We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC and remote”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

If you don't plan to spend time in the touristy bustle of Ubud, this is a wonderful place to stay. Quite a drive from the airport, but worth it upon arrival. All of the villas have a lovely view of the valley and of a temple across the valley. Our villa had a private pool that was to die for. We enjoyed the welcome drinks and the excellent service. The villa had everything we could need, all the amenities in the bathroom, etc. We loved the outdoor shower as well!

I have been to Ubud three times and the meal I had at the Hanging Gardens restaurant was by far the best. We asked the restaurant manager for recommendations and were so happy with his selections. The restaurant incorporates dishes from the other Hanging Gardens locations around the world... which was absolutely lovely!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ammille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,552)
There are newer reviews for Hanging Gardens of Bali
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

I’ve never left reviews but I feel annoyed so I’ve got to. Me and my partner recently stayed here for 2 nights. We booked because of the amazing infinity pool can be seen in numerous magazine articles and the hotels website. So we turn up and they have changed it! No longer does it look so amazing. There are now more amazing pools in Ubud and if we had known this we would have stayed elsewhere. Decking has been added down the side of the lower infinity pool, ruining the view and a block added in the pool meaning you cant swim up and down. Its madness!! Just so they can get more sales at the bar by having more decking maybe?

Get rid of the decking along the side of the lower pool please! It will put people off booking. Not only this but we have been sold a false product. You cant sell your 'infinity pools' in all these magazines and then when people arrive they dont look like that. Its not on. Its not a top 10 pool anymore. Why change your one unique selling point? Yes you can get more people on the decking but at the expense of the infinity pool. I’m sure the original architect would agree. It is a great shame.

All in all if the pool is not the main reason you booked then great but if it is, do not book expecting what the pictures show!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Travelbug_R506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bengottosmith, Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Travelbug,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on our swimming pool. Your perceptions and criticisms are important to us. We are terribly sorry you feel our pool enhancements have diminished its allure and appeal. We appreciate and value the recognition we have received for our pool; however, our first and foremost attention is devoted to our guest’s comfort, satisfaction and experience of our unique setting, hence our move to enhance the pool views, guest sunbed capacity and levels of service.

It was important for us to stay true to the vision and integrity of the pool design, originally inspired by Ubud’s iconic, tiered rice paddies, and floating within the rainforest. The addition of the extra deck and the new deck hanging out over the jungle was in itself an architectural challenge and added both new unique seating opening incredible new views down the Ayung River valley, as well as a full service cabana and a sunken fire pit for spectacular night time romantic dining.

We have opened up the expansive vista views from the top pool deck and lounge, which was obstructed by a long stone planter previously lining the top pool and the stairway to the bottom pool. In removing the planter, we not only created new views from these areas but also regained space, allowing us to add a restroom/locker/shower facility to accommodate guests arriving early or wishing to use the pool while waiting for late departing flights to return home. The shelf ledge added within the upper pool now allows guests to sunbathe while lounging in the pool.

Our original layout was well recognised as one of the “very best in the world” and now with our improvements soon to be completed, we are confident you as well as others will agree with the international TV crews here recently that Hanging Gardens still eclipses all others. We have done our very best to stay true to the original vision for the pools while also offering guests the high levels of service and comfort they expect and deserve.

I hope this helps provide some insight to our intensions, driven by our desire to improve our guests’ bespoke luxury experiences here at Hanging Gardens Ubud, while enhancing the 'living art' of our pools. We hope you will be able to return to enjoy the completed architectural wonder.

Best regards,

Ketut
Resort Manager
rm@hanginggardensubud.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel has a beautiful setting and the staff really tries hard but it did not live up to our expectations for a 5 star resort at very high prices. As with most of the people that stay at this hotel, we saw the iconic picture of the two infinity pools and thought this place would be exceptional. We booked a panoramic pool villa with a "heated infinity pool" in order to be able to swim at night in our private pool. During our tour of our private panoramic villa, we were told that the private pools were not heated. In my opinion, this was a major flaw and was in conflict with the information on the website at the time of our booking and prepayment. This private heated villa pool was one of the major reasons we stayed here, and paid the very high prices.

We ventured down to the major pools to check them out and immediately noticed that they no longer look like the iconic picture on their, and many other, websites. The GM was actually down by the pool so I questioned him. He said that since these pools became so famous, they decided to add more decking and seating so that more people could use them. He also said that they no longer heat the private pools (and removed that from their website) so that guests would come and enjoy these famous pools. To me, that was not the right decision for this hotel. Not only did you take away a guest's ability to enjoy their own private pools at night but they took two incredibly beautiful pools that have become iconic, and added built-in seating, a built-in platform and decking around them destroying the iconic image that made them famous. Don't get me wrong. They are still beautiful pools in a beautiful setting but they are not nearly as breathtaking as they used to be. In addition, the major pools were not heated either so using them at night was not possible for us.

On the positives, the staff at the hotel was great. They really try hard but they miss the small details that make a hotel exceptional. This can be solved with better training. Having just spent three nights at The Legian, we were spoiled with all of the details that make a hotel exceptional. I admit our standards were set very high when we arrived at Hanging Gardens. The food was good but very expensive as were the drinks. The room was nice but again, missed the details. For example, the towels on the patio were dirty, the cover on top of the four post bed had dead bugs on it, the shower/bath drained very, very slow, they did not restock the mini-bar food and the room clock was broken. These seem like minor details but for a hotel that charges the prices that this hotel does, all of the details should be perfect.

All in all this hotel has incredible potential and with some better training and attention to the details, and adding heating back into the private pools, this could be a 5 star hotel again.

Room Tip: Check to see if the pools are heated before you book.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JoeSoFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bengottosmith, Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear JoeSoFla,

We appreciate your interest and your investment of time in sharing your suggestions for improvements with us.

We regret that all our pool heaters were not effectively working for your stay. We will complete installation of all the replacements heater units prior to the end of June. We try to heat the private Villa pools prior to arrival but we also try to avoid leaving these units on continuously in observance of responsible conservation. We apologize if we failed to inform you of this upon confirmation of reservation, prior to arrival and or upon arrival. We will address our practices and processes to extend the benefits of these heaters to all our guests from now on.

We are disappointed you feel our swimming pool improvements and enhancements have diminished its overall aesthetics and your enjoyment. We appreciate and value the recognition we have received for our pool while our first and foremost attention remains devoted to our guest’s comfort, satisfaction and experience of our unique setting. The purpose of the enhancements were driven by the desire to open up the space and views around the twin tiered pools, as well as adding unique new areas such as the fire pits on the lower pool deck, the shelved seating ledges within the upper pool and the sunken loungers in the lower, all of which are features that have been requested by our past guests.

Thank you for your kind words about our setting and staff, who do work very hard to keep the jungle at bay and provide 5* service on a 45 degree slope!

We have aggressively addressed the need to catch every opportunity for the staff to provide the unanticipated small details that provide the memorable moments you missed on this last visit.

We do hope you will give us opportunity in the future to share with you our improvements so we can replace the disappointments of this past visit with the experience you originally had planned.

Thank you and best regards,

Ketut
Resort Manager
rm@hanginggardensubud.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I always love this hotel. Peace, tranquil, refreshing and rejuvenating. My recent stay at this hotel was amazing. Excellent private and public pool with great scenery. Morning bike around the village was great. It was really EXCELLENT!!! Hidden Treasure and Paradise!!
Thank you to Pak Sugeng and Pak Ketut who were always extending their sincere hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms has great view. Choose panoramic room for best view feeling.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TroyFridatama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HangingGardensUbud, Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear TroyFridatama,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Sugeng and I are delighted that we were able to assist you to make the most out of your stay and that you thoroughly enjoyed your time spent with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and often.

With our best regards,

Ketut Sudarsana
Resort Manager
rm@hanginggardensubud.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I am falling in love with this Hotel.Fantastic view and fresh air for relaxing. The pool is maginificient and superb. Truly a great place to hide from city hustle and bustle. Recommended especially for honeymooner. Will be coming back soon.

Room Tip: The room ner the river is th best
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HangingGardensUbud, Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Petrasari,

Thank you for recommending us to other travelers on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear that you experienced an amazing getaway at our resort, and most importantly to know that you will be coming back again soon.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and we, the entire Hanging Gardens Ubud’s family look forward to welcoming you back.

With our best regards,

Ketut Sudarsana
Resort Manager
rm@hanginggardensubud.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I really want to give this place 5 stars which it would be capable of with work but i just cant!

We booked here for 3 nights at the start of our 9 day trip (end of april), we thought after a very stressful few months of work that we would go here to switch off before we had a livelier stay planned at the W in seminyak.

We were collected at the airport and taken to the hotel where we arrived about 5pm, first impressions, great, check in was easy, we were given a welcome juice and showed to our room, and instantly blown away by the view. We decided to have a drink and a dip in the pool, it was freezing but what the hell, we were happy to enjoy the moment. We had dinner in the hotel which was good and all seemed wonderful.

That night there was an almighty downpour, we woke in the morning and the beds were filthy and soaked but not a problem, a call to housekeeping and all was changed.

We went down to breakfast and it was a fairly simple selection, but seemed to have what we were after and had a freshly prepared omelette. We did note that although some foods were covered a lot werent and there were flies all over the cheese and meats which put us off. We sat down to admire the beautiful pool and view..... Unfortunately not.....There were workmen on both decks of the pool, concreting posts, sanding posts and then varnishing, dust and noise constantly, disappointed we put that to the back our minds, hoped it was a one off and went to our villa. We wanted to go in the pool but just couldnt do it, it was overcast so no sun to warm our backs, it was just icy cold so we sat and relaxed before lunch.
We discovered that the only option was the cafe or the main restaurant and that they offered the same thing, very very limited, burger and chips, fish and chips etc, not much of local cuisine, i opted for the nasi goreng..... I left most of it as was so bland, my husband had the burger and said it was just ok but the chips were cold.... and now building work was in full swing, dust everywhere with a lady just mopping water on it to try and keep it from flying about. We retreated back to our villa and luckily we were up in no.22 so couldnt really hear the work going on but were starting to get a little fed up with what should have been idyllic. That evening I started reading on trip advisor some of the recent reviews and noted that one guy said that the pools can be heated.....whaaaat?? If they can be why arent they? A selling point is a pool with a view but if you cant use it whats the point! We headed into ubud that night for a change of scenery and had an amazing meal at mozaic.
Next day....breakfast, same stuff, getting bored now and still noise, noise, noise! I went to reception and spoke with the manager about our disappointment, he said that the work should have been completed but due to rain it had been delayed....doesnt explain why we werent advised beforehand and not offered either a choice to change or a discount etc, pretty poor. He offered us a free massage and a discount of 25% off of other treatments, a nice gesture which we appreciated but still for what we had paid to stay here, not wonderful however, we didnt come away to spend time arguing! I also queried the pool temperature, he said that all pools are heated but some were broken so they turned the heating off all of them! He said he would have ours turned on and was thinking about just keeping the heating on all of the working ones for the next 3 months....i'll say, crazy! We went out on a jungle buggy tour, came back and the water was like a bath...bliss, just a shame it was freezing for 80% of my stay....after having a dip i got out of the pool and my foot went through the timber decking....yes thats right! Luckily it didnt cut my feet or ankle and no splinters but it could have been a lot different, at this point the room supervisor came to check we were alright and was mortified when i showed her the hole in the deck, it was repaired very quickly in their defence but shouldnt happen in the first place.
We went and had our massages down on the river (they started 45 mins late as setting up...) they were lovely but had them about 6pm and as was open air, i got eaten alive by ants and mozzies!
We had another ok dinner there that night but were happy to be changing locations after this for lack of choice, quality etc. we also discovered we were entitled to afternoon tea each day but noone ever mentioned it to us! A lot of people have complained about prices of food etc, yes, it is compared to the locality but you pay for staying in a resort, i thought they were fine tbh and expected to pay over the odds to be in a hotel for drinks etc, 350 for a beer seemed reasonable really.
We checked out the next day and were told we hadnt paid for the accommodation, i showed her my invoice with $0 balance and was told they must have had a glitch in the system that day and my amex hadnt gone through and someone should have called, no problem, i checked my bank, nothing was taken so gave her my card and was reassured there would be no credit card fee......ive arrived back into australia with an international transaction fee for it of $84.42! Ive been calling all morning so that i can send an email about this to their manager and each time it has called out, emailed their reservations team so hopefully i will get a response.

Sorry my review is war and peace but felt it necessary to review, i loved the style of the property, the views, had a great massage, loved our excursion out on the buggy and dinner in ubud but wouldnt rush back here, there are so many things that could be improved on to make this a perfect stay.

Room Tip: Stay higher up, make sure they turn the heated pools on
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kennyw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bengottosmith, Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Klaidler,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We sincerely apologize for failing to deliver the experience you had desired during our improvement works.



We closed the hotel in early April for some major upgrades to the hotel, which should all have been finished by the time you arrived. Sadly, unforecasted heavy rains caught us by surprise and delayed the works considerably, hence the main pool closed when you were there, noise disturbing our normally tranquil setting, and a knock-on effect onto some other areas such as service levels, maintenance and catering.

Some of your specific feedback has already been actioned, such as providing additional protection against insects at our new riverside Spa pavilion, and better communicating with guests about heating the Villa pools and afternoon tea.

The hole in your Villa deck was unacceptable – now the major pool upgrades are completed, we are undertaking a program to upgrade each villa one by one, and replaced decking as needed is very much a part of this.

We will fully investigate the charge on your credit card, but it may be something that your card issuer has levied for a foreign currency transaction.

We realize that holiday time is precious and that nothing can compensate for your stay being less than perfect, but would appreciate an opportunity to make amends, if you could be so kind as to contact me directly on rm@hanginggardensubud.com.


Yours truly,



Ketut

Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We spent the first 5 nights of our honeymoon at the Hanging Gardens and it was brilliant. We asked for a panoramic villa with privacy and it was perfect. The food was really good and the massage in the spa was the best we had in Bali. The scenery at the hotel was amazing. We borrowed their bikes and rode through the beautiful countryside and the bikes were better quality than those we used on a paid trip. The staff were extremely helpful and gave us a present on our arrival to celebrate our wedding.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
6.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
1,075 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#2 of 10 in Payangan
902 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.2 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Gardens of Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Gardens of Bali

Address: Desa Buahan, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#6 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range: £394 - £783 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hanging Gardens of Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanging Gardens of Bali is a luxurious destination in the heart of the jungle. It is situated near Payangan, a village North of Ubud, whilst the hotel rests in the centre of the magical island of Gods. The enchanting five star luxury resort has 44 private suites and individual villas, each enhanced by its own granite infinity pool, rippling into the jungle below. Each villa is designed with traditional Alang Alang thatched roofs in complete harmony with nature. In 2014, TripAdvisor and Conde Nast Traveller named our Twin-Tiered Cascading Pool as the World's Best Pool and number one honeymoon destination in Bali by Conde Nast Traveller. In 2015 Hanging Gardens of Bali has been awarded: World Luxury Hotels Awards, Seven Star Global Luxury Awards and World Travel Awards as well as other prestigious recognitions, such as the World Luxury Spa Awards and the World Luxury Restaurant Awards. The renowned Garden Restaurant serves innovative Indonesian dishes with Asian flare and Mediterranean delicacies flavoured with the local herbs and spices grown on the land and freshly-caught fish from the Jimbaran Bay. The truly luxurious Spa Collection combines natural, local ingredients and ancient techniques to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energize the soul. Complimentary shuttles to Ubud center are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hanging Gardens of Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Hanging Gardens By Orient-Express Hotel Payangan
Hanging Gardens Ubud
Hanging Gardens Hotel Ubud
Hanging Gardens Of Bali Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing