We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort. Relax Balinese style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pondok Sari Beach Bungalow Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Pemuteran
Certificate of Excellence
Amersfoort, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort. Relax Balinese style”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We spend 4 nights at the Pondok Sari and had a great time.
The resort consists of a number of bungalows in Balinese style in a wonderful garden. It is not so very big (I believe some 30 rooms), which ensures it is always nice en quiet. The restaurant/bar and dive shop are situated at the end of the resort right on the beach.

We had our own 2-story bungalow that was pretty impressive. Good King-size bed, nice sittig area, open bathroom (large) and on the 2nd floor was a dining table and a vey large lounge bank/bed. First floor had airco, 2nd floor a fan. You can easily spend a lot of time on the 2nd floor, that is entirely open on 2 sides. So lots of fresh air.

The restaurant serves mainly Indonesian dishes, but that is exactly want I wanted, so no problem. Quality is good. A lot better then what I've had at other, more expensive resorts on Bali!
I would like to recommend the Nasi Campur Bali, or the Rijsttafel. Excellent!
The Bar extends from the restaurant onto the beach. Which makes it easy to order drinks/food when you relax on the beach during the day.

Apart from the beach there is also a smal, but very nice pool. Just hanging around in the pool gives you that 'zen' feeling :-)
And you need more relaxation? The Spa is pretty good as well. We had a 3-hour session and felt perfect afterwards. And really, really cheap too!

The only thing that we found out is that the area around the hotel is not very interesting to walk around. There are a number of small restaurants on the street. We didn't go there, but had very positive feedback from guests that did go there.
And if you want to do a sightseeing tour: the hotel is far away from most Bali sights, so prepare for very long trips in a car/bus.

In short: Pondok Sari: very nice. I would go there again, to simple relax and enjoy Bali.

(the rest of the review is about the poor dive shop. You can skip this of you don't dive).

Are there no downsides? Well, the dive shop... We didn't like it at all. The dive shop is part of the Werner Lau dive shops. In general this means very good quality and service (e.g. during this holiday we stayed at the Siddhartha resort, and the Werner Lau dive shop there is excellent). But this one was just bad:
- it was chaotic. Nobody explained to us how what to do, how they operate, etc. When we showed up with our dive gear (of course after having registered) there was nobody helping us. We just had to find out ourselves
- We didn't see the mgr (Düde). He spend a lot of time at another Werner Lau shop in another hotel. That's ok. What is not ok is his replacement. This guy stood there all day long in his Adidas training outfit, doing nothing. And if you asked something it felt he was going to beat you up. That is also something: he looked angry/aggressive/irritated/etc al the time. And that's the dive shop 'face'.
- Diving an Bali is also known for the great service you get everywhere. Well, not here. Carry everything yourself. Help yourself on the boat. Do everything yourself. All the dive shop people did was smoke, hang around, etc.
- Flexible as 10 inch steel. Some other guests wanted to dive at Secret Bay. They asked if the shop could schedule a boat to go there. Answer: no. Not possible, because of tides. Ok, this could be the case. But the way these guests were told off by this guy was horrible. So they walked out the resort to one of the many dive shops and booked a trip to Secret Bay. No tides problems, and in fact friendly and communicative people on the boat. Oh, and 40% cheaper....!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    93
    23
    11
    7
See reviews for
57
136
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

Check in was really smooth. Staff are polite, friendly and professional. Bungalow was beautifully clean, with a lovely outside bathroom, safe, mosquito nets and aircon. Room set in very nicely kept gardens, all very green with lots of statues and the like.

Restaurant food was pretty awful and overpriced. Would recommend eating elsewhere. WiFi rarely worked, which was frustrating.

Guests were generally middle aged, with lots of families.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeplyConfused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The Spa and Dive Resort Pondok Sari is located in the small village of Pemutaran on the north-west coast of Bali. From the airport Denpasar it will take you roughly 4 hours by car to get there, however the hotel will organise to pick you up at the airport.
The resort itself is designed like a traditional balinese village with the restaurant/bar building the main complex. We had a deluxe bungalow with a roofed roof terrace with a large day bed. The building itself was a beautiful wooden construction with many traditional balinese images and symbols. The bathroom is partly open air so you can see the sky and trees while having a shower, but no worries it is still private. We have encountered this type of bathroom in other balinese resorts as well.
The resort is very spacious you never feel watched by your part time neighbours also the gardens are very well maintained with a lot of balinese statues and flowers.
For us the major drawback was the restaurant, the food was overpriced and looked just OK, I admit we never had dinner at the resort's restaurant, but would strongly recommend to go to the small restaurants in the village – that's real value for money.
We went to the Tirta Sari Restaurant, they have excellent food (try the Duck Betutu if you dare), good cocktails and are very friendly. And then finish the day with a relaxed drink in Bandinis Bar which offers also free (but slow) internet.
The breakfast at the Resort is just OK, so if you stay longer then a week it will get boring, although the coffee and the fruit juices are quite good – the female staff at the restaurant could be a bit more motivated. On the other hand the waiters and the facilities guys are more than friendly.
There is also a Spa in the resort but we didn't have the time to use it.

The Pondok Sari is a diver's resort, therefore the beach is quite small but still nice and the pool is on the small side as well and could be a bit cleaner.
The personnel at the Werner Lau dive base is friendly and they know their stuff, we did our OWD course with them and felt very safe and looked after while doing the course. There are a couple of house reefs which you access from the beach and the dive base offers two boat trips per day. Worth mentioning is the Reef Restoration project.
All in all we would give the Resort 4 out of five stars and would recommend this to other divers and would go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe bungalow - better value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoJoPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed here in the wayang villa and had a fantastic time. the villa is classic balinese and was stunning, the jacuzzi with pond around was a great bolt hole after diving and the catfish kept us entertained. The food excellent, breakfast until 3.30pm was a great touch especially if you have been out diving. There are super restaurants outside of the complex and they offer excellent food at a fraction of the hotel cost. Great holiday, worth the trek to visit this area, the diving here is stunning and the dive centre very efficient!

Room Tip: All rooms look fab but the villa is something else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Screennamedot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Pondoksari is a very beautiful resort to spend your time in Pemuteran. Very well laid out, lots of seating space, nicest beach front and lovely rooms. Very nice swimming pool. The garden is very well kept. Wi-Fi internet at time was difficult. Staff very formal, some could be more friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewasroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here twice on our Bali holiday last year August 2011. Once for a three day stay then at the end when we were over night to catch our flight back. Rooms are very clean and so spacious. The pool is in the small side but the beach is a short trip away. Very accOmodating and had breakfast ready early for us before the normal time as we were heading off early to make our flight. The staff are very friendly and happy to chat or leave you be. I would recommend this place to anyone young or old, as it has a special quality that everyone would appreciate. Do stay If you have the chance. I am sure there may be better places to stay and definalety sure there are worse but this place will not disappoint and will leave you with nothing but warm, fond memories.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Checki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed here 6 nights as a treat as it is above our usual budget. First we looked at all the other resorts along the beach, but chose Pondok. The room was about $70 off season in early May, and was large with very comfortable bed, plenty furniture, an outdoor bathroom, and a private outdoor lounging area in front with your own garden which hides your unit from the common footpsth through the resort.

It is fitted out with replicas of antique Bali buildings and set in rich gardens. Very pleasant. The restaurant is beachfront and the drinks aren't too pricey.

Room Tip: If diving, dont use the on-site German dive centre, which charges about $120 for a 2 dive day. On th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluecramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pemuteran hotels
0.4 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
0.1 mi away
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
0.8 mi away
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Kinaara Resort & Spa
Kinaara Resort & Spa
#3 of 10 in Pemuteran
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amertha Bali Villas
Amertha Bali Villas
#5 of 10 in Pemuteran
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Sari Beach Bungalow Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Sari Beach Bungalow Resort & Spa

Property: Pondok Sari Beach Bungalow Resort & Spa
Address: Gerokgak-Singaraja, Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pemuteran
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pemuteran
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pemuteran
#6 Family Hotel in Pemuteran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pondok Sari Beach Bungalow Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pondok Sari is well known for its tropical garden, its traditional architecture and its shady trees on the sandy beach next to the calm sea. The Pondok Sari is built with love to artistic details with a relaxing flair and charming coziness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pondok Sari Beach Bungalow Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Sari Beach Bungalow Hotel Pemuteran
Pondok Sari Beach Bungalow Resort And Spa
Pondok Sari Beach Hotel
Pondok Sari Beach Resort
Pondok Sari Beach Bungalow Resort & Spa Bali/Pemuteran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing