We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not our first visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Samanvaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Samanvaya
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sidemen
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not our first visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Samanvaya attracts a broad clientele from many nationalities compared to the more touristed areas of Bali. Everyone is greeted warmly and everyone we chatted to were very pleased with the resort. Many guests had seemed a little unsure about the isolation, so only booked 2 or 3 days in combination with a stay at one of the larger tourist areas, but regretted not booking for longer! Families with young kids seem to enjoy the peace and quiet as much as older couples. This small resort has excellent facilities for the number of guests - there is always a sun lounger and fresh towel by the pool for the taking. The pool area is terrific. Although Sidemen is quiet, there are plenty of things to do and see nearby, and the resort has a number of reasonably priced tours and activities you can arrange, as well as the expanding spa facilities.
We have stayed here before in the Champak villas, this time we booked one of the cheaper rooms. You will not be disappointed with any of the accommodation. All the villas are good, with a nice modern Balinese feel. We booked this trip before the new Padi accommodation was advertised and having seen it, we might try that next time. We have been to a lot of places in Bali and we are always looking for new accommodation and special deals – and tried two new hotels on this trip, but the standard tariff at Samanvaya is always very good value.
We were greeted like old friends by the staff and quickly felt at home! My wife arrived here feeling very ill with Bali belly. The staff were supportive and understanding – still keen to make our stay as comfortable as possible under the circumstances.
There is a lot of development going on in Sidemen – both at Samanvaya and at neighbouring properties during our stay. Whilst the ‘away from it all’ experience would be better without it, any noise is largely from hand tools, which can become strangely soothing. I expect much of the work we saw close to Samanvaya in June is now completed. There is good and bad with the development – more dining choices and levels of accommodation, but in time, there might be a danger that Sidemen might lose its charm - but it is still idyllic countryside and rice terraces everywhere.
Given the amount of development in Sidemen, we did have a look around for other options ‘for next time’, but Samanvaya still looks hard to beat and the best deal in town for us. The staff and owners seem keen to stay ahead of the game in all aspects of their work.
The menu is little changed from our previous visit. The Indonesian options were excellent on this visit (Gado-gado, nasi goring and a Balinese spiced chicken). Breakfast is more than adequate with good quality Bali coffee.
Great staff and a beautiful property. Good beds and the whole place is kept very clean. Great place to relax……. Love it!

Room Tip: Jepun and Lotus rooms each have balconies overlooking the pool. The Jepun rooms are closest to rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
It was a pleasure to meet you both having been absent during your last visit and we so pleased to hear that you are already planning to come home again to Samanvaya on your next visit to Bali. You are right in saying that Sidemen is developing, but we are sure it will still retain its culture, traditions, the charm of its people and the very beauty that draws us all here in the first place!

Certainly at Samanvaya, we are focused on ensuring any development we plan is in complete ‘harmony’ with the valley by using natural materials like wood, bamboo and alang alang.

‘Samanvaya’ comes from the ancient Sandscrit language and translated has the meaning ‘ Harmony’……

Thank you for being our guests and allowing us to share Samanvaya with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    61
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
39
175
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and felt like never wanting to leave again! There's just such a relaxed and good energy at Samanvaya that you feel comfortable and at home to do what you want. The surrounding is stunning, the rooms are just perfect, clean, very comfie bed, stylish etc. But most of all the people there are just lovely and genuinely interested in you as a guest. They seem to have pleasure in their work and are very sensitive to your needs.
We gave up watching the worldcup (as Brazilians :-)) and it was totally woth it!!
The restaurant is one of the best we have been in Bali, great variety and good preparation. The wine was also excellent!
I would definitely come back here.

Oh! Also: the region is the most beautiful we have seen in Bali, even better than the more known places like Jatiluwih. We went all the way up to the Pura Bhuket and the view is stunning, seeing the little villages and just observing what people are doing is a great experience.

Room Tip: To me it seemed like all rooms were just fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lissbordignon .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We thank you for such a fantastic review, it makes our job so satisfying and worthwhile to know that we have served you well. Safe travels wherever you may go, but we hope you can come back to Bali and Samanvaya again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brussels
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We spent 3 nights at Samanvaya last week with our kids aged 1 and 3. When we arrived we couldn;t believe how beautiful everything was: the view, the pool, the rooms...We stayed at the Champak room 2 (I think we were the neighoburs of the people who wrote the negative review below!), one of the larger rooms so that our family of 4 could be accommodated. The room was large and beautifully decorated, the tropical bathroom was a beauty, and the baby cot provided was very good quality and complete with mosquito net. There was a hard disk with lots of movies and music connected to the television, which our son loved. Outside our room there was a small duck pond that our kids loved watching (if you want a rice fields view, the pool rooms are probably better).
The pool is excellent, and with killer view. The whole area is beautiful, I took a scooter ride but there are several activities offered, all well priced. I didn't know exactly what to expect from Sidemen and what we would do there, but we could have easily stayed longer. I would suggest when you book to ask them to send you a list of their activities so you can already make some plans.
Food was good but a bit expensive. Staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. Although everyone was very busy completing the new building, everyone kept smiling and we never felt like we were not getting enough attention. Regarding the construction noise mentioned by the other reviewers, the staff informed us every day of when they would start and finish working, apologised several times for the inconvenience and checked with us if everything was fine. Actually the noise was very limited and at very civilised times, the kids fell asleep without any problem. I am only mentioning this because I find the other review unfair; other than that, the lumbungs should be completed by now so no more construction issues.
Thanks to everyone at Samanvaya for a wonderful stay, we hope to see you again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manux77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you to you and your family for joining us and also for your glowing review of Samanvaya and our staff. We think they are the best and its great to have that endorsement about them from our guests as well!

We also appreciate your comments about any disturbance from our project. We do try to keep this to a minimum and be sensitive to our guests comfort. As you know, there was noise from the occasional drill and actually, still is, as although the lumbungs are now operational, the yoga building is not yet completed although it is the furthest away from the guest accommodation. To allay any concerns to potential guests, our project is of a bamboo construction, mostly done by hand and where very little machinery is used.

There are always difficult decisions to be made for a hotel as to when to improve or enhance its facilities for guests and we try our best not to inconvenience them. We thank you for your understanding during your stay and would love to welcome you back in the future to enjoy it all!

Safe travels and our best wishes..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Samanvaya for 2 nights and we defnitely loved our stay. We were the first guests at the "black rice" hut that was beautifully furnished (all bamboo!!) with a great view on the fields. Samanvaya is a small and pittoresque place with a very nice and petite cafe/ restaurant (price/ quality is high!). Owners and staff are very friendly, very helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that would like to visit Sidemen.
Joyce and Tieme

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joyce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We were lucky to have welcomed you as our first guests to our new Lumbungs and we are delighted you enjoyed them!

Sidemen is developing as an alternative to the more developed areas of Bali. Our concept was not only to create somewhere special, but it was important to retain the natural surrounds of the rice terraces and offer an authentic experience for our guests. We hope we have achieved that and we thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We were very disappointed with our stay and the owner's response. Our room looked out onto a roof (not rice fields the web site portrays) as well as construction noise, not very relaxing. We were told the noise would stop in 30 minutes but the next day it moved to a different building (so there was still noise) and just as bad was the burning of trash that blew right into our room. All of this construction was the hotels own expansion so it was within their control and they should inform potential guests that this construction is ongoing. When we spoke to the owner about our frustration she wasn't even aware of what was portrayed on her hotels website in terms of room views. She did give us a discount but also said she would give us some complimentary guided services which she did not follow through with. I would not recommend a stay here while construction is still in progress. Be sure to ask about this. We did not use the spa. Pool was nice there was no fitness center. Food (breakfast and dinner) was average at best.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask exactly what view you will see. 10% of our view looked out on the rice fields (only i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Firstly, it does not help when within 20 minutes of arriving, a guest says that if they do not get a massive discount, they will write a bad review on trip advisor, some would call that BLACKMAIL but you insisting on staying!
.
On your arrival (18th May) your refusal to shake hands with our manager and your aggression did not sit well with him as those that come here know the Balinese people are so gentle. I, as one of the owners was asked to speak to you.

You are correct, we should have told you that building work was in process and it was unfortunate that they were still working, but they stopped work within 40 minutes as promised although we do apologize in the first instance as we did at your welcome meeting.

Under the circumstances of the building work, we offered to release you from your reservation, but strangely, you refused and demanded a massive discount so you would not write a bad review on TA. WE DID NOT GIVE YOU A DISCOUNT BECAUSE OF YOUR THREAT, AS I TOLD YOU, WE DO NOT WORK FOR TRIP ADVISOR, BUT WORK TO ENSURE OUR GUESTS ARE COMPLETELY SATISFIED. You were also offered a free trek, which despite your comment, you had, maybe you do not recall, but you were taken to Puri Bukit Temple and through the rice fields by our guide.

To say you did not have a view, we disagreed on. To the side of your terrace of Champak 1, you had a full rice field within 3 metres plus Mount Agung views when clear, to the front you have ponds, a lumbung beyond that and then rice terraces. It is not 180 degrees that is correct, but still terrific and photos are available on TA for those wishing to check out the view –

www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g608495-d3158379-Reviews-Samanvaya-Sidemen_Bali.html#LIGHTBOXVIEW

I do recall asking you if we would be able to please you at all and you said you were satisfied with the outcome of your concessions, clearly we could not please you and it would have been much better for all concerned if you had taken our offer to be released from your reservation and gone somewhere else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Having spent a week in the extreme heat of the Amed coast, our next 6 days (20 - 26 May) were to be spent at Samanvaya on the Sidemen Rice Terraces. When our driver turned inland from the Candidasa coastal road everything became lush, green and amazingly picturesque. After driving through Sidemen village, we arrived at Samanvaya to gentle breezes and a very welcome lemongrass tea and ice cold face towels. Check-in was quick and efficient by their lovely receptionist Dewi, who then showed us to our room, which was spacious and spotlessly clean, with a beautiful 4 poster bed. Our Champak Lodge overlooked their little family of ducks and very picturesque fish ponds. The gardens here at Samanvaya are truly beautiful. The plantings of tropical foliage and flowering plants is the best I have seen anywhere on our travels. Days here were just what we needed. It was so relaxing! Most days my husband and I would try a different spa treatment and Kadek provides some wonderful treatments. Try the coffee scrub!! I even had a pedicure and nail art before leaving. We enjoyed all our meals in the lovely restaurant. They do especially good eggs and bacon at breakfast and I loved the homemade star anise jam served with toast in the mornings. They had a great lunch menu, with my favourite being the coriander beef burger. With some of our evening meals we liked the provencal potatoes. Try the beef rending for something a little spicy and the bread and butter pudding with pouring cream is light and fluffy and melt in the mouth ... yum! Good crepes too. Must give a special mention to the lovely Ami, Made and Dewi who looked after us so well during all our meals. They had a good balance of professionalism and friendliness and were never intrusive. One thing that we really did enjoy here at Samanvaya, which we have not found in other resorts in Bali, was the fact that we could enjoy a lovely glass of wine. We had the Australian sauvignon blanc and the merlot, which were both very good. Australian, but blended in Bali. I know the duty to bring wine into Bali is something like 600%, so it's not always easy to enjoy a good glass, but here we could and we did!! We did some enjoyable activities while here. Recommend the 3 hour scooter trip, fabulous experience. Also provided for some great photo opportunities. Christine, Robert and John are always on hand, but the day-to-day running of this lovely resort is well taken care of by the excellent team here. Gede is their front-of-house person and does an excellent job looking after guests. We would come back in a heartbeat and are still saying that this part of itinerary was the best of our decisions. The Sidemen valley is slowly changing, we are just glad we have seen it now. We had a wonderful and overwhelming send off from our Samanvaya family. Only hope we can make it back one day.

Jacqui & Mr. Mike

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool provide the best views of the countryside. However, they have almost comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuscany08NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Its great when we get to show our staff such reviews, as their pride is evident that they have made their guests so happy to have been here as they care passionately about Samanvaya, as we the owners do. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were at Samanvaya early May for 3 days and enjoyed thoroughly our stay . Christine the owner is such a friendly and full of energy person ! all the staff is very diligent although discreet. They organised a scooter tour for the 4 of us . Even though I don't like to ride motorbikes but this "tour" with the staff of Samanvaya is really worth it . They drive safely and not fast. We visited hidden away sanctuaries and had impressive views on the valley and Mt Agung . We had 2 bungalows which were impeccably clean , good beds . Food was nice and we had a dinner under the stars with the paddies fields in front .
We will definitely come back as we live in Jakarta and warmly recommend this place to all our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Corinnega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
au-fait-with-bali, Owner at Samanvaya, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
After your first visit many months ago for lunch, we were thrilled to have you return to stay at Samanvaya and are pleased that we made your stay so comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for also recommending us to your friends when they were here in Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidemen
0.3 mi away
Surya Shanti Villa
Surya Shanti Villa
#2 of 4 in Sidemen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lembongan Beach Club and Resort
Lembongan Beach Club and Resort
#2 of 24 in Nusa Lembongan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
12.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sawah Indah Villa
Sawah Indah Villa
#1 of 17 in Sidemen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cepik Villa
Cepik Villa
#2 of 17 in Sidemen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samanvaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samanvaya

Property: Samanvaya
Address: Br. Tabola, Sidemen 80846, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Sidemen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sidemen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samanvaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samanvaya, a small and intimate boutique resort, nestles perfectly on the sweeping rice terraces of the Sidemen Valley on the tropical island of Bali.The word Samanvaya comes from the ancient Hindu language of Sanskrit and translated, means ‘Harmony’, a perfect interpretation of the resorts stunning location and ethos.Only one and a half hours from the international airport and half an hour from the coast, Sidemen represents the true Bali that most people still dream about, the Bali of years gone by. Here, a strong cultural identity and religious beliefs are retained and are reflected throughout the traditional Balinese communities of the Sidemen Valley.At Samanvaya, we would like to warmly welcome you as our guest and invite you to just relax and enjoy the comfort and tranquillity of our resort whilst embracing the natural beauty and simplicity of life in the Sidemen Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samanvaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samanvaya Sidemen, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing