We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to brilliant basics”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Pemuteran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

There's no wifi, no TV, no kettle, no phone and no cupboard.

Don't come here if you want all the mod-cons, come here if you just want to relax in a beautiful villa with a big wide sky above your open top bathroom where geckos chirp and butterflys glide about. The pool is magnificent - one way you look out over the beach and sea, the other way, huge mountains rise up into the sky. At night, the call to prayer from the mosque can be heard drifting in the air, but you're far enough away for it not to keep you awake. Long walks along the beach, snorkelling at your door and marvellous outdoor spaces to relax, read and take a beer.

Be warned, the bathroom shower spits and dribbles like an old man with prostate problems.

Don't eat in the restaurant. Breakfast is barely enough to fill a mouse's stomach.

The food is much better next door at Pondok Sari, plus they have wi-fi.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rayleggott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

This stretch of beach is wonderfully old school Bali. Low key, small properties with thatched bungalows and direct beach access.

Taman Selini has been around longer than most and so has a wonderful patina - not everything is slick and shiny (and that is a good thing).

Each bugalow has a large outdoor bathroom, a high roofed bedroom with four poster bed and a covered area out front with daybed and chairs. No TV. No wifi. Totally relaxing.

Pool is lovely down by the beach.

Restaurant does great food - including excellently made Greek dishes (strange but true).

Old school Asia in comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SybariteCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Taman Selini offers a small corner of paradise - a secluded part of Bali, off the tourist track and still calm. The surroundings offer a great introduction to Balinese culture with beautiful temples - we even had the opportunity to attend a funeral! The hotel staff is always helpful and available, the food excellent. Great snorkeling just a few meters off the (private) beach! If you're a couple, be sure not to miss the Atlas South Sea Pearl Farm, a few kilometers away!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EwaiYann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We have stayed at Taman for 8 nights at the end of our 1 month journey through Indonesia. We wanted to stay for 2 nights and extended 2 times. This part of Bali is not as busy as the other parts. There are several hotels on a stroke of beach with black vulcano sand and along a direct accesible coral reef restorationa project (with electricity they restore the reef). Beautiful snorkeling directly from the beach of Taman selini Hotel. The hotels bungalows are build around a beautiful well kept garden which takes you along the swimming pool, restaurant and relaxing areas (big couch from where you see the sea and hear the waves) to the beach.
The rooms are larger than usual and have a beautiful open air bathroom although the prices are a little bit higher than usual. The cheaper options in Permuteran are located on the other side of the road which do not have direct acces to the beach so for us it was worth the extra Baht's.
The restaurant is outstanding. Besides the Indonesian and sian dishes there is a very nice selection of Greek food on the menu. (not the first thing to eat in Indonesia, but after a month a welcome change and above expections). Breakfast could get a little upgrade if you stay for several days (maybe a different fruit salad) and the quality of the bread could be better as the hotel has their own bakery at the entrance (great chocolate chip cookies!). Compared to the bread served with the greek dishes during lunch and dinner they have the knowledge in house to upgrade breakfast bread.
The staff is very welcoming and take time to give information and general attention. During our stay the hotel hosted a ceremony for the hotels temple, we were without hesitation invited to all activities to experience some of the local culture.
We enjoyed this hotel very much and highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eef S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We have recently spent ten nights at this beautiful hotel. We have been to Bali many times., but this was our first time in Pemuteran and we are very glad that we chose to explore this region of Bali. We loved that you can walk about and not be pestered and that you become very much part of the village atmosphere.
Staff at the hotel were just lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. All in all we would recommend this special little hotel to any traveller.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlaJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

While we loved our 3 night stay in this resort, we found ourselves eating many of our meals at Taman Sari. Food was better, less expensive, and nice ambiance, right on the beach.
Taman Selini had a fabulous outdoor bathroom which we adore. Inside also very nice with a day bed outside complete with a mosquito net. The pool was very nice with a view of the water. If you wanted to sit in chairs on the beach, the resort next door, Pondok Sari was better. Many lounge chairs with shade options. Taman Selini, you were always chasing the shade. Quiet area of Bali. Not much variety of restaurants unless you eat at other hotels.
We had construction next door the entire time we were there, so that was not very nice. Even though this does not impact your evening sleep, should you choose to take a nap or read on your veranda, it is very annoying. For $120 a night, we felt we should have been offered a discount. If I were to return, I would go to Taman Sari a few doors down the beach.

Room Tip: Definitely pay a few $$ more to be close to the ocean. Check on construction and ask to be moved be...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The bungallows are really nice and the location with access to the beach is outstanding.
The restaurant service is good, but the breakfast is not good.
The service is not really good either.
Wifi is not working in the rooms. They offer their laptop if you want connect.

Room Tip: The bungallows are all in front of the garden, so it's imposible to have any of them with view o...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andykdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pemuteran hotels
0.4 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
0.7 mi away
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kinaara Resort & Spa
Kinaara Resort & Spa
#2 of 9 in Pemuteran
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pondok Sari Beach Bungalow Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Amertha Bali Villas
Amertha Bali Villas
#5 of 9 in Pemuteran
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taman Selini Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taman Selini Beach Bungalows

Address: Desa Pemuteran - North West Bali, Pemuteran, Gerokgak 81151, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pemuteran
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pemuteran
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pemuteran
Price Range: £38 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taman Selini Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taman Selini is located in the more secluded Northwestern tip of Bali, one of the most beautiful destinations in the world. Right between, the calm blue Bali Sea and the idyllic backdrop of the lush volcanic mountain range of West Bali National Park, you will find a truer forgotten Bali. Natural beauty, large stretches of protected beach and shallow coral reefs that lies a few steps in front, and a Balinese traditional form of hospitality service, will ensure that you will rediscover peace along long days and calm nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taman Selini Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows Hotel Pemuteran
Taman Selini Beach Hotel
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows Bali/Pemuteran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing