We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bali with the family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Pemuteran
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bali with the family”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just like heaven. We enjoyed every second. Snorkeling was very exciting. The spa was relaxing and the massage just gorgeous. Breakfast, lunch at the beach, romantic dinner with candlelight and you get an exellent service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Petra1352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    75
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
85
342
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

What a wonderful resort with beautiful private villas set in tropical gardens. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here as the rooms and service were wonderful; the bed was a bit hard and high but that didn't keep us from loving this hotel. The grounds are well maintained and quite beautiful as are the spa and very large pool area. The black sand beach is underwhelming but very private with a lovely restaurant so a good place to relax and read. If you want a true beach resort this may not be the best place. We really enjoyed walking around some very small 'villages' to the left of the hotel along the beach and biking to nearby temples that were largely void of western tourists. Food at the hotel was good but a bit pricey for the locale. We ate at Frangipani Bar in town (they picked us up) and it might have been the best meal of the trip so we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasper25rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel was part of our Bali honeymoon tour along with 3 other hotels.
It is located on the Northern coast of Bali, right on the beach (black sand).

We lived in villa n°11 which was located quite close to the beach and swimming pool which was nice as we only stayed there 2 nights and often got lost in the hotel grounds since we didn't have much time to know our way around.

The room was large and well furnished although there was no TV (not that I missed it at all but my husband was disappointed) but there was an available cd player and free wifi throughout the hotel, although the wifi was a bit annoying since it disconnected every so often and one had to log in again many times per day.
There was complimentary mineral water, coffee & tea and we found a free goodie every night on our bed (chocolate and so on).

The bathroom was nice and functional, we liked that the sinks were separated from the bathroom and toilet which enabled us to shower while the other one was getting ready.
There is one outdoor showere but we have not tried it because the leaves from the trees surrounding our room kept falling in the small patio where the shower was located and I thought there might be bugs.

We only had one dinner at the hotel since we also had a dinner out.
It was a special night and the main restaurant was closed. The hotel had organized an indonesian buffet by the beach, with local musicians and singers.
It was great (I love Indonesian food) but my husband is a Muslim and he found out the main dish was : roasted pork, so he end up paying about 600 000 rupiahs (quite a price since you get away for less than 150 000 in most local restaurants outside hotels) for his dinner and barely only ate bread and starters.

The breakfast in the morning was included in our plan and was of buffet style which we appreciated since my husband and I have VERY different tastes regarding our meals.
There were danish, cakes, different kinds of breads, croissants (okay, I am french, and I hate indonesian croissants), ham, bacon, eggs, fresh fruits, juices/smoothies, cereals, yoghurt, indonesian plates and more.

Please know that you can consumate the ice cubes as much as you want in this hotel (and most luxury hotels in Bali, contrary to what I had been told) so do not freak out if you find ice cubes in your cocktail, just ask the waiter if the ice cube is tap or mineral water.

The hotel grounds were very nice with flowery gardens, a large swimming pools, spa, a nice fitness room (I ate a lot of pasta in Indonesia and was relieved to find fitness rooms in most hotels we visited).
There was a spa which seemed very nice in a secluded area of the hotel but I had no time to try it.

We met the general manager on the day we checked out, he is french and we chatted a little before leaving.

I had a great time at the Matahari Beach Resort and I would recommand it for couples or families although I did not find many activities on the hotel grounds, I probably just missed them since I didn not spend much time at the hotel but, it is possible to go snorkeling a mere 15 mn away from the hotel and see breathtaking corals and fishes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parisianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed 5 nights in Matahari and our experience was wonderful.

Service : The Resort is small enough to have a wonderful atmosphere. The staff is extremely helpful and you always have the Feeling of beeing welcome.

Room : We stayed in the Deluxe Vila close to the beach which has a wonderful Setting. The Roomes have a great local Interior design, the bathroom is spacious and you have an additional outdoor shower which is great with summer temperatures.

Food : We have been to South East Asia several times in different 5 star Hotels but the Food at Matahari was the best ever. We had Full Board and you receive for lunch and Dinner a 3 course menue where you can choose of several Options. The dishes changed every day and tasted extremly good. The wine list is large and offers a good selection of wines

Diving : We went out for several dives on the local riffs by Boat and to Menjangan Naptional Park. Do not expect large fish but a lot of different corals and other small items (lobster, snails, bat fish, Lion fish)

This is an excellent Hotel off the tourist Hot spots in southern Bail in the North West of Bali.

Room Tip: Deluxe Vila 30 and 31 (connected by door) good for Family with Kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4_travel_addicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
116 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is an outsanding small hotel with a couple of nice villas in a beautiful garden. The beach is with black sand and the pool is very nice. It is all on a very high level and the service is friendly. The main restaurant (there is also a beach restaurant) is very very good but also not inexpansive. If you would like to relax for a couple of days - this is the hotel. However, be aware that there is not much outside the hotel....

Room Tip: All villas are very nice. So there is nothing you need to look after be selecting the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neubiberg75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

It is a perfect place to stay on Bali if you are looking for peace, nature, a beautiful environment and at the same time excellent food. After 10 days on Bali in the South and Ubud we travelled to Permuteran (couple with 7 years old child) and stayed for five days in this wonderful hotel (villa) located in a breath-taking garden.
We regret that we did not skip the south and stayed some more days in the Matahari Beach Hotel instead. When we visited the beautiful temples nearby there were only very few tourists, people were very friendly and we felt very welcome.
It was our second time here and it will not be our last one. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We, a couple plus one child (8), stayed at MATAHARI for six days at the beginning of August 2013. We absolutely enjoyed our stay for a number of reasons: the lovely room, the beautiful garden and pool, the nice beach (we did not experience any waste washed ashore like others did), the yummy food, the great Spa .... but most of all the peace and quiet we encountered there. No TV in the room, no music on the beach or the rest of the resort (like in many other places we stayed in Bali) and very friendly staff. The hotel guests were predominantly pleasant Europeans.
If you can't live without a TV or entertainment, don't go there. If you are looking to relax in a peaceful environment miles away from the big tourist centres, then this is the right place to go.
P.S. If you want to see more than just the resort, we highly recommend a snorkeling tour to the Manjagan island or the "Secret Garden" walking tour organised by the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Two_Plus_One_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemuteran
0.4 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
0.8 mi away
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
7.1 mi away
Menjangan Dynasty Resort
Menjangan Dynasty Resort
#1 of 3 in Banyuwedang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
7.4 mi away
The Menjangan
The Menjangan
#1 of 4 in West Bali National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kinaara Resort & Spa
Kinaara Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Pemuteran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matahari Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Raya Seririt-Gilimanuk, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 Spa Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 Family Hotel in Pemuteran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Matahari Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the northern coast of the island, set amongst fragrant lotus and frangipani flowers, this splendid village consisting of Balinese pavilions overlooks the sea. Each ornate bungalow has hand-carved wooden folding doors, a tropical garden and an outdoor shower with a stone dragon: pure nirvana. Just like the sense of wellbeing imparted from the spa with its massage and other treatments in the best Balinese tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Matahari Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Beach Resort And Spa
Matahari Beach Hotel Pemuteran
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa Bali/Pemuteran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing