We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST RESORT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Pemuteran
Certificate of Excellence
Austria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“BEST RESORT”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed 5 nights in Matahari and our experience was wonderful.

Service : The Resort is small enough to have a wonderful atmosphere. The staff is extremely helpful and you always have the Feeling of beeing welcome.

Room : We stayed in the Deluxe Vila close to the beach which has a wonderful Setting. The Roomes have a great local Interior design, the bathroom is spacious and you have an additional outdoor shower which is great with summer temperatures.

Food : We have been to South East Asia several times in different 5 star Hotels but the Food at Matahari was the best ever. We had Full Board and you receive for lunch and Dinner a 3 course menue where you can choose of several Options. The dishes changed every day and tasted extremly good. The wine list is large and offers a good selection of wines

Diving : We went out for several dives on the local riffs by Boat and to Menjangan Naptional Park. Do not expect large fish but a lot of different corals and other small items (lobster, snails, bat fish, Lion fish)

This is an excellent Hotel off the tourist Hot spots in southern Bail in the North West of Bali.

Room Tip: Deluxe Vila 30 and 31 (connected by door) good for Family with Kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4_travel_addicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    82
    21
    7
    10
See reviews for
94
364
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
München
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is an outsanding small hotel with a couple of nice villas in a beautiful garden. The beach is with black sand and the pool is very nice. It is all on a very high level and the service is friendly. The main restaurant (there is also a beach restaurant) is very very good but also not inexpansive. If you would like to relax for a couple of days - this is the hotel. However, be aware that there is not much outside the hotel....

Room Tip: All villas are very nice. So there is nothing you need to look after be selecting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neubiberg75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

It is a perfect place to stay on Bali if you are looking for peace, nature, a beautiful environment and at the same time excellent food. After 10 days on Bali in the South and Ubud we travelled to Permuteran (couple with 7 years old child) and stayed for five days in this wonderful hotel (villa) located in a breath-taking garden.
We regret that we did not skip the south and stayed some more days in the Matahari Beach Hotel instead. When we visited the beautiful temples nearby there were only very few tourists, people were very friendly and we felt very welcome.
It was our second time here and it will not be our last one. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We, a couple plus one child (8), stayed at MATAHARI for six days at the beginning of August 2013. We absolutely enjoyed our stay for a number of reasons: the lovely room, the beautiful garden and pool, the nice beach (we did not experience any waste washed ashore like others did), the yummy food, the great Spa .... but most of all the peace and quiet we encountered there. No TV in the room, no music on the beach or the rest of the resort (like in many other places we stayed in Bali) and very friendly staff. The hotel guests were predominantly pleasant Europeans.
If you can't live without a TV or entertainment, don't go there. If you are looking to relax in a peaceful environment miles away from the big tourist centres, then this is the right place to go.
P.S. If you want to see more than just the resort, we highly recommend a snorkeling tour to the Manjagan island or the "Secret Garden" walking tour organised by the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Two_Plus_One_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwischenwasser
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent 3 nights in this wonderful hotel in the northern Bali; instead of hundreds of rooms offers the Matahari about 35 villas with an exceptionnal private atmosphere. In this way it is different to the southern "bunkers" of the tourist aera around Nusa Dua and so on. The garden and the pool aera are georgous, the beach with its black sand not less.The kindly staff is trained very well in keeping everything clean, serving whatever you desire and giving you the feeling of being near to paradise. Lunch and dinner are very recommendable, the "Bintang" - Beer is offered only in Bottles - the Winelist is international. We had a pleasant stay with snorkeling, swimming and relaxing after our sunrise trip to the Gunung Batur - retourning to the northern Bali, we would book the Matahari again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khgrotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Fantastic, what more is there to say! We were greated by the Manager on arrival and he was there to wish us well on our departure. The Matahari has so many nice touches that it would take too long to list - here are but a few. Filled ice bucket in the room, good supply of water throughout the day, cold towel/iced water/fruit by the pool, cakes in a basket on turndown service, etc etc. The grounds were amazing, as was the pool, staff and scenery. The food was incredible, a little pricey but well worth it for the quality. The room was lovely, bed comfortable and bathroom and outside shower terrific. One very small gripe - the bed was so high I had trouble getting on it, but that's only because I'm just 5ft tall! The dive centre was very good and when we went snorkeling the staff were great, always checking that everyone was safe in the water.Try to catch the sunrise, it's fantastic. We would love to go back, my husband wishes he could live there!

Room Tip: Any room would be wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

although i was not staying at this hotel, i was lucky enough to taste the food at one of their restaurant. I was there on one Saturday night so they were doing a Balinese Buffet dinner at the restaurant on the beach side. Delicious food, excellent service to combine with a perfect company.To be honest, i have never been a big fan of ayam betutu (steamed/grilled chicken with balinese herbs originated in this area) but at matahari beach resort, i have never tried ayam betutu quite like it. it was juicy, succulent and very tasty without being overpowered with too much spices and herbs like most ayam betutu restaurants always intend to do. But... my favourite dish was.. the babi kecap (pork in soya sauce).. simply to die for. I will certainly come back to try the a la carte menu , one day

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deejay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemuteran
0.4 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
0.7 mi away
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
7.1 mi away
Menjangan Dynasty Resort
Menjangan Dynasty Resort
#1 of 3 in Banyuwedang
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kinaara Resort & Spa
Kinaara Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Pemuteran
258 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Menjangan
The Menjangan
#1 of 4 in West Bali National Park
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matahari Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Seririt-Gilimanuk, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 Family Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 Spa Hotel in Pemuteran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Matahari Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the northern coast of the island, set amongst fragrant lotus and frangipani flowers, this splendid village consisting of Balinese pavilions overlooks the sea. Each ornate bungalow has hand-carved wooden folding doors, a tropical garden and an outdoor shower with a stone dragon: pure nirvana. Just like the sense of wellbeing imparted from the spa with its massage and other treatments in the best Balinese tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Matahari Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Beach Resort And Spa
Matahari Beach Hotel Pemuteran
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa Bali/Pemuteran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing