We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic weekend getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bali Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A romantic weekend getaway!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I bought the couples weekender package which included all meals, transportation, accommodation, a hike and massages. The lotus room was fantastic with its own secluded veranda with a breathtaking view. We enjoyed drinking wine in the veranda and watching the lush nature sounding the resort. I would recommend the hot stone massage at the in-house spa. A blissful 2 hours under the expert hands of the best masseuse in Bali! The food and service was awesome and top notch!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MLS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    49
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
131
54
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

As soon as i placed my bare feet on the beautiful landscape tucked away on Mt Batukaru i was instantly at peace. Spending 10 nights alone in this magical retreat enlightened my spirit, filled my mind with peace and invited one of the most inspirational humans into my heart. Nourished by the delicious fresh organic delights from the garden, the sounds of nature and words of wisdom i left this humble place filled with gratitude. Blessings to all and see you very soon. xx

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieJuneEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed at Bali Mountain retreat for 2 weeks and had an amazing time. Richard and his staff were very friendly, helpful and were a joy to be around. They really made my stay so warm and made me feel at home. It was great to have a jam with Richard also who is a great musician.

My room was beautiful, spacious and cool. This is a great spot to escape the humidity and enjoy a much cooler climate.

The food was outstanding. Everything was so fresh, tasty and beautifully presented.

This really is a hidden gem up in the mountains surrounded by lush gardens, great facilities, great people and fab food.

Thank you Bali Mountain Retreat for making my stay a memorable and pleasant one!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had one of the best experiences in Bali while being there. Richard, the owner, is a very friendly host and he will make a good effort to make you feel at home. Food is amazing, more expensive than Bali standards though still OK, and staff incredibly friendly. You should try Balinese massage there and also enjoy the tours around the village. Room service is really good and if you like yoga or dancing they have a nice studio upstairs. You can also read a book or watch the sun rising behind the volcano from the high balcony. We loved it!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laksa80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gliwice, Poland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

A little bit hard to find,you should have a good driver from this hotel because the road leads across the jungle.Hotel is very nice,has beautiful garden with lots of exotic plants.
Delicious breakfasts and dinners.Exellent cooking class,we took part in it and tougt how to cook Nasi Campur.We love it!
Feels like real jungle!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magdalena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent two nights at the BMR during our trip around Java and Bali. We wanted to avoid the most touristic locations and be in the mountains for some days. We found the BMR due to the treks they organise; we were recommended to do a trekking to the summit of the Batukaru instead of the Angung and I can tell you, it's very, very good! A nice trek through thick jungle with a very pleasant guide. We ended up on the summit in the middle of a local ceremony, which was fantastic. On the way down, we entered the clouds which were a welcome cooling down after the sunny summit.

Besides the great activities offered, the food is very good and we also took a massage; I can only say, do take a massage when you are there, it is amazingly good. The rooms are really nice (we had a standard room, without a bathroom, but the shared bathrooms are of great quality and very closeby). Richard, who runs the resort, is a really friendly man and is really doing his best to let everybody enjoy their stay. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim-t-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I spent 5 days in this resort..Richard, who runs this resort, is a friend first, musician next and a businessman last :)

Richard ensures the guests are comfortable and have a good time in this resort. Thanks for the hospitality, mate!

If your idea of an evening dinner is to have a chilled beer and some great fresh salad or Balinese style dishes, with Richard re-counting his life experiences and there is silence all around, the weather chill...ah! Heaven!

Highly recommended if you want to be away from the touristy spots, be prepared to encounter some rough roads and some unfamiliar territory but is safe, thanks to Richards trusted aides..

Go Bali, Go to the Bali Mountain retreat. If you are lucky, you may end up getting free CDs and sarongs if Richard is in a generous mood! And he is usually in a good mood!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaghavMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
12.9 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#1 of 14 in Tabanan
655 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,076 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
#1 of 53 in Tabanan
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
#4 of 53 in Tabanan
294 reviews
2.1 mi away
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort
0.2 mi away
Alassari Plantation
Alassari Plantation
#1 of 5 in Selemadeg
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mountain Retreat

Property: Bali Mountain Retreat
Address: Br Biyahan | Desa Wanagiri, Tabanan 82113, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bali Mountain Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Mountain Retreat is nestled high on the eastern slopes of Mt Batukaru in traditional Bali. An amazing outlook to the coast, a natural setting amongst the food forest and drinking water direct from a spring on the mountain. In one direction you can trek in the last true national park in Bali and in the other stroll through the sculptured rice fields. With comfortable accommodation and delicious meals in a truly traditional setting, Bali Mountain retreat is a unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bali Mountain Retreat Hotel Tabanan
Bali Mountain Retreat Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing