay there. Continental breakfast with the typical Mie Goreng and Nasi Goreng. Very acceptable if you are staying in a four star hotel in Kuta, but with 5 star hotels in the area with cheaper price tag than here, serving in-room extensive ala carte breakfast menu, I was definitely disappointed.

Hidden charges: unless you have acquired local taxi, or arranged charters, you will not be able to call for a taxi from the hotel. You have to use their shuttle service. They do provide free shuttle to Blanco Museum every 2 hours starting 9am to 5pm. So you will need to plan ahead, or pay extra charges for a designated time shuttle. Which is a hidden charge that could add up. Comparing to other 5 star hotels in the area that (again) rate cheaper than here, offers free shuttle to anywhere in Ubud 24/7.

My stay was memorable, but I truly feel that the price tag does not match what Hanging Gardens Ubud has to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mgunawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bengottosmith, Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of Hanging Gardens Ubud on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you loved our location and service, yet disappointed we did not meet your expectations in other areas such as breakfast quality and variety. We have addressed our breakfast presentation with passion and urgency and hope you will note improvement upon your return.

It is not our intent to have any detail less than exceptional and appropriate. Our floors are being refinished now and will be completed, with the small cracks in the sliding doors filled, by the end of April. We apologize these areas were neglected during your visit.

Our remote isolated location, and the steep topography creates challenges for us in keeping addition costs low, and this is an area we will continue to work on.

All of our villas are currently undergoing a programme of renovations, which has been designed to address your feedback about the rooms - do try to come back one day and see the improvements for yourself.

Thank you again for your review,

Ketut
Resort Manager
rm@hanginggardensubud.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
6.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
1,096 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,039 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 10 in Payangan
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
5.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,262 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Gardens of Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Gardens of Bali

Address: Desa Buahan, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#6 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range: £412 - £740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hanging Gardens of Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanging Gardens of Bali is a luxurious destination in the heart of the jungle. It is situated near Payangan, a village North of Ubud, whilst the hotel rests in the centre of the magical island of Gods. The enchanting five star luxury resort has 44 private suites and individual villas, each enhanced by its own granite infinity pool, rippling into the jungle below. Each villa is designed with traditional Alang Alang thatched roofs in complete harmony with nature. In 2014, TripAdvisor and Conde Nast Traveller named our Twin-Tiered Cascading Pool as the World's Best Pool and number one honeymoon destination in Bali by Conde Nast Traveller. In 2015 Hanging Gardens of Bali has been awarded: World Luxury Hotels Awards, Seven Star Global Luxury Awards and World Travel Awards as well as other prestigious recognitions, such as the World Luxury Spa Awards and the World Luxury Restaurant Awards. The renowned Garden Restaurant serves innovative Indonesian dishes with Asian flare and Mediterranean delicacies flavoured with the local herbs and spices grown on the land and freshly-caught fish from the Jimbaran Bay. The truly luxurious Spa Collection combines natural, local ingredients and ancient techniques to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energize the soul. Complimentary shuttles to Ubud center are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hanging Gardens of Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Hanging Gardens By Orient-Express Hotel Payangan
Hanging Gardens Ubud
Hanging Gardens Hotel Ubud
Hanging Gardens Of Bali Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing