We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reef Seen Fail” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reef Seen Divers' Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pemuteran
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Reef Seen Divers' Resort
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Reef Seen Fail”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I recently stayed at Reef Seen Dive Resort on the first night of an 11 day Bali, Gili Air, and Lombok trip. When I arrived at Reef Seen, after the 4 hour drive fron the airport in Denpansar, I was informed that I was on the schedule for a visit to Menjangan Island, IF POSSIBLE. I'm sorry...if possible!?!? The only reason I took a 4 hour car ride to the far northwest corner of Bali was to snorkel Menjangan Island. At no point in the emails between Amanda (the British manager who lives here with her husband) and myself did she mention that chartering a boat was only possible if there were at least 4 people for the trip. Well, had I arrived and discovered this at, say, 3pm I may have had enough time to make other arrangements with the dock or another resort. But, since I got in at 11pm, I didn't have that luxury. After 28 hours of travel from San Francisco, you can imagine how much energy I had to wake up before the offices opened at 7:30am and make new arrangements. I was able to hire a charter boat through Reef Seen to take me out from the beach to look at two spots with coral. He didn't speak much English, which made it a little difficult, but not a huge deal. While those spots were beautiful in their own right, I was incredibly dissapointed that I was not going to see Menjangan Island. Worst part was, I only had one morning/day there. I left for Ubud that afternoon. My entire 8 hour round trip was only for that purpose. See it, then move on. So, fair warning to all travellers, make sure you know for sure that your trip to Menjangan Island, with Reef Seen, is in fact possible. It's $50 to hire a driver, for each way, to get out there. So if your charter boat with them is not possible, save yourself $100 or book with another hotel who doesn't have a minimum.

Other than this (HUGE) let down, Amanda was a pleasent person and the resort was nice enough. The turtle sanctuary/hatchery is cool, but don't expect an in depth tour or discussion.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    14
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kerobokan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a great time with Chris and his son Lee. This is a really well run affordable option when all one wants to do is go diving without the big price tag. We will definately be going again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anomac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

This was my second time in this beautiful area of Bali. Second stay at Reef View bungalows. The restaurant is upgraded now and looks a bit French (but nice), apple pie, carrot cake and brownies and great capuchinos!! This place is small and the center of the environment protection going on. The owner Chris Brown started the Reef Gardeners, the turtle hatchery and together with some dutch founded www.pemuteranfoundation.com.
Rooms are clean, good beds, nice open shower area it is a good buy. The diving is in front or at Menjangan. The problem with this place ?? You book for three nights and you end up staying six because the cosy atmosphere takes you in and you finish your second book in three days

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pieter_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

Nice and friendly staff, excellent for diving, simple but clean and beautiful rooms, it has a turtle hatchery next to the rooms and gives good information about the sealife protection around Pemuteran,

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank allardAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

If you want a cozy comfortable place with a GREAT view then, this is the place. The rooms and open-air toilets were clean and lovely.

The only down-side is that there is no real fully functional restaurant and you have to wander around to find a nice place to eat... although the staff is always willing to help you.

The owners and management are really making an effort to improve the local environment (people and nature) but this also means a couple of forced additions onto your bill. So check the price of rooms and amenties clearly before arriving.

Lastly, if you plan on diving they've got great facilities althought they're about 15% more expensive than the other nearby dive operators.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

What a wonderful place to get away from it all. One of the few areas in Bali where everything is laid back and relaxed. The way Bali ought to be. Not to many tourists and the ones that do come, are out to relax, enjoy and appreciate the country. The cottages are ideal for this. Not to busy, but always somebody around for a chat. A wonderful location, 10 steps from the beach. Yummy sandwiches and lots of other nice places within walking distance, to eat and chill. Sun, sea, massages, good company, wonderful diving or snorkeling - what more do you want?
Only problem is that you get so laid back you can't leave anymore.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaatje57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2008

This remote, beautiful area of Bali is paradise, whether you want to scuba dive among the amazing coral reef and waterlife or just sit on the beach and read. Reef Seen - a dive center and 5 modest rooms - is lovely. The grounds are immaculately kept, the breakfast is delicious and served promptly by friendly staff, and the rooms are clean, spacious, and very affordable. We planned to stay for 3 nights, but extended a night because we enjoyed it so much. Being in such a remote area, there are bargains everywhere. Reef Seen is the most afforble of the beach front properties. Also, there are several excellent restaurants within walking distance (just across the road, dinner for two - $10!), and a spa just up the beach where a 90-minute massage and pedicure will run you $20.

Our only complaints were some trouble with hot water on two mornings, and prices for the dive center that seemed expensive for the area (coincidence that all PADI dive centers charge the exact same price for dives?).

Overall, though, we loved it.

  • Liked — The lovely beachfront location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmacdon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pemuteran hotels
0.2 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
7.2 mi away
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
0.7 mi away
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Taman Sari Bali Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Amertha Bali Villas
Amertha Bali Villas
#5 of 10 in Pemuteran
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pondok Sari Beach Bungalow Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Seen Divers' Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Seen Divers' Resort

Property: Reef Seen Divers' Resort
Address: Desa Pemuteran, Gerokgak, Singaraja, Pemuteran, Gerokgak 81155, Indonesia (Formerly Reefview Bungalows)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Gerokgak > Pemuteran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Pemuteran
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reef Seen Divers' resort is our new name, our former names were Reef Seen Aquatics & Reef View bungalows. We think our new name covers better who we are. We are mainly focused on Diving! We are not a resort with a dive school, but we are a dive center with nice and good accommodation and that can be an important difference when you are a diver or are interested to become a diver. Why ? Because you will find yourself in a place that is specialized on diving and sharing your experiences with people who understand what you are talking about whether it's fish, reefs, reef protection our special dives and dive sides.Our primary goal is to provide clean, comfortable, on-site accommodation for divers and/or guests who wish to start diving with us. But we also welcome other guests such as snorkellers or visitors who show interest in our projects and are looking for a laid back place straight on the beach. Regretfully sometimes we have to disappoint non diver guests because we are full with divers. But just send us your inquiry and we will try to help you to find good accommodation in Pemuteran. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reef Seen Divers' Resort Bali/Pemuteran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing