We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless Homestay”
Review of Taruna Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taruna Homestay
Ranked #1 of 50 Pemuteran B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I could not have been happier with this place. Taruna is a warm and kind host and he runs a tight ship with English speaking, attentive staff. From the good reviews I was expecting a clean, well-appointed homestay/boutique hotel and Taruna is certainly that. But it is all the little extra touches that make this place truly special. Exceptional housekeeping left messages spelled out in flowers on the bed and wonderful smelling frangipani scattered about. Occasional turn down service. Lighting mosquito coils outside your door as dusk settles.

Rooms are cute yet roomy bungalows. I would recommend trying to get one at the back of the property as they are farther from the road and closer to the pool. We stayed in #2 and it was great. I would spring for air con as it is very hot and humid in the area but the hot water turned out to be unnecessary. Even the "cold" water is rather tepid and very comfortable considering the hot climate.

One thing to keep in mind is that there was some construction happening at the front of the property when we were visiting which you have to walk through to get to the bungalows. It didn't bother us as all the workers were very nice and stopped work to let us by. Taruna offered us vouchers toward food, massage etc as an apology for the disruption which really was no disruption at all.

Food was great. When we were there it was rated the #1 restaurant in Pemuteran on tripadvisor.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Morleycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear our Lovely guest,

We thank you very much for your stay with us and write a very nice review for our accommodation ,
We are really glad that you were enjoy our home stay and our food as well.

Please keep in contact and hope we still have chance to serve you at Taruna family in the future.

All our best regard to you,

Taruna and all the family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

In total, we spent 4 nights with Taruna and his family, and we can't give them enough praise. Their attention to detail and genuine interest truly made our stay magical. Taruna's wife prepares the most delicious meals and the fresh fruit juices are the perfect treat to beat the heat. The set breakfast menu is quite large, but as vegans, we were limited to the fried rice each morning. Knowing our food restrictions, the staff happily adjusted menu items when possible (substituting brown sugar for the honey in the welcome drinks at each meal and making the sweet corn croquettes without egg).
The rooms are spacious and clean, and the bed is extremely comfortable. The outdoor bathroom is amazing! There's nothing quite like showering under the stars and a full moon. The gardens are impeccable and gorgeous, and the pool is like your own private oasis. The public beach, with its fantastic snorkeling, is a short 10-minute walk away.
Staying a few days at Taruna Homestay is a must if you're planning a trip to Bali! It's definitely worth a visit to Pemuteran.

Room Tip: Splurge a bit more for the deluxe rooms. They are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bounding_Steps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dearest Made and Niluh,

Warm regard from Taruna family.

We would like to thank you again for your stay and review our home stay.
We wish you enjoy your time and looking forward to see your friend at Taruna home stay.

Sincerely yours

Taruna and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

8 nuits et vraiment Taruna Homestay est l'endroit à choisir à Pemuteran! Un rapport qualité prix au top! Les chambres, la cuisine savoureuse et en quantité très correcte, la piscine et le cadre, ainsi que les attentions de toute l'équipe en font un endroit à recommander! N'hésitez pas, après avoir essayé d'autres warungs, aucun ne surpasse en finesse celui de Taruna!
8 nights spent there, and really this the place to chose in Pamuteran!Wonderful quality and price ratio! Very nice bedrooms, the dishes are delicious, the atmosphere and the swimming pool are great. The team takes care so much and many attentions will satisfy you. I recommend this place for your stay and for your warung choice, Taruna is certainly the most refined. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Number 1 & 2 are just great, in front of the garden, very intimate location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaBCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Our Lovely Customer, Emmanuelle, Julien, Corantin,

Hi..every body...We thank you very much for your long stay and your kind review.
We were very glad as well to be of host and serving you.
Hope next time when everything is finish at my project , we can take you around and see more in Pemuteran area and serrounding.

We wish you have a good time.

All my best regard to you all.

Taruna and all family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at Taruna Homestay for 5 nights and enjoyed the experience immensely. It is an impeccably run boutique hotel with friendly warm service provided by Taruna and his wife Nileh and all the staff we met. They were open, delightful company and made our stay a pleasure. The restaurant, primarily Balinese style cooking, deserves the high rating it gets on this website as the best place to eat in Pemuteran. It is all freshly prepared and, as such, one must be prepared to wait. It is not a McDonalds. The grilled fish in banana leaf a feature dish but many others to choose from as well. The rooms were spotless and the servicing constant. We appreciated all the little touches - flowers in the room, mosquito coils, quick response to any queries. etc. They organised a snorkelling tour for us, and we used the transport service to be picked up from Ubud and taken to Jimbaran and found drivers, and related support staff, equally thoughtful and caring. We certainly hope we can arrange to come back soon. The massages we had were thorough, firm but gentle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidWKimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear David,

First at all we would like to thank you so much for taking your time to review regarding your stay at our home stay.
We feel very happy to know that you was satisfied so much.

We wish you always have a good time and happiness and healthy , and hope you can see us again in future.

We are always be ready to serve you at our family.

Kind regard

Taruna and Niluh and all family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The reviews are all correct. I was treated as family. I am learning Indonesian and the family and owner spared no opportunity to help me. They arranged a fantastic snorkel tour for us. The personal touches are all as other reviewers have described, detailed and delightful. There is one thing I have not yet seen so far, posted on the reviews, and that is the water quality. We came in January, the rainy season, and the beaches and waters are full of trash. Literally, I swam through floating trash to see the most beautiful coral reefs I have ever seen. It was bittersweet. I have asked others about this, and it appears that this is a problem particular to the rainy season. That being said, the grounds of Taruna are spotless. Their pool is spotless and lovely. I saw families and couples having a blast. The food is excellent. I will return again for sure, I look forward to it!

Room Tip: I stayed in the most basic room. It was excellent, but I think for the few bucks more I would upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NursePate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear our lovely customer,

Warm regard from Taruna family.
Hope everything is fine with you.

We thank you very much for your stay with us and for your review.
we are glad to know that you were satisfied to stay at our home stay.
hope we can serve you again in the future and out of rainy season.
Hope every body understand and care about the rubbish so in the future Pemuteran is totaly clean.

Sincerely yours

Kadek Taruna and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

After traveling through Java (not so friendly people), we arrived in Permuteran. We didn’t know what to expect of Bali. But the friendly people of Taruna homestay, made this the best stay of our trip through Indonesia( Java-bali-flores). Just the little things: like flowers on your bed, If you ask something they will go out of their way to get it done and just how happy and friendly they are.
I should have done this review a few months ago, but better late than never.
Thanks again for the nice stay.
Luke & Daphne

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukeP_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Luke and Daphne,

Greeting from Taruna family - Pemuteran.
Hope this e-mail find you very well.
We thank you very much for your time to write a review.
We are glad to know that you were pleasant to stay in our accommodation.

All of taruna family miss you.. hope we can see you again.
Take care ...

Best regard.

Taruna and whole family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This place is a gem! It feels homely and the staff are superb friendly and helpful. The room are very comfy with exotic open-air bathroom that makes you feel you want to have shower all the time. The owner, Pak Taruna was also very helpful as he was kind enough to drive me (by motorbike) to a nearby mini market to get some sunscreen (silly me of leaving it at home!). This place is also nearby to Biorock project whereby you get to sponsor baby corals for coral conservation. The corals at Pemuteran beach (nearby Biorock Project) was just awesome. It is about 1.2km to the right from the home stay. You can bike there or have a peaceful stroll. I'd like to thank Pak Taruna and his team for the warm hospitality and excellent service. Will definitely stay here again if I'm there up in West Bali. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I liked my room no 4. it is opposite the pool. like 10 steps away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izzatyj8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taruna J, Owner at Taruna Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Hi..Izzaty,

Sunny greeting from Taruna family.
Hope this e-mail find you very well.
Thank you very much for your kind review...
We were glad to know you and glad to know if you are satisfied stayed with us.
We always remember you... ingat Upin Ipin ingat Malaysia ha..ha..., this amination is very famous in Bali.

Well Izzaty,, hope you will visit us again and also telling your friend to come to the west Bali.

Taruna family always ready to welcome you and your friend.

Wishing you Happy New year 2014.. All the best.

Regard

Taruna and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pemuteran hotels
0.3 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
0.1 mi away
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kinaara Resort & Spa
Kinaara Resort & Spa
#2 of 9 in Pemuteran
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tirta Sari Bungalows
Tirta Sari Bungalows
#3 of 50 in Pemuteran
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taruna Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taruna Homestay

Address: Jl. Seririt - Gilimanuk | Taruna home Stay , Jln.seririt-gilimanuk ,desa Pemuteran, gerokgak81155. Singaraja Bali Indonesia, Pemuteran, Gerokgak 81155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Pemuteran
Price Range: £20 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taruna Homestay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestay Taruna is located in a tranquil Balinese village, a 3.5-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The homestay has a tour desk and provides free Wi-Fi in the entire property and massage services.The rooms are simple and fitted with freshly laundered beddings. They all have an en suite bathroom, a fan or air conditioning and a desk. Views of the garden can be enjoyed from all rooms.Gilimanuk Bus Station is a 30-minute drive from the homestay, while Lovina Beach is about an hour’s drive away. Bicycle rental services are provided by the homestay for guests who wish to explore the region on their own.Taruna Homestay has a restaurant on site which serves Indonesian dishes and local specialities. Room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taruna Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taruna Homestay Bali/Pemuteran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing