We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real retreat in Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bali Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real retreat in Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

BMR is a well hidden pearl in the central mountains near Mt. Batukaru it is one of the most beautiful places I ever been.
In the resort all services are spot on and although it is a bit on the costly site for a budget traveller like myself it is worth every penny...
Just go there and be amazed take some time off relax - treat yourself with the Bali Mountain Retreat you want regret it!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    49
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
131
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

This is a lovely, wonderful, peaceful place to stay. Nestled in the mountains above the chaos of South Bali, this is a peaceful retreat with incredibly hospitable staff and a wonderful menu.
Cool and away from the heat, quiet and removed from the noise, there's no traffic, but good wifi, no crowds but wonderful staff and a great host.
The restaurant has excellent vegetarian selections and the staff are very helpful. They'll arrange rides, day-trips, laundry, and transport anywhere on the island.
Beautiful rooms with a lot of character, adorable cats, and even a great mini-spa.
After a few days in Seminyak, I am so very happy we came up here to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaudhryFancypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

We spent two nights here, and absolutely loved it. It is completely peaceful and quiet, and a true retreat. We would love to return for longer next time.

We stayed in the rice barn, which was fine for the first night, but the second night felt a little bit cramped. It's still a unique experience though, and I would definitely recommend it for short stays. The shared bathroom which comes with the rice barn is in excellent condition, and very very well maintained.

There are several beautiful common areas to relax in. Our favourite was the tall building with the lookout point, called the bird's nest (?). We spent many hours there with a good book. They also own a few lovely cats, some of whom curled up to us while we read.

The food is absolutely beautiful, with a lot of it from their own garden. Doesn't get fresher than that!

We also went on a hike to the local temple. This was the highlight of our trip. Putri and Ferdi were excellent guides. Although we are not big on temples, we enjoyed the visit, particularly the serene atmosphere.

We had massages, and according to my husband, it was the best one he received in bali.

Their wifi works remarkably well for such a remote region. Much better than in some places in seminyak and ubud.

Tip: get picked up and dropped off by their driver. The rates sounded a bit high to us, but they are really in such a remote area that I can't imagine it would be easy for someone not familiar with the region to find it. It was worth the price to not have to spend hours in a car trying to find it.

Room Tip: The rice barn is fantastic value, and a unique option for short stays. For longer stays, go with a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotonou, Benin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

Great way to pass the Christmas days and spend our last days in Bali. The Bali Mountain Retreat is a true retreat located high in the mountains of Bali. With delicious food and great staff a marvelous place to stay and get away of the busy tourist sites.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichielSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

We spent a very happy 5 days here, staying in the Lotus House. The location is amazing, surrounded by dense forest hiding innumerable small villages, and being at altitude kept it cool enough to walk through the tracks and rice paddies. The half day trips guided by local farmers were fascinating, particularly one to the local Temple for a Hindu ceremony, and we also hired a car and driver for a day for a look around the island. The facilities were clean and spacious, the bed comfortable, and the view of the sunrise over Ganung Agung from the raised gazebo was stunning. Finally everyone was very friendly (and so were the four cats! ) and the staff efficient and helpful, even to extent of providing hot Sambals ( chile ) to satisfy our preference for hot spicy food. Getting away from the tourists traps comes at a cost, though, and the trip from the airport took nearly four hours, and the last half an hour was fairly challenging - but the driver arranged by the Retreat took it all in his stride, and we arrived without any drama. All in all, a great way to unwind.

Room Tip: The Lotus House has a lovely view, and is good if you value peace and solitude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miraym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Lovely staff. Very comfortable rooms a mixture of traditional style with modern comfort. Great food, tours, hikes and overall atmosphere. Wish we stayed more than 2 nights. Don't go for excitement, be prepared to hike, cook and relax in the many casual areas of the compound.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

We spent 3 nights here and loved it. The staff are friendly and polite and really go out of their way to ensure you get the best out of your stay. The massage was memorable. The accommodation is spotless and comfortable, and the food is very good. The gardens are well maintained and lovely to walk around, there are plenty of comfortable nooks and crannies for a quiet read or contemplate. Richard Kaal runs a happy ship and is very entertaining company. His love of Bali, the people and the music is very evident. Cycling downhill to the hot springs and seeing the local life was our highlight.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shipslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
15.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
#1 of 53 in Tabanan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.1 mi away
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
#4 of 53 in Tabanan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
8.9 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 26 in Munduk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bali Lush
Bali Lush
#3 of 53 in Tabanan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mountain Retreat

Property: Bali Mountain Retreat
Address: Br Biyahan | Desa Wanagiri, Tabanan 82113, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bali Mountain Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Mountain Retreat is nestled high on the eastern slopes of Mt Batukaru in traditional Bali. An amazing outlook to the coast, a natural setting amongst the food forest and drinking water direct from a spring on the mountain. In one direction you can trek in the last true national park in Bali and in the other stroll through the sculptured rice fields. With comfortable accommodation and delicious meals in a truly traditional setting, Bali Mountain retreat is a unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bali Mountain Retreat Hotel Tabanan
Bali Mountain Retreat Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing