We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best honeymoon resort in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A best place for the best time you want in your life to spend, best place for Honeymooners in the world. Amazing experience for us in our life...a world class swimming pool makes you amazed and you dont wana leave the place.. We had river side pool villa in jungle and it was mind boggling with sounds of nature and flowing water.....really amazing experience of life...!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pragnesh308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were here in October of 2013 for three nights during our honeymoon to Bali. I can, without a doubt, say that this is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. I travel a moderate amount and have experienced a lot of different types of hotels...this one far exceeded anything I've experienced.
The landscape is beautiful! The hotel sits on a hillside, the lobby on the top of the hill, the villas trickling down the hill and the hotel spa and cafe down at the bottom of the hill near the river.
The customer service is excellent! Several of the hotel staff remembered our names and would greet us throughout the day when we passed them. It made for a very comfortable atmosphere.
The villas are amazing! We stayed in a villa very close to the top of the hill with a pool. the bathroom and bedroom were very spacious and every bit of the villa was decorated with care.
You don't have to leave the hotel to get amazing and well priced food! Every morning we would eat breakfast at the large breakfast buffet. The food was fresh and very good and there was so much to choose from that you could have something different everyday. We would get a snack for lunch or snack on some food in the villa. Then at dinner we always enjoyed the lounge and ordered from the restaurant menu. This was our preference, but you can eat at the restaurant for a more formal feel.
No crowds! This hotel was pretty full, from what we could tell, however we felt like we were some of the only people there. There were no more than two other people with us in the pool at the same time, there were no more than 3 other tables at the lounge when we would go to there for drinks and dinner. Breakfast was the only time we saw more than 10 people at one time, however there were always enough tables to accommodate everyone.
If I had to choose something that could be a possible downside, I guess it would be that some people might not feel comfortable with the amount of stairs or riding the funicular to get around the hotel. It was fine for us, but might be an issue for some people or large groups.
This hotel really was a dream! I would go back in an instant!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrystie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a great experience to stay at Hanging Gardens Ubud. I was staying with a friend for a holiday.

My favourite is Panoramic Villa where i enjoyed the magnificent views of the jungle and the Balinese temple. The private pool is amazing, surrounded by trees from the jungle. The patio next to the private pool is convenience for a relaxation.

The villa atmosphere blends with natures. Teakwood flooring, earthy colour, the balcony with the dining table, outdoor bathtub, and the alang alang rooftop, are really give you a feeling that the villa is designed with natural resources and environmental concept. The bed and the spacious bathtub with raindrop shower are just too nice.

The food is excellent. I enjoyed my breakfast very much with humble service from the staff. If you like something local, try the traditional Balinese snacks while they are serving various breads and cakes. I prefer to have my breakfast early, so that i can enjoy my coffee and the sunrise from the restaurant with fabulous views over the jungle and temple.

The two funiculars take you from the lobby to villa, from the restaurant to the spa and cafe, so you do not have to worry about taking steps, unless you will have some exercise. I was exploring the resort walking along the pathways, and down to the deck by the Ayung River. Good to have this tour after taking the breakfast. You can breath the fresh air from the jungle.

The two swimming pools are the iconic feature from this resort i think. It is amazing, and hanging over the valley. I was swimming and entertained by fascinating green view over the jungle. For a holiday in Ubud, definitely i would return to this resort.

Room Tip: Panoramic Villa at the end of the pathways in the corner is my favourite. The view from private pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RamdanJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HangingGardensUbud, Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear RamdanJakarta,

We are glad to read of your stay at Hanging Gardens Ubud and especially pleased to know that our associates were able to contribute to your holiday experience.

Please call on me when we can be of service.

Best regards,

Ketut Sudarsana
Resort Manager
rm@hanginggardensubud.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

FANTASTIC STAFF. Not only is this an amazing property with a picturesque location,it also has an incredible staff. Welcoming and accommodating. Warm smiles and greetings everywhere. It is a short drive from Ubud, so not for everyone, but well worth the effort for those that make it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HangingGardensUbud, Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear LeeR,

Thank you for sharing your “Amazing” review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hanging Gardens Ubud and we hope to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

With our best regards,

Ketut Sudarsana
Resort Manager
rm@hanginggardensubud.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

For something different from all the beachside hotels in Bali, head towards Ubud and the Hanging Gardens resort. Once you arrive, you will find the hotel perched on a jungle hillside that gently slopes down toward a rushing river. Each villa is freestanding, with a private infinity pool and deck, as well as outstanding views of the jungle below. There is a large restaurant that sits atop a lounge and the main pool which "hangs" over the jungle below. Both the lounge and restaurant evoke a Hemingway feel, with fans gently swirling overhead, and open air views from all directions, giving you a chance to gaze out at the temple on the adjacent hill. The staff are friendly and helpful, along with an international chef who enjoys mixing western delights with traditional Balinese favorites.

If you are looking for a Mandarin Oriental or Westin, this isn't the place. The buildings are aged a little, and the jungle growth keeps the gardening staff busy; but, that adds to the charm of a place like this - and it looks like they have been making some upgrades and renovations to improve the overall amenities.

If you are looking for quiet time, and romance, with time to walk the grounds and relax along the pool or at the spa; then this will fit your style. The staff can set you up with a private dinner next to the river, or at the temple in candlelight...or even under the stars, on an island in the pool. It is something special, and a few nights here will give you something to remember from your Bali holiday, besides beaches and bars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HangingGardensUbud, Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear KrisMunn,

Thank you for your review and we very much look forward to welcome you back to Hanging Gardens Ubud.

With our best regards,

Ketut Sudarsana
Resort Manager
rm@hanginggardensubud.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

25 kilometers from Ubud, this hotel is built along a hillside looking at a big Hindu temple. It is a great place to relax as there is little nearby. Our room abutted the jungle and there were monkeys galore. One sat on the edge of our dipping pool. The rooms are nice with a little bit of wear here and there but all around very comfortable and private. My husband and I experienced the best massage of our lives in the spa.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upper levels and abutting the jungle for a true get away experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuinnessLoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HangingGardensUbud, Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear GuinessLoves,

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our ground and facilities.

We are currently updating the wear you mentioned and hope you will notice improvement upon your return.

Please call upon me when we can be of service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and often.

With our best regards,

Ketut Sudarsana
Resort Manager
rm@hanginggardensubud.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Flying all the way from Canada, this property was one of four we would stay at in Bali. The one that would be the most expensive/night, but the one we looked forward to the most. I stay at about 30 hotels a year for work and leisure and believe I am fair in expectations.

Unfortunately this hotel ended up being our least favourite of the four. I recommend not staying any longer than two nights at Hanging Gardens if you plan on going at all. We spent a total of five nights.


Arrival - For a 5 star luxury hotel, no transport is provided to the hotel or at least that is included. Recommend not using the hotel to hire you someone if arriving from Seminyak, you pay much more. Hanging Gardens - you should provide this. The competition does and you come in lower because of this. Positive - Staff at welcome, friendly as all Balinese were regardless of property.

Location - Okay… I understood remote… but they have you at their mercy. I will tell you shortly about food. But to get to Central Ubud it is at least a 30 minute shuttle ride. Great, you want to stay at the hotel just the two of you (I was there with my Fiance). However everything you order from a coke, beer, margarita, is crazy in price and lacking quality.

Food/Drink - This was so disappointing. Drinks we will pay the $15/American for a cocktail and sit by your lovely pool. However the drinks were less than average. We knew we would have to pay more, but very very poor drink menu. Food - I hate to be so negative, but terrible. Again, we would pay for good meals knowing we were far away from everything. But your options were again so very disappointing. Your menu needs a lot of work. Prices… not what we expect for the quality.

Rooms - Great rooms, amazing views. This has the potential to one day be five stars. BE READY FOR A LOT OF BUGS. REALLY. But you can't fault the hotel for this, just giving you fair warning. Ensure you demand a heated pool. They tried the excuses with us too even after I read in advance on trip advisor. The view again though is magnificent…. but you can go for lunch and take pictures/have a swim as we saw many tourists do rather than stay.

Owners/Construction - Any business you operate, never talk about your business as though clients are not right beside you. At dinner we overheard your new managers (Americans who were constantly around the resort instructing staff) talking about how you continue with construction overnight until you receive complaints to a contractor in a cocky way. They were the loudest group as my fiancé and I sat at your restaurant for dinner and we heard them boast about working at the Four Seasons, travellers who wear bingtang beer shirts. Again, hearing several times they were the big bosses.. unprofessional.

Construction - I emailed in advance to confirm it was all done. Period. I received a response confirming it was. It was not! The pool deck was being sanded and stained while we sat there to 'relax'. I didn't think it would be a big deal, but it was! What a let down when we were paying so much specifically for that pool. How can you confirm it was complete prior to my arrival? At check out, I expected a room night to be compensated… nothing. An upgrade in room did occur, but that was not sufficient.

Hanging Gardens - Your resort was empty during our stay. I estimated a 30% occupancy. If you want to know where your property ranks and what to do to improve, listen to these reviews on trip advisor and act on it. We are a group that will pay the prices you demand for your hotel. However I would not recommend or stay at your property again.

If I went back to Ubud next week? I would look at the FourSeasons or something closer to central Ubud. Taxis even asked why bother staying at Hanging Gardens when it is so expensive with better options nearby!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank adam0585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bengottosmith, Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Adam,

Thank you choosing to stay with us at Hanging Gardens Ubud. I apologize for the disturbances you note and our failure to meet your expectations. We understand and have noted carefully all your feedback, shared with the relevant team members, and ensured we have actioned where possible.

There is simply no excuse for the things you mention around the construction, but we thought it may help you understand how they came about: we closed the hotel in early April for some major upgrades to the hotel, which should all have been finished by the time you arrived. Sadly very heavy rains caught us unawares and delayed the works considerably. It was unacceptable that you were told the works were completed prior to arrival and this is under investigation.

Whilst our steep and remote location has the advantage of peace, tranquility and stunning scenery, it does make the logistics of running the hotel significantly harder and thus put pressure on our pricing structure. Whilst we cannot control this, we try hard to be in line with the other comparable hotels in the area in terms of both price and quality. Since your stay back in March, we have both expanded our drinks list, including new cocktails with many ingredients from our garden, and revised our menu.

We are surprised that you seemed to witness non-guests using our pool as this is strictly against our policy and something we monitor and continually guard.

Many guests love our remote location away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud town but again we are sorry it was not for you – we try to please every single guest and it’s very disappointing when anyone leaves less than happy.

Warmest regards,

Ketut,
Resort Manager,
rm@hanginggardensubud.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
6.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 196 in Ubud
1,110 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 196 in Ubud
1,316 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#42 of 196 in Ubud
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.2 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 10 in Payangan
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Gardens of Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Gardens of Bali

Address: Desa Buahan, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#6 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range: £386 - £646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hanging Gardens of Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanging Gardens of Bali is a luxurious destination in the heart of the jungle. It is situated near Payangan, a village North of Ubud, whilst the hotel rests in the centre of the magical island of Gods. The enchanting five star luxury resort has 44 private suites and individual villas, each enhanced by its own granite infinity pool, rippling into the jungle below. Each villa is designed with traditional Alang Alang thatched roofs in complete harmony with nature. In 2014, TripAdvisor and Conde Nast Traveller named our Twin-Tiered Cascading Pool as the World's Best Pool and number one honeymoon destination in Bali by Conde Nast Traveller. In 2015 Hanging Gardens of Bali has been awarded: World Luxury Hotels Awards, Seven Star Global Luxury Awards and World Travel Awards as well as other prestigious recognitions, such as the World Luxury Spa Awards and the World Luxury Restaurant Awards. The renowned Garden Restaurant serves innovative Indonesian dishes with Asian flare and Mediterranean delicacies flavoured with the local herbs and spices grown on the land and freshly-caught fish from the Jimbaran Bay. The truly luxurious Spa Collection combines natural, local ingredients and ancient techniques to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energize the soul. Complimentary shuttles to Ubud center are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hanging Gardens of Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Hanging Gardens By Orient-Express Hotel Payangan
Hanging Gardens Ubud
Hanging Gardens Hotel Ubud
Hanging Gardens Of Bali Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing