We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, nice location, poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Pelangi Sidemen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Pelangi Sidemen
anywhere in the world
Level Contributor
313 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, nice location, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Overall I gave this a "3", but this reflects a "4" for rooms and location, which are very good, but "2" for service which needs to be improved.

This is a relatively new hotel and the villas are nicely designed and decorated. The location and environment is beautiful, but not stunning (for stunning views of the rice paddies, Samanvaya Villas around the corner would be a better choice).

But the hotel has not yet fully got its act together with regards to running the villas. Some examples: no complimentary water in the room (how much would it cost?!) No fridge in the room. I couldnt even find a waste basket in the room. No a/c provided which is at odds with the quality of the villas(though being in the mountains, it's not too hot at night).

The room was large, nicely decorated, with a large terrace with great (but not stunning) views. Quiet location next to terraces growing chillies, papaya, rice and so on. Room wasnt spotlessly clean (they need to train the staff to clean the top of the shower divider for example). Water pressure in the bathroom was somewhat unreliable.

Nice dining area but the food is nothing special and service very slow.

Wifi internet only in the dining area, and poor connection (off and on, mainly off!)

In summary, I think some previous reviews are over-rated. Great views and location, very nice rooms, but service and facilities do not match. They could do with some more highly trained and service oriented staff.

For info, the location on Agoda Maps and indeed Google Maps are both incorrect. In fact, even the directions on the hotel website are not fully correct (it seems they copied directions for nearby Lihat Sawah, which is where the directions will take you!). The correct location is: S 8° 28’ 29” E 115° 26’ 35” (if you put that into a GPS satnav, or into google maps, you can find where the hotel really is!)

Room Tip: Better views from the rooms that are farthest from reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank An0nym0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    10
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

villas and area ok, pool small and not the cleanest, breakfast average, staff speaks no or only a little bit english, we thought it shouldn't b a problem , but it was, owner a very unfriendly man who speaks no English, after a night we moved to a much better accommodation in sidemen for the same expenses

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unterbringung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Villa Pelangi a real gem!
Overlooking the rice fields, the hotel is built at the perfect spot in town. The villas are built in an "airy" style always letting fresh air in, so you can enjoy the quiet atmosphere of Sidemen.
The food is wonderful and the staff is very friendly. Everything is new and spotless. There are plenty of nice walks in the area, so you may easily want to spend more time in this part of the island.
Sidemen in general is developping, so there are lots of options for restaurants and activities around within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hinundweg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nendaz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

The 3 villas are surrounded by small rice paddies, with spectacular views up to Gunung Agun, ( in the morning before the clouds form) and down to the sea on the other side.

After sunrise, the colours are spectacular, and for birdwatchers I spotted a long tailed shrike and a Java pond Heron in 10 minutes before going to breakfast.

The Thai specialities on the menu are very good, backed up by traditional Indonesian cooking.

The waiter was very helpful and gave us a lot of interesting local information.

When we arrived they were building an additional bungalow next door, but when I spoke to the manager, he immediately moved the workers away from the site to continue on another offsite project, so that we would have no disturbance during our stay.

We hired a car and driver from the owners family for a day tour, and he was a very mature and safe driver, which is an important plus factor given the dense road traffic and potholed roads in Bali.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ventcap33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed here for three nights during October 2012 - it was our favourite place when we look back on our three week stay. The room was perfect, it was very peaceful. We were the only ones staying at the hotel so we felt a bit spoilt by the host and cook and other staff. The food was excellent and the best breakfast we had as well... Would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Sideman.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eveline73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

I concur wholeheartedly with other reviewers & also need to shout out about this fantastic retreat tucked away in the gentle hills of east Bali about 1.5hrs easy from Sanur. We went to a local traditional market @ 5.30am to get exotic fruits & sweets. Very special. Everything was perfect. Total luxury & oozing essence of tranquility & serenity. I had a courtyard bathroom under the skies & a canopy king bed. Glorious.
This is the true Bali without the crass tourists.
It will be a return trip for me !

Room Tip: I was a single travelling with a couple so one villa each. Mine had the outdoor bathroom. You'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lorrainne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Villa Pelangi is a jewel in the Sidemen hills. The complex opened in July 2012 and is owned by a Balinese. It consists of three villas set in a beautiful garden with a glorious swimming pool. (Two more villas are planned to be finished by December 2012). Although not situated overlooking the rice terraces, the surrounding scenery is beautiful, and the serenity of the market garden and rural setting more than compensates.

Unfortunately, we could only spend one night but were extremely impressed with the location, service and friendliness of the staff and quality of meals. The staff are happy to meet your every need, and the manager invited us to his home to meet his family so we could see a typical Balinese house,

Our stay was too short, but we promised to return next year to re-experience the Bali of a time gone by and sadly lost to tourism within the realm of sheer luxury. Definitely one for the itinerary.

Room Tip: Some villas are the same. You can choose either a fully enclosed villa or a more traditonal villa w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wearytraveller148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sidemen
0.0 mi away
Samanvaya
Samanvaya
#1 of 4 in Sidemen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sawah Indah Villa
Sawah Indah Villa
#1 of 17 in Sidemen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.0 mi away
Giri Carik
Giri Carik
#3 of 17 in Sidemen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arta Nadi Villa
Arta Nadi Villa
#9 of 17 in Sidemen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Idanna Sidemen
Villa Idanna Sidemen
#12 of 21 in Sidemen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Munduk Moding Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Pelangi Sidemen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Pelangi Sidemen

Property: Villa Pelangi Sidemen
Address: Br. Tabola, Sideman - Karangasem, Sidemen 80864, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Sidemen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Sidemen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small secluded hideaway in the hills of east Bali. Just three villa rooms over-looking the Sideman Valley. The views are all of the way to the coast of east Bali. No traffic, No Noise, just the peaceful surrounding rice fields of Sideman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Pelangi Sidemen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Pelangi Sidemen Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing