We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing
1 review
“Loved our stay here!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Had an absolutely fantastic time here. It was lovely to be able to get away from the hustle and bustle of busy party central Ubud and return to a tranquil relaxing place, surrounded by all this nature. But yes, wished they offered more shuttle bus services.

Staff went above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed our stay there, giving ample advice and recommendations on where to go based on our interests. They didnt need to do that at all and I appreciate it. Staff were also always extremely polite, with friendly smiles on their faces.

Food was exquisite in both appearance and taste. I enjoyed everything on the menu, but my favourite in particular was the duck confiti. ALSO, if you are a chocolate cake lover, you must must try the flourless chocolate cake. Trust me, it is to die for!!!

Whilst lounging around the pool in our villa, we was very lucky to have some monkey guests drop by. I had read reviews that we may see some and we did!

For couples, i highly recommend doing the candle light dinner at the nearby temple, where you get your own private chef preparing the food right in front of you.

When I was there, there were indeed building going on.. but i didn't really notice it... It didn't affect my experience there.
It was just such a relaxing and beautiful scenic place to stay at, a good break from modern city life. I wish I was back there now!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,017
    247
    128
    57
    39
See reviews for
140
1,021
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Its a nice small hotel.. amazing view and swimming pool.
The management need to pay attention to the quality of the amenities (soaps, shampoo,etc), the gazebo's sofa seem to have molds, when it rained it leaked outside..

with the price they are charging they really need to make an improvement otherwise its not worth the value..

Room Tip: stay at the panoramic villa its beautiful.. perfect for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael A, Marketing Communications Executive at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Dear Julie V,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hanging Gardens Ubud and sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your comments over our facilities.

We apologize for the poor services at the room and have re worked all our amenities presentations to ensure FIRST CLASS service from now on.

We hope you will give us an opportunity to share our improvements with you upon a return visit to Ubud.

Please call on me when we can make arrangements for a future visit. We so much would like an opportunity to exceed your expectations and make amends for the rough spots this last visit.


Sincere regards,

Ketut Sudarsana
Resort Manager
rm@hanginggardensubud.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

While I am very fond of Ubud and of Bali, this stay at Hanging gardens was especially beautiful. The setting is lovely, amidst lush green hills. The infinity pool is a remarkable sight, and a lovely swimming experience. Though of course, we ended up doing most of the swimming in the tiny pool in our villa which had fabulous views too. The staff were courteous and very attentive. The villa was spacious, and spread out sufficiently that none of the villas overlook into each other.

Room Tip: Chose rooms on the higher levels, as they are breezier. The area at the bottom closer to the river i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadhuriAgrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend visit hanging garden ubud restaurant since it is one of the most instagrammed hotel.I guarantee that there is excellent view,from the restaurant you can see huge Pura there which is beautiful.But,the food is just so so,there are not a lot variation there.The service is quiet good well the access to go there is quite challenging since you have to pass quite winding road but has excellent panorama and you will pass the village and you could see how the local living there.I recommend you to go by motorbike since it will be fun.From ubud you could ask the local to go to Payangan area then if you already in Payangan and pass the Payangan market just go for about 2 km straight and then you will find the sign board in left but you have to turn right and go up for about 2km and just follow the sign board,which you will find it.
Make sure to book it first via phone!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cikittak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I had a great day at Hanging Gardens Ubud, The place is amazingly beautiful in the middle of mountains & Jungles.
The panoramic suit with swimming pool was beautiful , only the water was really cold , which was due to management change when I asked them.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank TulipDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is currently our second night at the hotel and I think 2 nights is more than enough here! Apart from the Pool there is nothing special about this hotel. For a 5 star hotel and the price you pay for the room you would expect a quality service and expect staff to go out of their way to make sure your stay is an enjoyable one but we didn't get this!

The location of the hotel is not close to the centre of Ubud where all the shops are. The hotel provides a shuttle service to Centre of Ubud but doesn't actually take you close enough. We had to walk for 15 minutes to get to the Market. To add to this, the shuttle service is only available every 2 hours with the last pick up at 5:30pm (not great if you want to enjoy an evening out and watch some cultural shows or go for an evening meal and drinks). They do offer a taxi service in and out of centre of Ubud which costs $16 each way and the hotel staff don't tell you that there are other private taxi services available from Ubud Centre for half the price! This hotel really does not promote tourism in Ubud very well. Our impression when we arrived was that there would be nothing to do in Ubud but when we went exploring we found that there was a lot of culture and good restaurants and bars on offer.

Now on to the food. Breakfast for a 5 star hotel really isn't all that! And afternoon tea is a joke! Other hotels in Bali such as the Samaya, where we stayed before, provide a 24 hour Breakfast menu and a full Afternoon tea menu with many options unlike Hanging Garden which only gives you one option! Other 5 star hotels also cater much better for vegetarians. At the Samaya we also got a free mini bar but this wasn't offered at Hanging Gardens Ubud.

During our stay, there was building work going on at the hotel and early in the morning all we would hear is the sound of hammers to stone. All we got for this was an apology. We should have been told about this when we booked the hotel but we weren't.

The villas are smaller than I expected although they are nice. The pool should be called a plunge pool as it is not big enough to swim in.

All in all this a unique hotel because of the features and views but 1 night to experience them is more than enough. Spend your money wisely and stay in another hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank 14vb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bengottosmith, Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear 14vb,

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the shortfalls affecting your vacation expectations. We try our best to promote our guests' enjoyment of the resort, Ubud and all of Bali and are extremely disappointed that you were not happy with your stay or our offerings. We value and appreciate your feedback and have used your contributions to improve some of the ares you mention. Please forgive us and give us another opportunity to deliver.

We shared your thoughts on our shuttle and taxi service with our Front Desk team and conducted a full review of timings, costs and drop-off point, with the outcome that we be adding a later pick-up and also a better pick-up/drop off spot. We will also fortify the information we provide in our guest room and reception fully explaining all the wonderful cultural, spiritual and adventure activities on offer in and around Ubud.

Your comments on the breakfast, afternoon tea and vegetarian options have all been shared with our Executive Chef, who is always striving to improve our F&B options in all areas of the resort. He and will be adding extra variety to the menus in our restaurant and healthy spa café.

We have an improvement plan extending through till year end to completely refresh the resort and we have taken extra precaution that these improvements are planned and executed carefully as not to create disturbances.

We hope you will note our improvements upon your return. Please call on me personally and I will arrange special care an attention on your next visit.

Thank you,

Ketut
Resort Manager
rm@hanginggardensubud.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Let me begin with a huge thank you to all the staff members of the hotel. The service was warm, prompt and exceeded all expectations.

I stayed with my friend at one of the private suites at UGH for three nights. The property is located in the most scenic landscape in Bali and the views will definitely take your breath away.. Our room was clean, spacious, bright and private.. The vanities were amazing! (especially the soap with the scrub) The bed was huge and super comfortable.. The room had everything you could possibly need: robes, slippers, coffee, tea and snacks.. The outside patio had a comfy seating area and a deck with a table.. There was even enough space to do yoga :) The heated pool had ambient blue lights at night which was pretty amazing... The housekeeping was great and discrete; even when we ordered room service the food was delivered quickly and with minimal disturbance.

The restaurant had stunning views and excellent food. We particularly liked their foie gras and Surf and Turf with the truffle mash! The desserts were to die for... Our server Wiwit was polite and friendly and seemed very knowledgeable on the menu items. The breakfast had all we needed: omelets, fresh juices, fruits and great coffee :)

The pool needs no additional praise.. It is the most amazing infinity pool in the world...And I have traveled around a bit and even Marina Bay in Singapore did not give as many chills as this. It's just worth to be put on the Bucket List. And again, we had lunch and then drinks by the pool and staff was amazing and very attentive!

The Spa was just perfect.. We were welcomed by sweet Yuli with warm ginger tea (it gets chilly in the evening in Ubud) and offered several options for a massage. I had the traditional balinese massage with Senya and it was just perfect... The spa is definitely a must to visit while you're staying.

I also would like to address some recent reviews mentioning the condition of the hotel and the renovation.. It does look like this hotel is undergoing a remodeling and is trying to improve the condition of the property, which is natural since it had just changed the management group. It might take some time for them to align it all: the appearance, the operations, the services.. However, the staff of this hotel is making a tremendous effort to make everyone feel special and welcomed. I give it 5 stars because it was an excellent service and an amazing experience staying at this hotel. I will definitely come back next year and am sure that just as this time I won't be disappointed! Thank you Guys!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
6.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#11 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
3.1 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 9 in Payangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
7.0 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Gardens of Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Gardens of Bali

Property: Hanging Gardens of Bali
Address: Desa Buahan, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#6 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hanging Gardens of Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanging Gardens of Bali is a luxurious destination in the heart of the jungle. It is situated near Payangan, a village North of Ubud, whilst the hotel rests in the centre of the magical island of Gods. The enchanting five star luxury resort has 44 private suites and individual villas, each enhanced by its own granite infinity pool, rippling into the jungle below. Each villa is designed with traditional Alang Alang thatched roofs in complete harmony with nature. In 2014, TripAdvisor and Conde Nast Traveller named our Twin-Tiered Cascading Pool as the World's Best Pool and number one honeymoon destination in Bali by Conde Nast Traveller. In 2015 Hanging Gardens of Bali has been awarded: World Luxury Hotels Awards, Seven Star Global Luxury Awards and World Travel Awards as well as other prestigious recognitions, such as the World Luxury Spa Awards and the World Luxury Restaurant Awards. The renowned Garden Restaurant serves innovative Indonesian dishes with Asian flare and Mediterranean delicacies flavoured with the local herbs and spices grown on the land and freshly-caught fish from the Jimbaran Bay. The truly luxurious Spa Collection combines natural, local ingredients and ancient techniques to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energize the soul. Complimentary shuttles to Ubud center are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanging Gardens of Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Hanging Gardens By Orient-Express Hotel Payangan
Hanging Gardens Ubud
Hanging Gardens Hotel Ubud
Hanging Gardens Of Bali Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing