We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to visit over and over....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Surya Shanti Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surya Shanti Villa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sidemen
Certificate of Excellence
Halibut Cove, Alaska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A place to visit over and over....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

I was first enchanted by Surya Shanti a year ago, and could not wait to return. My recent visit not only did not disappoint, it actually was even more enchanting that the first. Sidemen is a quiet town in the hills, known primarily for its songket weavers. And Surya Shanti's location on one of the hillsides assures that there is always a slight breeze. During the day, the vistas are the bright greens of the rice padis and the deeper greens of the forested hillsides. At night you can see across the sea far below to the lights of Nusa Penida. And you can enjoy all of these things from your private porch or patio, from the infinity pools, or from the lovely dining area. Every room is delightful, the spa is charming and the massage therapists skilled, and the food is delicious. I was ill one day while we were there, and I cannot think of a sweeter place to recuperate or a more solicitous staff always ready to bring more juices or chicken soup. Be sure to ask if the children are rehearsing the evening you are there: they are delightful, and welcoming. One little gentleman came to me, bowed, and invited me to dance!

Room Tip: The Valley View rooms are lovely and the lowest price. Agung Views are also charming, and the Villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanruddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    37
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
51
142
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We expected this to be a special meal. We felt the pricing was good. Service was excellent. We ordered Tempe Goreng and Peanut Crusted Shrimp for entree. The tempe was very basic in presentation and better suited as a beer snack to share in a group, but the prawns were excellent. We were offered complementary water and some nibbles of nuts, and bread sticks whilst , which was a positive. Mains were disappointing - spare ribs and tofu curry. Ribs were charred and then coated in a tomato based sauce. Prices were reasonable.

I asked if it would be possible to see a room later when I dropped in to make a dinner booking. I mentioned seeing a room before dinner. We were told the hotel was very quiet. After dinner when we asked to see a room, it was suddenly not possible to see a room after checking with the manager. The site is very steep with many steps to get from the car park to the restaurant, The accommodation was above the restaurant with more steps obvious between the restaurant and the accommodation. The site looks well established and rooms appear to have excellent views down the valley.

Room Tip: Unable to even see a room when the place was pretty empty
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights at Surya Shanti after a couple of nights in Seminyak - what a peaceful haven. We had a gorgeous room and there were only ever two other couples staying. Food was good but not perfect. Service was pretty good and very individual.
We had a great tour of the local rice paddy farms and awesome massages.
This is a gorgeous setting that we really were pleased to experience this side of Bali and totally recommend it.
FYI this is a steep hotel and would not be suitable for everyone. You have to climb stairs everywhere.
We had fabulous lunch at Warung Ida about 15 mins walk up the road - highly recommended.
Oh the pool is awesome!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kiwicossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I booked this place as it was my partners birthday. The location was superb with beautiful panorama views andI quiet set in serene surroundings. When i say quiet we had the whole resort to ourselves! It was magical! The pools are great we were lucky enough to be able to swim in the private villa's pool because we where the only people there. Amazing!

If you are there with your loved one i cannot highly recommend enough you book the lovers package. It was the highlight of our trip great romantic dinner, flowers, cake and the best massage in Bali. We didn't end up leaving this property not once we were very content on doing nothing but swimming, relaxing and watching the sunset. We stayed 3 nights and did not get bored of the scenery.

We stayed in one of the valley view rooms and the outdoor bathroom was just amazing as well as a big stone bath tub filled with rose petals. As for the restaurant breakfasts where big and plentiful lunch and dinner options where good with the seafood being a real standout. We also tried the 'duck buetutu' which was good however we heard our dinner turning into dinner while eating our lunch - at least you can say it was fresh!

All up fantastic stay!

This place does take credit cards.

Room Tip: Sitar room has a big beautiful outdoor shower garden and big enough for 2 stone bathtub, very romant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonniemccarthy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

This was definatly a great place to escape from all big touristic places on the Island. Surya Shanti is a wonderfull and peacefull place to stay. I've stayed in the wooden house, this was a great place in the middle of the rice paddies. Great outside bathroom with a big bath and great terrace with a lounge.
Gade is the most warm and really the best host in this area. He helps and advices you wherever he can and he his so kind.
I also can recommend a massage in the spa, very nice and in also in the middle of the rice paddies.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renske V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We've been two nights at Surya Shanty and Everything was PERFECT! (beautiful view, well decorated villas, welcoming staff, good restaurant...). One minor remark: maybe the breakfast could be slightly improved.
A very good value and a place to be at Sidemen.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soraya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Surya Shanti is definitely a special place to stay and very different from other options in Bali. (The taxi driver who drove us there from the airport, +- 2.5hr drive, said the ,last time he had been asked to take a tourist to the area was 10 years ago.) The hotel is beautfully built with stunning views out over the stepped rice paddy hills. The staff are also very friendly and you do feel like you are staying in a very special place.
We did 2 excellent activities at the hotel both of which I would recommend. The first was the cooking course which is very authentic. They have a special Balinese kitchen with a wood fired stove in the gardens which makes for an amazing location to have the lesson and is a special touch. The second was the guided rice paddy walk which went up to a temple at the top of a nearby hill where we had breakfast. For me this was the highlight. The staff member who took us was really knowledgeable about the plants in the area and we had beautiful views along most of the walk. It was a relatively hard walk though, so i wouldn't do it if you aren't reasonably fit.
Overall as you can probably tell from this review it was a great place to stay, but there were some negatives which I just want to point out so that nobody is disappointed. Firstly the cupboards are extremely full of mould and there are so many mothballs in them that you actually can't put your clothes in the cupboard or they smell like mould/ mothballs. Secondly Sidemen, being in the mountains, seems to get a lot more rain that places along the coast in Bali. Lastly we had a personal experience where we wanted to go on a day trip to Ubud and the hotel wanted us to pay about 2X - 3X what the trip should actually cost. This left a bit of a bad taste since it felt like they were trying to rip us off. If you are there and also want to do this trip to Ubud, then I would recommend not going through the hotel and instead walking up the hill to ask about a driver at the tourist "office" which is near Sidemen village. We got a driver called Ketut to take us for the day and he was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidemen
0.3 mi away
Samanvaya
Samanvaya
#1 of 4 in Sidemen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
11.2 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#12 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
13.3 mi away
Lembongan Beach Club and Resort
Lembongan Beach Club and Resort
#2 of 24 in Nusa Lembongan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
7.8 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surya Shanti Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surya Shanti Villa

Property: Surya Shanti Villa
Address: Br. Tebola | Karangasem, Sidemen 80846, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Sidemen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sidemen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Surya Shanti Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surya Shanti Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Shanti Villa Sidemen, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing