We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must Do!! Absolument parfait!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Taruna Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taruna Homestay
Ranked #1 of 48 Pemuteran B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mauritius
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must Do!! Absolument parfait!”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

8 nuits et vraiment Taruna Homestay est l'endroit à choisir à Pemuteran! Un rapport qualité prix au top! Les chambres, la cuisine savoureuse et en quantité très correcte, la piscine et le cadre, ainsi que les attentions de toute l'équipe en font un endroit à recommander! N'hésitez pas, après avoir essayé d'autres warungs, aucun ne surpasse en finesse celui de Taruna!
8 nights spent there, and really this the place to chose in Pamuteran!Wonderful quality and price ratio! Very nice bedrooms, the dishes are delicious, the atmosphere and the swimming pool are great. The team takes care so much and many attentions will satisfy you. I recommend this place for your stay and for your warung choice, Taruna is certainly the most refined. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Number 1 & 2 are just great, in front of the garden, very intimate location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaBCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Our Lovely Customer, Emmanuelle, Julien, Corantin,

Hi..every body...We thank you very much for your long stay and your kind review.
We were very glad as well to be of host and serving you.
Hope next time when everything is finish at my project , we can take you around and see more in Pemuteran area and serrounding.

We wish you have a good time.

All my best regard to you all.

Taruna and all family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    50
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
210
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at Taruna Homestay for 5 nights and enjoyed the experience immensely. It is an impeccably run boutique hotel with friendly warm service provided by Taruna and his wife Nileh and all the staff we met. They were open, delightful company and made our stay a pleasure. The restaurant, primarily Balinese style cooking, deserves the high rating it gets on this website as the best place to eat in Pemuteran. It is all freshly prepared and, as such, one must be prepared to wait. It is not a McDonalds. The grilled fish in banana leaf a feature dish but many others to choose from as well. The rooms were spotless and the servicing constant. We appreciated all the little touches - flowers in the room, mosquito coils, quick response to any queries. etc. They organised a snorkelling tour for us, and we used the transport service to be picked up from Ubud and taken to Jimbaran and found drivers, and related support staff, equally thoughtful and caring. We certainly hope we can arrange to come back soon. The massages we had were thorough, firm but gentle.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidWKimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear David,

First at all we would like to thank you so much for taking your time to review regarding your stay at our home stay.
We feel very happy to know that you was satisfied so much.

We wish you always have a good time and happiness and healthy , and hope you can see us again in future.

We are always be ready to serve you at our family.

Kind regard

Taruna and Niluh and all family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The reviews are all correct. I was treated as family. I am learning Indonesian and the family and owner spared no opportunity to help me. They arranged a fantastic snorkel tour for us. The personal touches are all as other reviewers have described, detailed and delightful. There is one thing I have not yet seen so far, posted on the reviews, and that is the water quality. We came in January, the rainy season, and the beaches and waters are full of trash. Literally, I swam through floating trash to see the most beautiful coral reefs I have ever seen. It was bittersweet. I have asked others about this, and it appears that this is a problem particular to the rainy season. That being said, the grounds of Taruna are spotless. Their pool is spotless and lovely. I saw families and couples having a blast. The food is excellent. I will return again for sure, I look forward to it!

Room Tip: I stayed in the most basic room. It was excellent, but I think for the few bucks more I would upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NursePate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear our lovely customer,

Warm regard from Taruna family.
Hope everything is fine with you.

We thank you very much for your stay with us and for your review.
we are glad to know that you were satisfied to stay at our home stay.
hope we can serve you again in the future and out of rainy season.
Hope every body understand and care about the rubbish so in the future Pemuteran is totaly clean.

Sincerely yours

Kadek Taruna and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

After traveling through Java (not so friendly people), we arrived in Permuteran. We didn’t know what to expect of Bali. But the friendly people of Taruna homestay, made this the best stay of our trip through Indonesia( Java-bali-flores). Just the little things: like flowers on your bed, If you ask something they will go out of their way to get it done and just how happy and friendly they are.
I should have done this review a few months ago, but better late than never.
Thanks again for the nice stay.
Luke & Daphne

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeP_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Luke and Daphne,

Greeting from Taruna family - Pemuteran.
Hope this e-mail find you very well.
We thank you very much for your time to write a review.
We are glad to know that you were pleasant to stay in our accommodation.

All of taruna family miss you.. hope we can see you again.
Take care ...

Best regard.

Taruna and whole family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This place is a gem! It feels homely and the staff are superb friendly and helpful. The room are very comfy with exotic open-air bathroom that makes you feel you want to have shower all the time. The owner, Pak Taruna was also very helpful as he was kind enough to drive me (by motorbike) to a nearby mini market to get some sunscreen (silly me of leaving it at home!). This place is also nearby to Biorock project whereby you get to sponsor baby corals for coral conservation. The corals at Pemuteran beach (nearby Biorock Project) was just awesome. It is about 1.2km to the right from the home stay. You can bike there or have a peaceful stroll. I'd like to thank Pak Taruna and his team for the warm hospitality and excellent service. Will definitely stay here again if I'm there up in West Bali. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I liked my room no 4. it is opposite the pool. like 10 steps away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzatyj8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hi..Izzaty,

Sunny greeting from Taruna family.
Hope this e-mail find you very well.
Thank you very much for your kind review...
We were glad to know you and glad to know if you are satisfied stayed with us.
We always remember you... ingat Upin Ipin ingat Malaysia ha..ha..., this amination is very famous in Bali.

Well Izzaty,, hope you will visit us again and also telling your friend to come to the west Bali.

Taruna family always ready to welcome you and your friend.

Wishing you Happy New year 2014.. All the best.

Regard

Taruna and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We came across Taruna by chance, booked to stay 1 night and ended up staying 3. The staff are so professional and lovely, especially Tia and Ayu who made our stay so brilliant and are both so smart and good at their jobs! The food is some of the best we had in Bali, they hire out snorkelling gear, arrange trips and give a welcome drink and a map on the area upon arrival. The room was gorgeous with a fantastic outdoor bathroom. The swimming pool is beautiful. The rooms come with a kettle and tea and there are slippers and robes in the wardrobe. Tia made the stay even more special by decorating our bed with personalised flower petals! Thankyou Taruna, from Jenny and Chris

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny_weston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Jenny and Chris,

Greeting from our team,
Hope you are fine.
We thank you very much for reviewing our home stay, we were also very glad to know that you are satisfied to stay with us.
I give your regard to Tia and Ayu as well.
Hope we can serve you again at our family in the future.
We look forward to welcome you again in the future.

We wish you happy new year and best of life,happines and healty and lucky.

All our best regard to you both.

Yours,

Taruna, Tia, Ayu and all of the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2013

After we check in the owner came to welcome us , the staffs are nice and helpful .We had 4 rooms, room 8 and 9 is connecting rooms which are nearer to the pool. Great things that the rooms are clean and nice , the bad thing is you will find a lot insects in the bathroom. The laundry is cheap and the clothes smell so nice after wash. They serve the best food I had in Bali. Try the mahi mahi (grill fish) serve with rice and 3 difference sauces. Snorkling trip to Menjagan Island is 325 000rp per pax including pack lunch and drink. Thanks to Tia, she is so helpful and friendly. We feel so welcome by the Taruna family, and will recommend to all to stay here if you come to Pemuteran.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joegoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear family ,
We thank you very much for your time to write a review.
Looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel.And sure we did some thing for our insect . So now no more.

We wish you happy new year 2014,, all the best to all of the family.

Sincerely yours,

Taruna and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pemuteran hotels
0.3 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
0.1 mi away
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Kinaara Resort & Spa
Kinaara Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Pemuteran
218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tirta Sari Bungalows
Tirta Sari Bungalows
#4 of 48 in Pemuteran
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taruna Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taruna Homestay

Property: Taruna Homestay
Address: Jl. Seririt - Gilimanuk | Taruna home Stay , Jln.seririt-gilimanuk ,desa Pemuteran, gerokgak81155. Singaraja Bali Indonesia, Pemuteran, Gerokgak 81155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Pemuteran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taruna Homestay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestay Taruna is located in a tranquil Balinese village, a 3.5-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The homestay has a tour desk and provides free Wi-Fi in the entire property and massage services.The rooms are simple and fitted with freshly laundered beddings. They all have an en suite bathroom, a fan or air conditioning and a desk. Views of the garden can be enjoyed from all rooms.Gilimanuk Bus Station is a 30-minute drive from the homestay, while Lovina Beach is about an hour’s drive away. Bicycle rental services are provided by the homestay for guests who wish to explore the region on their own.Taruna Homestay has a restaurant on site which serves Indonesian dishes and local specialities. Room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taruna Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taruna Homestay Bali/Pemuteran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing