We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bali Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Would recommend this place”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is an amazing place to stay! Like everyone else says, the staff is super friendly. The place is very relaxing and it is great to get away from the hectic touristy spots. We did a cooking class, which I would highly recommend.

Sitting up in the 'Bird's Nest' with a cup of tea and a book, enjoying the view and the sound of birds is the way every holiday should be!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussieminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    50
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
134
54
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Richard's great retreat center was one of the few places we could find which would make a reservation for us during Nyepi, the Balinese New Year. It coulnd't have been better. The Nyepi parade began at the foot of the driveway. With Richard's sarongs we were suitably dressed to follow the parade to the village for the burning of the ochre-ochres. Tea under the rice drier of one of Richard's friends capped the evening. The remainder of the week was one memory after another unfolding effortlessly as Richard and his staff took care of our every need. Overall, a lovely place to get away in the mountains of Bali.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluegrass49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Wow! What an amazing place to say. I echo all the great feedback that other reviewers have written. This place is amazing. Just what I needed to chill out and relax. The staff are super nice. I came here with a reiki retreat group, and I cannot imagine a more suitable place for meditation. Richard had also organised cultural activities for us - cooking lessons, hike to the local temple, medical/nature walk, dance performances. I stayed in one of the ensuite rooms with a king size bed and a day bed overlooking the beautiful gardens. It was clean, cool, and roomy. The food was AMAZING. Massage is a must. And that clothes shop that Richard's wife runs... I couldn't stop buying the lovely locally made clothes. To top it off, they have 4 friendly cats that chill out around the property. Look for the big cat in the temple hut.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceFromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coopersburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Bali Mountain Retreat is a special place in every way - the setting, the views and the people.
The owner Richard and his staff were wonderful and helpful.
Breakfast, lunch and dinner were amazing and always prepared fresh.
This was the best retreat I ever had and would go back any time!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabicoopersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Beautiful and breathtaking location. It was the perfect place for meditation and connecting with everyone. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The sheets were changed daily and the rooms cleaned daily.
I look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilonas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Richard and staff looked after us very well, organising pickups from the airport and hotels all over Southern Bali, serving great food, and organising walks and cultural activities. Everything was taken care of and we relaxed into the peaceful and beautiful surroundings for our Reiki retreat. The meditation / yoga teaching space was spectacular with views to the mountain countryside around us. The staff were polite and friendly, and did an excellent job of understanding and executing our sometimes confusing meal orders. This is a great place for a group retreat, but also for a holiday away from the bustle of Kuta and popular resort areas.

Room Tip: Every room is different, but the Bale Gede is special and a great space to meditate and sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zazender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Truly a special place and the food is so amazing. There are so many great cultural/local experiences there and nearby, and the people who work there are so caring and thoughtful. Best value and the meditation/yoga space is very special. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
12.9 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#2 of 14 in Tabanan
675 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
#1 of 55 in Tabanan
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alassari Plantation
Alassari Plantation
#1 of 5 in Selemadeg
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort
5.1 mi away
Bali Lush
Bali Lush
#2 of 55 in Tabanan
84 reviews
9.0 mi away
Puri Lumbung Cottages
Puri Lumbung Cottages
#2 of 22 in Munduk
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mountain Retreat

Property: Bali Mountain Retreat
Address: Br Biyahan | Desa Wanagiri, Tabanan 82113, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bali Mountain Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Mountain Retreat is nestled high on the eastern slopes of Mt Batukaru in traditional Bali. An amazing outlook to the coast, a natural setting amongst the food forest and drinking water direct from a spring on the mountain. In one direction you can trek in the last true national park in Bali and in the other stroll through the sculptured rice fields. With comfortable accommodation and delicious meals in a truly traditional setting, Bali Mountain retreat is a unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bali Mountain Retreat Hotel Tabanan
Bali Mountain Retreat Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing