We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bali Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Great way to pass the Christmas days and spend our last days in Bali. The Bali Mountain Retreat is a true retreat located high in the mountains of Bali. With delicious food and great staff a marvelous place to stay and get away of the busy tourist sites.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichielSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2012

We spent a very happy 5 days here, staying in the Lotus House. The location is amazing, surrounded by dense forest hiding innumerable small villages, and being at altitude kept it cool enough to walk through the tracks and rice paddies. The half day trips guided by local farmers were fascinating, particularly one to the local Temple for a Hindu ceremony, and we also hired a car and driver for a day for a look around the island. The facilities were clean and spacious, the bed comfortable, and the view of the sunrise over Ganung Agung from the raised gazebo was stunning. Finally everyone was very friendly (and so were the four cats! ) and the staff efficient and helpful, even to extent of providing hot Sambals ( chile ) to satisfy our preference for hot spicy food. Getting away from the tourists traps comes at a cost, though, and the trip from the airport took nearly four hours, and the last half an hour was fairly challenging - but the driver arranged by the Retreat took it all in his stride, and we arrived without any drama. All in all, a great way to unwind.

Room Tip: The Lotus House has a lovely view, and is good if you value peace and solitude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miraym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Lovely staff. Very comfortable rooms a mixture of traditional style with modern comfort. Great food, tours, hikes and overall atmosphere. Wish we stayed more than 2 nights. Don't go for excitement, be prepared to hike, cook and relax in the many casual areas of the compound.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We spent 3 nights here and loved it. The staff are friendly and polite and really go out of their way to ensure you get the best out of your stay. The massage was memorable. The accommodation is spotless and comfortable, and the food is very good. The gardens are well maintained and lovely to walk around, there are plenty of comfortable nooks and crannies for a quiet read or contemplate. Richard Kaal runs a happy ship and is very entertaining company. His love of Bali, the people and the music is very evident. Cycling downhill to the hot springs and seeing the local life was our highlight.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shipslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Whether you are a backpacker or a 5 star hotel devotee, everyone needs to give themselves some chill out time every now and then and this is the perfect place to do it. The grounds are amazing, the rooms simple, but classy in their simplicity and the fresh wholesome food is delicious. You order in the morning, so the ingredients for your lunch and evening meal are sourced that day - it doesn't get much fresher that this!
I stayed for 4 days and found there to be plenty of variety and tried different meals each time. I only ate Indonesian but there were many choices for Western food also. There was a lovely little massage hut and I had an awesome massage one day - "just a soft one please!". There were many areas in the grounds to sit around and read, or just enjoy the vista.
There are walks, tours and workshops you can do, if you so desire and a good place to explore for kids. There are some steps and ponds, but if you watch younger children they would be fine. (same as anywhere really)
Richard is a very welcoming host and nothing was too much trouble. The staff were sweet and unobtrusively went about their business keeping everything ship shape. There are 3 new rooms under construction, ready next year - one an interconnecting room that will suit a family.
From my initial emails to the airport pickup and my whole stay - efficiency was the practice.
I recommend to use the BMR driver, as they are used to the drive and will not grizzle about the bumpy road. And yes the road is bumpy, but no worse than a corrugated West Australian road up north. It is seriously not an issue.
I found the rates to be really reasonable, even as a solo traveller.
So, do yourself a favour, grab a book and head for the mountains!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeLou64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

By far my favourite experience of being in Bali. Thick luscious rainforest, great friendly staff and not packed with drunken tourists. The food is fantastic. After a couple of days up this mountain you will feel completely renewed!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

BMR is located up in the mountains and offers a cool, refreshing spot to hang out. The rooms are comfortable and the evenings peaceful with no TV. The food is ok and being isolated the only option for eating is at BMR itself. I did find as a vegetarian that the menu was a little limited but meat eaters should do okay! I was a little discouraged that we had to choose our evening dinner at the beginning of the day & the staff seemed put out when we didn't want to order lunch.
These are minor things though.
The 2 hr stone massage is a must and the massage hut is a very nice place to hang out.
The journey from the airport to BMR took a long time, so I would recommend staying for more than one night.

Room Tip: I think that our room was a delux room which meant that we had an on suite shower and loo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balimountainretreat, General Manager at Bali Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Thanks very much for your review. We are working on new items on the menu list right now and try to offer local, fresh ,produce on any given day. Depending on what you would like to eat for lunch and dinner, the chefs go shopping for fresh ingredients as we are very isolated in the mountains. As everywhere in Bali you can sometimes be misunderstood by the staff as their English is not perfect but we do try to make sure our staff are friendly and helpful at all times. If there is a next time, try to stay longer than one night and you will experience the magic of the mountain and the retreat…..
Rani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
12.9 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#1 of 14 in Tabanan
726 reviews
21.7 mi away
Floating Leaf Eco-Luxury Retreat
2.2 mi away
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Umasari Rice Terrace Villa
0 mi away
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
#3 of 59 in Tabanan
311 reviews
14.2 mi away
Om Ham Retreat and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mountain Retreat

Address: Br Biyahan | Desa Wanagiri, Tabanan 82113, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range: £18 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bali Mountain Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Mountain Retreat is nestled high on the eastern slopes of Mt Batukaru in traditional Bali. An amazing outlook to the coast, a natural setting amongst the food forest and drinking water direct from a spring on the mountain. In one direction you can trek in the last true national park in Bali and in the other stroll through the sculptured rice fields. With comfortable accommodation and delicious meals in a truly traditional setting, Bali Mountain retreat is a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bali Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Mountain Retreat Hotel Tabanan
Bali Mountain Retreat Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing