We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ubud Hanging Gardens is a top notch nature destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hanging Gardens of Bali
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Payangan
Certificate of Excellence
Canyon, Texas
1 review
“Ubud Hanging Gardens is a top notch nature destination”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

UBH was our second stop on our honeymoon. We found the staff very kind and and courteous. We wanted for nothing during our stay and found the food and drink to be top notch. UBH is the perfect place for a quiet retreat with a loved one. The rooms were very nice with each villa having its own endless pool. There are two main endless swimming pools that are very refreshing. High tea is offered each day. The breakfasts are generous. The staff is always willing to take you in a shuttle to Ubud to take in the sights. The natural deep valley setting of the hotel is breathtaking to say the least. The spa service is right out of a hollywood movie.

Thank you to the staff at UBH for making out honeymoon memorable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCW5565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,023
    248
    131
    57
    41
See reviews for
140
1,032
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I read some negative reviews of Ubud Hanging Gardens before going there but decided to go on ahead since my plans were already made. And I must say I was not disappointed.

First of all, the view and setting were magnificent. Our villa faced the Puri Penataran Dalem Segara, the village temple. We came during the festival of Purnama and the hotel was bathed in an air of spirituality and sounds of worshipful chanting. On one morning, we spent close to four hours walking around the villages nearby with our friendly hotel-guide Gusti, who took us to his home and served us homemade Balinese coffee!

There hotel is not new and yes, there were chickens and occasional monkeys nearby. It was all part of the atmosphere, though. I didn't care for the scary-looking Balinese sausage they served at breakfast, but hey, we were not there to experience the same old things we see/get/hear at home.

So I think for reviewers who did not appreciate the hotel for what it is, perhaps a more sterile and generically luxurious type of hotel environment would be more up their alley. Don't go to a hotel/resort in a remote location because a) it is not going to be convenient getting around and b) there will be animals, bugs etc no matter how five-star the property. For me, visiting a place - any place - is to get to know the people and experience the culture. And we got both in spades at Ubud Hanging Gardens. :)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagement_8, General Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this review, 7 October 2010
Greetings from Ubud Hanging Gardens.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay with us. I appreciate that you chose to disregard some of the negative reviews that have been posted on this site and form your own opinion about Ubud Hanging Gardens.

The hotel was designed to showcase a revered hinterland location in the rural outskirts of Ubud. It has always been our intent for guests to feel like they are in Bali rather than a generic hotel room that has been duplicated the world over.

We have positive relationship with the local community, which is evident in many of the activities that we offer. Guests are encouraged to wander through the surrounding village and see aspects of Balinese life beyond the confines of the tourism industry.

Once again, I am delighted to hear that your stay at Ubud Hanging Gardens was an enriching experience. I hope that you will choose to return on future travels to the spiritually charged island of Bali.

Kind Regards,

Nicolas Pillet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed here in September as part of our Honeymoon. We were looking forward to our stay but when we got here we couldn't wait to leave!!!

The setting is amazing, you are in the jungle and the hotel is dotted all around the valley so you do feel like you are with nature. The setting is the only good thing about the hotel!!

We arrived and were shown to our room, a panoramic pool villa. The room had everything but also had a funny smell, as did the dressing robes!! We decided not to wear them.

We were given a welcome drink and cold towel but these were not removed for over 3 days from outside our room, it was only when my husband told housekeeping to remove them, they were gone. We noticed several other villas around the hotel where there towels and drinks were left outside crawling with ants and insects.

The pillows were really uncomfortable and we did not have a good night sleep while we were there. We requested an iron and ironing board and the iron that was delivered to our villa was a hazard with its bare wires showing through the cable.

The hotel offeres a shoe shine service. My Husband left his shoes outside on the trunk as instructed by the guest service book. We went out that night to find the shoes still there and now wet through and crawling with insects!!!

As for the rest of the hotel, breakfast was a real disappointment!! It was very basic and not much choice, staff would mimic guests in the background and we thought his was very unprofessional. The hotel bar has no atmosphere and so did the rest of the hotel. The only plus side was the food was ok.

This was our honeymoon and we had previously stayed the Samaya in Seminyak where we were made to feel special and everybody knew our name. At UHG nodbody addressed you by your name and we didn't feel very special, in fact we couldn't wait to leave.

When we did leave we were left feeling shocked by our huge bill and that we had to carry our own bags to our car. If this hotel was rated as a 3 star it, the facilties and service would match that rating but as an Orient Express Hotel 5 star, we so shocked and disappointed.

The hotel needs a refurbishment programme. Villas are a bit dated, new towels required, pools are very cold and staff require more training. These are a few things that are easy to implement and some are at not much cost at all and this hotel could be tunred around. Also the guest comment card was shocking, it had pictures of smiley and sad faces, not what you would expect of an Orient Express Hotel.

For guests looking to stay in Ubud, after we left we were advised to stay at the Four Seasons Resort or the newly opened Samaya Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lord_lamyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

As part of our trip around the world we stayed in this hotel for 6 nights in a Panoramic Pool Villa. Just 2 weeks before departure friends of ours told us that they did not hear good stories about this hotel so we tried to cancel and change to the Four Seasons but they would charge us 80% of the cost so we decided to give it a go. We however should have cancelled.

The good point is that the view is wonderful, very very beautiful but the hotel was not for us. It was very far from Ubud (30 minutes), in the beginning not a problem because you have lot's to see but after 5 nights it is really irritating. Also at night (they do not have transfers back after 17.30) you have to hassle with the taxidrivers about the price and the taxi's are not always the safest.

We had very bad luck with our villa (we had 3 in 6 days) but we will not bother you as the hotel handled the situation accordingly. Especially the people at the reception try very hard.

Why we won't go back? We thought the hotel was very dated, the rooms had lots of spots of moist, no nice details, little things like very old dirty activity schedules, hotelchauffeurs trying to sell you stuff and you allready pay Dollar 15 for the ride, a lot of hens around the property waking you up at 5, not 5 star service, old average looking spa.

A good point that I would like to mention is the food in the evenin. Very nice and fresh. Breakfast however is very limited if you like fruit etc.

To put this in perspective, we ar in our early thirties and are very spoiled concerning hotels. We have travelled a lot and always stay at the best hotels so that we didn't like it doesn't mean it can not be special for somebody else.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MCvandeRiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanagement_8, General Manager at Hanging Gardens of Bali, responded to this review, 20 September 2010
Greetings from Ubud Hanging Gardens.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel and for pointing out that your personal impressions will not necessarily reflect those of other travellers.

I am glad that you were able to appreciate our stunning hinterland location. Ubud Hanging Gardens was designed as a rural retreat that is removed from the hectic pace of mainstream tourism. It is a place for guests to totally unwind in quiet setting away from the trappings of the modern world.

Our traditionally thatched villas have a timeless appeal, however, the surrounding jungle terrain and seasonal rainfall does create some problems with dampness. It is unfortunate that you had some concerns with your allocated villa but it appears that our staff handled the situation accordingly.

I would like to address the fact that you mentioned there were chickens roaming around the property. Given that we are located within a rural Balinese village, it is extremely difficult to prevent any type of creature from wandering onto our landscape. While our gardeners do shoo away stray animals it is not possible to guard the entire area at all times. We strive to respect the natural environment and also remain sensitive to guest needs.

Over the years we have forged a close relationship with the neighbouring village. Therefore, we decided that it was our social responsibility to allow a team of local drivers to offer an after-hour transportation service for a negotiable fee. They not only provide a convenient drop-off service to Ubud but are also willing to pick guests up after enjoying a dinner or dance performance rather than having to secure the services of a street taxi.
I will most certainly look into the fact that some drivers may be bothering guests by touting additional services.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I wish you pleasant times on your next 4 months travel around the world. Every hotel has its own distinct character and attributes so I hope that you find something that is more suited to your personal taste references.

Kind regards,

Nicolas Pillet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYD
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Recently had the pleasure of spending 4 nights with my significant other at the Hanging Gardens at the end of a 2 week trip. I've stayed in hillside properties in the same area of Ubud before so had some idea of what to expect. My expectations were definitely surpassed, everything was simply so beautiful and elegant. The resort is built into a steep hillside and less mobile guests could be put off by all the stairs but the property has cleverly built in cable cars which go from the river up to the lobby. The Riverside Villa has massive indoor and outdoor baths, a bale and a very decently sized private pool which sits below the bay windows. Ubud is at least 30 minutes away and the resort offers a complimentary shuttle service throughout the day although traffic seems to be getting worse and traveling time can double. The Villas are so stunning though it's hard to leave them. The resort menu is varied and offers something for everyone and the wine list while not being extensive includes some lovely wines at decent prices which is unique in Bali. Although there is loads to do and lots to see this is the ideal place for a romantic getaway for those that just want somewhere special to relax and be together.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KiriChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Must have one of the most stunning views any Hotel in the world can offer.......In the middle of the Rain Forests, surrounded by amazing nature and wildlife. If you like peace and tranquility this is the place for you. The Villas all offer amazing views into the rainforests,,,with beautiful infinity pools that take your breath away...... Not all villas were as private as ours, though ours was the deluxe panoramic view villa that had no neighbours....so if you book ask the Hotel for a Villa with greater privacy....... Particularly liked the Funicular that takes you up and down the complex, enjoying the great views.

The Staff is very friendly, always helpful and cheerful.

The Villa's are approx 30 mins drive from Ubud Centre, not the most convenient if you want to dine out every night or go into the main city for shopping dining etc..... however the peace and views more than compensates for the 30 mins drive. The Hotel offers a free shuttle from 10 am to 5 Pm...after that you must get a taxi or arrange transport with the hotel that will cost you around 28 dollars return. I recommend you take a taxi arranged by the Hotel.

Food at the Hotel restaurant is extremely tasty, though very much on the steep end...if you want to eat at more reasonable prices you better go to Ubud Centre where you can find plenty of decent restaurants.

Breakfast is good, offering great pancakes and cooked omellettes, scrambled eggs, etc....particularly enjoyed the views to the rainforest from the breakfast and dining restaurant....

Would definitely come back one day, perfect getaway if you enjoy tranquility, nature, and some of the most amazing views ever...... We had a visit from the monkeys one of the mornings...that was funny......be warned ...do not leave food etc outside the Villa....

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed at The Hanging Gardens for 3 nights for the beginning of our honeymoon. Could we have wished for a better start? Absoltuely not! From the minute we stepped into the reception we were made to feel like royalty and as if we were the only guests staying at the hotel.

The Staff: You simply can not get better balinese hospitality than here. The staff are attentive, friendly and extremely polite. Nothing is too much bother for them and they go out of their way to answer queries asap. After our 1st night the staff referred to us personally which was so sweet :)

The Room: Simply perfect, rustic luxury. We were in the panoramic deluxe villas which had an amzing view over the jungle and across to the temple. I would reccomend to get a panoramic villa simply for the views, being lower down you just wouldn't get the incredible views. The swimming pool was a decent size, if not a little chilly! We did ask for it to be turned up which it was but I still found it a little chilly, didn't stop us from having a dip though. If i was to be picky i would perhaps agree with 1 review previously that there is no seating area actually inside the villa, HOWEVER this did not spoil our stay at all!

The Restaurant: Oh my god! The restaurant is fantastic! Now as me and and my hubby are foodies & wine lovers we were thrilled with the food served here. The prices reflect the food and we did not feel that the hotel was charging more because it was isolated! We ate at various places in Seminyak, one being Breeze at The Samaya which was our next hotel and we felt that the Hanging Gardens was actually slightly better for food & prices. Even eating in Seminyak was not the cheapest. We ate at the restaurant twice and we would compare the food & service to that of a Michelin rated UK restaurant ( we've eaten at a fair few so know what to expect). Just amazing! Obviously, wine is expensive in Bali due to imported products, we drank the Bali own wine which was pleasant. Sitting in the restaurant & then the bar has such a sublime atmosphere it is so hard not feel content & relaxed

The Location: Cannot be beaten, after 15 hours flying this location was a perfect way to start our honeymoon, peaceful, tranquil and romantic. We loved it here and would return any time!

A few notes: The shuttle service provided into central Ubud is really useful, when shopping at the market barter, barter, barter! Stick to a price and if they don't accept if then walk away and they usually come after you and sell it to you for the price you've offered! The shuttle only runs till 5:30pm so a taxi would be needed to get back to the hotel. As we were only there for 3 nights we didn't venture into Ubud at night.

Also, Ubud Hanging Gardens has a different climate to that of the beach resorts, Seminyak,Kuta etc so it can be quite hazy during the day and a bit chilly at night,

Would thoroughly reccomend the cooking class, cost about £30 each but it is alot of fun and the sous chef & waiter who were with us were brilliant! I won't spoil the location but it is lovely if you get time to do it! You get the recipe's & aprons to keep also.

We ordered room service 1 night, which again was brilliant! They even bring flowers, bread & condiments as if you were actually in the restaurant. The food was also very tasty.

On another note-take money with you! We made the stupid mistake of not taking any cash at all and had a right palava trying to take money out in Kuala Lumpur & then Bali as our cards got restricted. So do remember to tell your credit card companies that you are travelling!!

So to sum it up, this hotel is perfect for honeymooners who wish to start with a peaceful & tranquil beginning to the honeymoon. We were so pleased we started here as when we left for The Samaya we were so rested! We didn't use the spa here so sadly can't comment on the treatments. Just a beautiful & amazing hotel :) We also loved the funniculars used to take you to the different levels of the hotel! There are steps and we walked down them all the the river and my legs were like jelly, so the funniculars are definitley useful!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helsy_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Payangan
6.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 198 in Ubud
1,021 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,075 reviews
3.1 mi away
Padma Resort Ubud
Padma Resort Ubud
#1 of 9 in Payangan
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ayung Resort Ubud
Ayung Resort Ubud
#3 of 9 in Payangan
811 reviews
7.0 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 198 in Ubud
1,846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nandini Bali Jungle Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanging Gardens of Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanging Gardens of Bali

Property: Hanging Gardens of Bali
Address: Desa Buahan, Payangan 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Payangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Payangan
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Payangan
#6 Spa Hotel in Payangan
#6 Luxury Hotel in Payangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hanging Gardens of Bali 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hanging Gardens of Bali is a luxurious destination in the heart of the jungle. It is situated near Payangan, a village North of Ubud, whilst the hotel rests in the centre of the magical island of Gods. The enchanting five star luxury resort has 44 private suites and individual villas, each enhanced by its own granite infinity pool, rippling into the jungle below. Each villa is designed with traditional Alang Alang thatched roofs in complete harmony with nature. In 2014, TripAdvisor and Conde Nast Traveller named our Twin-Tiered Cascading Pool as the World's Best Pool and number one honeymoon destination in Bali by Conde Nast Traveller. In 2015 Hanging Gardens of Bali has been awarded: World Luxury Hotels Awards, Seven Star Global Luxury Awards and World Travel Awards as well as other prestigious recognitions, such as the World Luxury Spa Awards and the World Luxury Restaurant Awards. The renowned Garden Restaurant serves innovative Indonesian dishes with Asian flare and Mediterranean delicacies flavoured with the local herbs and spices grown on the land and freshly-caught fish from the Jimbaran Bay. The truly luxurious Spa Collection combines natural, local ingredients and ancient techniques to create beauty therapies and treatments that soothe the mind, rejuvenate the body and energize the soul. Complimentary shuttles to Ubud center are scheduled daily for guests. The airport is around 90 minutes away by road depending on traffic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hanging Gardens of Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ubud Hanging Gardens By Orient-Express Hotel Payangan
Hanging Gardens Ubud
Hanging Gardens Hotel Ubud
Hanging Gardens Of Bali Payangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing