We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great resort on the North West coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Pemuteran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights during our recent trip to Bali. The resort is simply stunning as it's based on a traditional Balinese temple and the gardens are beautiful. Our room was amazing and loved the dragon shower outside. The food was very good with a choice of Balinese or international and the beach cafe was great. The Main restaurant was good but service was a bit patchy at breakfast and also on the evening with the dance show. The staff and kitchen find it hard it cope with a rush of guests turning up. The diving at wener lau was also very good. Thoroughly recommend this resort for some R&R and it's worth the journey up to this part of Bali. The spa is well worth a visit or two as well.

Room Tip: They are all lovely :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathMacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Kathmacca,

Thank you for your comment on your recent stay at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa and for taking the time to share your impressions with TripAdvisor readers.

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a good time.

I am very sorry that our service in our Dewi Ramona Restaurant didn’t meet your expectations. You can be assured that it is our aim to fulfill guests’ requests and needs and I sincerely apologize that we failed this time.

We are looking forward to have the opportunity of welcoming you again to our hotel in the very near future.

Warmest regards from the North West of Bali.

Jany-Michel Fourre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have travelled a lot but Matahari was one of our best overall hotel experiences.

I always read the bad comments from Tripadvisor in advance. I have to say that the negative comments of Matahari are very subjective or question of taste (we are perhaps used to harder beds, the beds at Matahari gave us the best sleep ever) or some commentators might even have some own reasons and agenda. Ok, the Wi-fi was a bit slow and you had to re-entry the password everytime you logged in but even our teenage kids did not care about that. Neither did they or any of us miss the TV that is missing in rooms. Somehow we consider that those “defects” gave the fifth star and the final touch for the resort. Instead there were a lot of activities, good beach activities, free paddling boards etc. Pemuteran is a bit remote location but the hotel organizes nice activities (we tried the Dokar temple tour with horse carriages – really nice and a good guide) and there are other companies nearby who organize tours as well. We did not use the diving operator operating at hotel area but another operator at Pemuteran.

The place itself is beautiful, lot of flowers, trees and plans and constantly cleaned (falling leaves).

We had a full board and that was a big question mark in advance. Usually we prefer just bed with breakfast. But at Matahari the full board was very good option and recommended even to those who never take full board. Manu changed every day, taste perfect. Perhaps variety for example at breakfast was not enormous (as someone claim) but certainly sufficient and the quality was very good.

Fresh fruits and free bottled water brought every day to the room. All staff was very genuinely friendly. We needed some helps from staff not usually visible for guests. I have to cut open one suitcase when we arrived about 1 am. It took 5 min when the janitor was there and he did the job. One morning we left something to the breakfast table and I have to go to the kitchen to search it and the staff there was very friendly and helpful as well.

A very good idea mentioned in the hotel book, that they wish that tips (if any) are left in an envelope to the front desk where they can divide the tips among the whole staff.

One evening a local orphanage was giving a show at stage during dinner. No donations were asked and not possible even if you wished, only a Facebook address was found in a program if you want find later a way to donate something. The artist told that hotel management is paying them. All these were organized in the most discreet way.

This is one of the few hotels which seem to have considered ethical issues and relationships with the local community. They even have prepared a philosophy for the hotel (found at the hotel internet page). We truly liked the hotel and although a five star resort, it has certain modesty.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Markus A,

Wow! What a joy to read your detailed report on your stay at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa. Thank you so much for taking the time to post your experiences on TripAdvisor.

It is fantastic to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our service from the heart. Your praise is a great encouragement for our team.

We hope that you have a chance to visit us again as we would love to pamper you once more. We all are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.

Warmest regards from the North West of Bali.

Jany-Michel Fourre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

....because there is nothing around but you also don't need anything...

Great place to hang around and relax. The hotel it self is build almost like an ancient temple or something like it. The cottages are well equiped and look also like sleeping in an ancient building. All other equipment is luxury, comfortable, clean and well tended to. The two restaurants provide everything you want and the staff is perfectly trained. They have traditional dancing and music events but all organised in a way that you want to join and not feel like you have to. The Spa is gorgeous and a must for everybody. Good treatment and totally relaxing from the moment you move into that area.
Close by is a diving center that also brings snorkeling guys like we are to great places.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Horst2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear 2Horst2,

Many thanks for your kind comment about your stay at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa.

We are very pleased to read that you did enjoy the traditional Balinese atmosphere of our Resort and all its facilities.
Service is one of our priorities and it is a pleasure to hear that our team has delivered a high quality of service and we would like to thank you for mentioning it.

It would be an honor to welcome you back during your next visit to Bali.

Best regards,

Jany-Michel Fourre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The area is fantastic if you like a slow pace - as I do. The grounds of this hotel are immaculate, with lovely flowering trees. However, there are several issues that make other hotels a better option - such as the Amertha Villas down the street.

The rooms are not well air conditioned. I live in Asia and have a high tolerance for heat, but my room was sweltering even with the AC at full power and the shades pulled. There is no TV. I don't go on vacation in paradise to watch TV, but it is sometimes nice to watch a movie on a late night or raining afternoon. The beach is extremely tiny, rocky and covered with bits of styrofoam. This is not a beach hotel. It could only be considered so by the owners, management and those who have not tried other resorts in Bali. By way of contrast, Amertha has a wide, quiet, family oriented white sand beach with a lovely reef offshore.

The woman at the dive shop seemed annoyed that I was even talking to her and didn't want to mess with SCUBA. They do it here, but it was like pulling teeth to arrange. Plus, the cost is twice as high as Amertha and surrounding dive shops - who travel to more dive sites.

The breakfast is a marginal buffet, which does not compare with the splendorous, delicious and well-presented options at Amertha. The service is great as are the Indonesian staff, but this is generally true at every luxury hotel.

The primary issue I had was with the decision to leave after one night, after originally requesting (but not yet paying for) four nights. They arbitrarily charged me for three nights as a penalty - the night I stayed plus two more. The receipt at check-in does say that you will be charged 100% if you decide to leave early, so beware. Very well. I'll pay the extra $400+ without complaint, apart from my comments here. I'm sure it is their policy, but lack of flexibility is a negative in my estimation. Amertha and Tugu in Canggu would rather have good reviews than make a quick $400, so I would lean toward one of those for your Bali vacation.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear David A.,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
I sincerely regret that your stay didn't meet your expectations.

We are kind of surprised especially since most of our guests seem to have other opinions on the issues you raised.

Above all, it’s absolutely not our policy to pay for revues but to earn them.

Best regards from the North West of Bali.

Jany-Michel Fourre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The service was really superb and so was the food. The hotel was beautiful, the garden was well maintained, but we had mice in both rooms, the hairdryer - which looked like a piece of antique -was broken, the rooms were equipped with a cd player, no docking station, the cd's had to be rented. The first night the air-conditioning was not working properly, so we had to change rooms for one night. There was a gym, but one of the 2 treadmills was also broken. Although we had a wonderful time, I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dividive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Dividive,

Thank you very much for choosing our Matahari Beach Resort & Spa for your recent visit.

We appreciate that you did enjoy our resort, and we truly apologies for the inconvenience caused with the mice and the lack of service concerning the air-conditioning, the hairdryer and also the treadmill.

It is not acceptable for a five stars hotel and be sure that we have taken into account all your remarks in order to further more improve our service.

We do hope that on your next visit to Bali you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Warmest regards from the North West of Bali

Jany-Michel Fourre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We enjoyed the stay at Matahari very much! It is a really beautiful place, full of personal attention to detail. Unfortunately our stay was too short to really savor Matahari. Special mention goes to the great staff and good kitchen! In short - a stay we will always fondly remember!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank paulmK5057OL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Paul 41947,

What a lovely review!

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words, which I look forward to sharing with all the team.

We will be more than happy to welcome you during your next holidays in Bali.

Warmest regards from the North West of Bali.

Jany-Michel Fourre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I very much want to go back and spend more time. The staff is most welcoming and accomodating. The food was good, and everything about the stay was most memorable! I wish more time had been allocated to this hotel and location. Its the perfect environment for a beautiful, relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: opt for one of the better rooms as its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bckihei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatahariBeachResort, General Manager at Matahari Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Bckihei,

Thank you very much for sharing such a nice review of your experiences with us on TripAdvisor.

Your feedback is highly valued and the entire team really appreciates the time you have taken to post your comment.

We look forward to welcome you back to your Balinese home for another memorable stay very soon.

Warmest regards from the North West of Bali.

Jany-Michel Fourre
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pemuteran
0.4 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
0.7 mi away
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
7.1 mi away
Menjangan Dynasty Resort, Beach Camp & Dive Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Kinaara Resort & Spa
Kinaara Resort & Spa
#2 of 9 in Pemuteran
284 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Menjangan
The Menjangan
#1 of 4 in West Bali National Park
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matahari Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matahari Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Seririt-Gilimanuk, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 Family Hotel in Pemuteran
#1 Spa Hotel in Pemuteran
Price Range: £160 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Matahari Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the northern coast of the island, set amongst fragrant lotus and frangipani flowers, this splendid village consisting of Balinese pavilions overlooks the sea. Each ornate bungalow has hand-carved wooden folding doors, a tropical garden and an outdoor shower with a stone dragon: pure nirvana. Just like the sense of wellbeing imparted from the spa with its massage and other treatments in the best Balinese tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Matahari Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matahari Beach Resort And Spa
Matahari Beach Hotel Pemuteran
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa Bali/Pemuteran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing