We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was beautiful and peaceful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bali Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“It was beautiful and peaceful!”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed here for three nights and it was the complete opposite of the more crowded and bustling Kuta. The buildings are beautiful and the surrounding plant life is rich and soothing. We did a long bike ride to the beach which was very fun and the next day we did a 6 hour trek where we saw much of the local village culture and the unbelievable rice paddies.

The owner Richard and the incredible staff are friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a Bali paradise!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliafromnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    50
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
134
54
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I stayed 3 nights in the rice house, which was very special. The rice house is not very luxury, nor comfortable, but very special and cheap. I can't describe it. You have to go yourself to experience it. The lodge is very clean and in a remote area.
We were very fortunate to be here on a public holiday and Richard took his guests, together with most of his staff to an important temple to experience a holy ceremony. We even got dressed up by the staff before we left. All very exceptional and it makes you forget the long trip to get there.
It's a beautiful area for hiking or just hang around in one of the great seatings in the lodge. I really recommend this place if you are looking for a quiet place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Excellent place if you need to have a good rest!!
We stayed 3 nights in the Teak house room which was furnished with very good taste. The shower and toilets were outside, with warm water, all very clean.
We just had bad luck with the weather but we managed to do some daily trips to the jungle, coffee fields and temples.
Richard and his staff were very caring, the atmosphere very peaceful, and the food-local- was excellent. I also had a great massage-the best I ever had!
The only downside was the location. It is far from everything, and it is not possible to rent scooters to explore the area. Thus if you decide to come over, take a rental car!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsetgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The Bali mountain retreat is hard to find and we did get a little lost finding it. In saying that it is one of the features, it is so remote and tranquille. It is a place to find yourself, meditate or simply enjoy the piece and quiete. The food was traditional but good the owners make you feel at home and the local staff will do what they can to help. Fantastic massages and so cheap. I look forward to our next visit with Richard and his lovely wife.

Room Tip: Ask nfor a room with a bathroom, unless you want the tree house experience.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanne021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Bali Mountain Retreat is utterly magical: there is none of the "make money quickly from tourists" approach that has spoiled much of Bali. Instead there is a clear dedication to doing absolutely everything as well as possible. If you value quality, this may be the place you've been looking for.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uhclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whidbey Island
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Our room was private on lovely grounds, but had no view. Richard was welcoming, but the food was a big disappointment to us, and to the other couple with whom we connected during our stay. We chose BMR, instead of the Sarinbuana Eco Lodge next door to save money, but there is really no comparison and next time we would chose SEL. The food at Sarinbuana was fabulous (we'll never forget the snake fruit crumble) and it is much more consciously designed and smoke-free. We had hoped to catch a musical evening at BMR, as mentioned in Frommer's, but it didn't happen. The road to both places is in poor shape, which added an hour round-trip to any daily excursions, but we still used it as a base to travel to Munduk, Lake Bratan, and various temples. We highly recommend our gracious driver, Ketut Sudana at balitransport@aol.com. He is delightful and a wonderful way to experience the best of Bali!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judythr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Hosts Richard and Rani added the perfect touch to the perfect Mountain Retreat get away!
Stunning location, peacefull, tranquil, excellent selection of food & wine and views to die for!
I cannot reccomend this location highly enough...

Cheers,

Kate Lara & Antonio Villano
Adelaide, South Australia

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vogue08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
12.9 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#2 of 14 in Tabanan
675 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
#1 of 55 in Tabanan
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alassari Plantation
Alassari Plantation
#1 of 5 in Selemadeg
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort
5.1 mi away
Bali Lush
Bali Lush
#2 of 55 in Tabanan
84 reviews
9.0 mi away
Puri Lumbung Cottages
Puri Lumbung Cottages
#2 of 22 in Munduk
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mountain Retreat

Property: Bali Mountain Retreat
Address: Br Biyahan | Desa Wanagiri, Tabanan 82113, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bali Mountain Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Mountain Retreat is nestled high on the eastern slopes of Mt Batukaru in traditional Bali. An amazing outlook to the coast, a natural setting amongst the food forest and drinking water direct from a spring on the mountain. In one direction you can trek in the last true national park in Bali and in the other stroll through the sculptured rice fields. With comfortable accommodation and delicious meals in a truly traditional setting, Bali Mountain retreat is a unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bali Mountain Retreat Hotel Tabanan
Bali Mountain Retreat Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing