We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even the rainy season cannot spoil your stay in BMR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bali Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
131 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Even the rainy season cannot spoil your stay in BMR”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Follow the advise of BMR and let you pick you up to come to the Retreat. A driver who hasn’t been here before will get lost so nerves will avoid you to enjoy the splendid views on the road to BMR. The rooms, location, views are like promised on the website, the food in the restaurant is excellent and so is the breakfast.
We did some walks on our own, our host Richard Kaal, owner of BMR explained the road.
After Ubud and Lovina, it is nice to rediscover the other Bali we learned to know 25 years ago

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbb05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    49
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
131
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Bali Mountain Retreat was a bit more remote than I'd realized, but it's a perfect "retreat" from the busy-ness of Bali, and nice and cool in the evenings. The owner is very hospitable and warm and gives the place a warm feel. The rooms are clean and a cross between Balinese tradition and modern comfort. There are plenty of vegetarian options on the menu, which was unexpected. This place would be excellent for a meditation or yoga retreat.

Room Tip: The bungalows offer more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnbourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmain, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Coming from the madness of the popular Bali tourist beaches a trip into the tranquility of the Bali Mountain retreat was one of the best decisions i made travelling.The resort is one of pure peace and harmony where soul searching and realigning came naturally. Personal space was a plenty and when I felt Hungry or in need of company all my needs were there with big Bali Smiles that left me feeling like part of the Mountain Family. Richard, Rani and all the staff were perfect hosts and after 5 days at the Retreat i was completely refreshed from Mountain walks full of melodic singing birds, temple discoveries, perfect food, and great company all leaving me with a new mojo and creative drive which was what I needed and got in abundance. Get there ! its a must in this world to be able to disconnect and embrace nature and yourself. You will come out a different person. Its a true natural high !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidf911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Richard and Rani and their professional staff offer the perfect combination of peacefulness, beauty and interest to make a stay here truly memorable. The lush gardens surrounding the buildings in this quiet and thoughtfully designed complex attract butterflies and birds, frogs and roosters. The meals created by the talented and sweet Putri are delicious and the overall tranquillity encouraged us to sleep, eat, read, sleep, eat and read all day ! We did do the bike ride through the jungle tracks and villages to the hot springs which was fun too A highly recommended slice of idyllic paradise.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 63Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

BMR is a well hidden pearl in the central mountains near Mt. Batukaru it is one of the most beautiful places I ever been.
In the resort all services are spot on and although it is a bit on the costly site for a budget traveller like myself it is worth every penny...
Just go there and be amazed take some time off relax - treat yourself with the Bali Mountain Retreat you want regret it!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

This is a lovely, wonderful, peaceful place to stay. Nestled in the mountains above the chaos of South Bali, this is a peaceful retreat with incredibly hospitable staff and a wonderful menu.
Cool and away from the heat, quiet and removed from the noise, there's no traffic, but good wifi, no crowds but wonderful staff and a great host.
The restaurant has excellent vegetarian selections and the staff are very helpful. They'll arrange rides, day-trips, laundry, and transport anywhere on the island.
Beautiful rooms with a lot of character, adorable cats, and even a great mini-spa.
After a few days in Seminyak, I am so very happy we came up here to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaudhryFancypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

We spent two nights here, and absolutely loved it. It is completely peaceful and quiet, and a true retreat. We would love to return for longer next time.

We stayed in the rice barn, which was fine for the first night, but the second night felt a little bit cramped. It's still a unique experience though, and I would definitely recommend it for short stays. The shared bathroom which comes with the rice barn is in excellent condition, and very very well maintained.

There are several beautiful common areas to relax in. Our favourite was the tall building with the lookout point, called the bird's nest (?). We spent many hours there with a good book. They also own a few lovely cats, some of whom curled up to us while we read.

The food is absolutely beautiful, with a lot of it from their own garden. Doesn't get fresher than that!

We also went on a hike to the local temple. This was the highlight of our trip. Putri and Ferdi were excellent guides. Although we are not big on temples, we enjoyed the visit, particularly the serene atmosphere.

We had massages, and according to my husband, it was the best one he received in bali.

Their wifi works remarkably well for such a remote region. Much better than in some places in seminyak and ubud.

Tip: get picked up and dropped off by their driver. The rates sounded a bit high to us, but they are really in such a remote area that I can't imagine it would be easy for someone not familiar with the region to find it. It was worth the price to not have to spend hours in a car trying to find it.

Room Tip: The rice barn is fantastic value, and a unique option for short stays. For longer stays, go with a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
15.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
#1 of 53 in Tabanan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.1 mi away
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
#4 of 53 in Tabanan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
8.9 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 26 in Munduk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bali Lush
Bali Lush
#3 of 53 in Tabanan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mountain Retreat

Property: Bali Mountain Retreat
Address: Br Biyahan | Desa Wanagiri, Tabanan 82113, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bali Mountain Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Mountain Retreat is nestled high on the eastern slopes of Mt Batukaru in traditional Bali. An amazing outlook to the coast, a natural setting amongst the food forest and drinking water direct from a spring on the mountain. In one direction you can trek in the last true national park in Bali and in the other stroll through the sculptured rice fields. With comfortable accommodation and delicious meals in a truly traditional setting, Bali Mountain retreat is a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bali Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Mountain Retreat Hotel Tabanan
Bali Mountain Retreat Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing