We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Spent a Lon weekend here and I absolutely loved the location, he service, the food and of course the pool! I stayed at one of the panoramic view villas which had it's own small pool for privacy and with a view of the Balinese temple across the river and the forest. Spectacular. Booked a yoga session before breakfast which was amazing overlooking the pool. After the session a dip in the infamous and photogenic pool is a must. The water is so refreshing after vigorous activity. They have a fabulous breakfast spread which include Indonesian specialties which I'm so glad I tried. The hotel offers a shuttle bus that takes guests back and forth to Ubud which is great because the property is technically not in Ubud. I was fortunate enough to be there while they were hosting a Degustation dinner and Wine pairing with their new executive chef Adriano Ricco. Mingling with other guests before dinner was great fun. I met a transplanted New Yorker who waxed poetic about why he moved to Bali. I would come back in a heartbeat and stay a little longer if I could.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank RafeNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Far to travel from Florida. But we went last year and decided to go back again...just got back from heaven I think. Even better then the first time!! Might have to make it annually!! The staff were outstanding from the min we arrived all the way thru departure. Very pleasant and attended to all our needs very efficiently and courteously! Always smiling!! The room was very clean with amazing view!!
The pool was also very clean and perfect temperature!! Not to mention the incredible jungle view!! Can't wait to go back!:)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

More a review for people planning to go to the hotel and pay entry to use the pool.
(There was a news article in Australia advising there is a $10USD entry to use the pool.)
They NO LONGER allow this to non-guests and i totally understand.
If i were paying $600+ for a hotel, i wouldn't want to share the pool with everyone either.
It's a fair way to travel to be told you can't use the pool. The food and drinks are very overpriced also. but the scenery is amazing.
In saying that, we were there for almost two hours and not one person used the pool at all.
There's also a big block in the middle of the lower pool, not what a swimmer wants to bump into.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank wheredoilive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bengottosmith, Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hi wheredoilive,

Thanks for writing this and apologies that you made the trip to our hotel in the belief that you would be able to swim in our pool. That article in the Sydney Morning Herald was wrong and has now been corrected.

The stone block in the pool can be used for daybeds during the day and romantic dinners at night - whilst we realise it does shrink the swimming space a little, it provides these two new experiences that our guests have been asking for.

Best regards,

Ketut
Resort Manager
rm@hanginggardensubd.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel and a great deal of thought and planning has gone into making a resort, built into the side of the jungle, possible. A two-tier infinity pool, perches impossibly from the side of the main complex, overlooking an ancient temple – the photos take themselves really!

The rooms are large, clean and contain everything you could possibly want. It’s hardly the hotels fault that we didn’t really get the weather we would have liked but that did mean our pool and their pool went untouched. On such overcast days it does mean you’re staying in an expensive hotel, quite a way from Ubud, which is probably the initial reason you’ve visited this part of Bali. Again, a hotel can hardly be blamed for not producing sunshine but I did wonder whether we should just have pitched for something more central before heading back to the coast.

The hotel runs a free shuttle to Ubud and if monkeys, palaces and massages are your thing, you’ll be well catered for in Ubud, it’s well worth a visit for a day or so.

The Hanging Gardens service is worthy of a mention, every single member of staff had a genuine interest in where you were from and how you were enjoying Bali.

I don’t think this is the “best hotel in the world” as others claim, but I do think it’s very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Yes the pool is awesome but everyone says that..... so lets enjoy the rest. The GM met us on arrival and we saw him 3 other times during the stay so some very personal care. The food was exceptional and the chef even made us dinner off the menu, which was a treat. The location of the spa is very cool as down on the river and the massage was nothing short of outstanding. Great staff, they seemed only too happy to go out of their way to make us feel special. Our room was something out of a movie. Infinity pool with views of a lush green Balinese jungle, complete with temple and local houses. Incredible! You will definitely see us again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We visited here last year and it was not so great, but we decided because of the location to try again. The difference well like we said was AMAZING. Great people, great place... so happy, what a memorable experience, cannot wait to return next year.....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Breathtaking swimming pool! That's number one. The rest would be, a very nice personalized service from team. General Manager and Resort Manager welcoming you in the lobby and greet you by your name, help you with the luggage and make the check in process beautifully done. Food & Beverage was nice, overall satisfied, will surely come back for another pleasant stay!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 19Kay88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
6.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 199 in Ubud
1,104 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,288 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
2.6 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 10 in Payangan
949 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Gardens of Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Gardens of Bali

Address: Desa Buahan, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#6 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range: £406 - £738 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hanging Gardens of Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanging Gardens of Bali is a luxurious destination in the heart of the jungle. It is situated near Payangan, a village North of Ubud, whilst the hotel rests in the centre of the magical island of Gods. The enchanting five star luxury resort has 44 private suites and individual villas, each enhanced by its own granite infinity pool, rippling into the jungle below. Each villa is designed with traditional Alang Alang thatched roofs in complete harmony with nature. In 2014, TripAdvisor and Conde Nast Traveller named our Twin-Tiered Cascading Pool as the World's Best Pool and number one honeymoon destination in Bali by Conde Nast Traveller. In 2015 Hanging Gardens of Bali has been awarded: World Luxury Hotels Awards, Seven Star Global Luxury Awards and World Travel Awards as well as other prestigious recognitions, such as the World Luxury Spa Awards and the World Luxury Restaurant Awards. The renowned Garden Restaurant serves innovative Indonesian dishes with Asian flare and Mediterranean delicacies flavoured with the local herbs and spices grown on the land and freshly-caught fish from the Jimbaran Bay. The truly luxurious Spa Collection combines natural, local ingredients and ancient techniques to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energize the soul. Complimentary shuttles to Ubud center are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hanging Gardens of Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Hanging Gardens By Orient-Express Hotel Payangan
Hanging Gardens Ubud
Hanging Gardens Hotel Ubud
Hanging Gardens Of Bali Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing