We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,718)
Filter reviews
1,718 results
Traveller rating
1,166
286
146
66
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,166
286
146
66
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews panoramic villa private pool family villa the river our honeymoon main pool different levels cable car bucket list unique experience the hotel offers amazing views romantic dinner free shuttle luxury hotel afternoon tea welcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
693 - 698 of 1,718 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Far to travel from Florida. But we went last year and decided to go back again...just got back from heaven I think. Even better then the first time!! Might have to make it annually!! The staff were outstanding from the min we arrived all the way thru departure. Very pleasant and attended to all our needs very efficiently and courteously! Always smiling!! The room was very clean with amazing view!!
The pool was also very clean and perfect temperature!! Not to mention the incredible jungle view!! Can't wait to go back!:)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

More a review for people planning to go to the hotel and pay entry to use the pool.
(There was a news article in Australia advising there is a $10USD entry to use the pool.)
They NO LONGER allow this to non-guests and i totally understand.
If i were paying $600+ for a hotel, i wouldn't want to share the pool with everyone either.
It's a fair way to travel to be told you can't use the pool. The food and drinks are very overpriced also. but the scenery is amazing.
In saying that, we were there for almost two hours and not one person used the pool at all.
There's also a big block in the middle of the lower pool, not what a swimmer wants to bump into.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank wheredoilive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bengottosmith, Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hi wheredoilive,

Thanks for writing this and apologies that you made the trip to our hotel in the belief that you would be able to swim in our pool. That article in the Sydney Morning Herald was wrong and has now been corrected.

The stone block in the pool can be used for daybeds during the day and romantic dinners at night - whilst we realise it does shrink the swimming space a little, it provides these two new experiences that our guests have been asking for.

Best regards,

Ketut
Resort Manager
rm@hanginggardensubd.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a lovely hotel and a great deal of thought and planning has gone into making a resort, built into the side of the jungle, possible. A two-tier infinity pool, perches impossibly from the side of the main complex, overlooking an ancient temple – the photos take themselves really!

The rooms are large, clean and contain everything you could possibly want. It’s hardly the hotels fault that we didn’t really get the weather we would have liked but that did mean our pool and their pool went untouched. On such overcast days it does mean you’re staying in an expensive hotel, quite a way from Ubud, which is probably the initial reason you’ve visited this part of Bali. Again, a hotel can hardly be blamed for not producing sunshine but I did wonder whether we should just have pitched for something more central before heading back to the coast.

The hotel runs a free shuttle to Ubud and if monkeys, palaces and massages are your thing, you’ll be well catered for in Ubud, it’s well worth a visit for a day or so.

The Hanging Gardens service is worthy of a mention, every single member of staff had a genuine interest in where you were from and how you were enjoying Bali.

I don’t think this is the “best hotel in the world” as others claim, but I do think it’s very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Yes the pool is awesome but everyone says that..... so lets enjoy the rest. The GM met us on arrival and we saw him 3 other times during the stay so some very personal care. The food was exceptional and the chef even made us dinner off the menu, which was a treat. The location of the spa is very cool as down on the river and the massage was nothing short of outstanding. Great staff, they seemed only too happy to go out of their way to make us feel special. Our room was something out of a movie. Infinity pool with views of a lush green Balinese jungle, complete with temple and local houses. Incredible! You will definitely see us again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We visited here last year and it was not so great, but we decided because of the location to try again. The difference well like we said was AMAZING. Great people, great place... so happy, what a memorable experience, cannot wait to return next year.....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews