We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable rooms, excellent staff, reasonable rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bali Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Clinton, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable rooms, excellent staff, reasonable rates”
Reviewed 15 August 2010

The food here was consistently wonderful, and the day trips to the coast by bike, and the rice paddies and Sarinbuana Village, lead by Putu, were fun and interesting.

One (minor) complaint: the Aussie owner, Richard, has had a career as a folk singer, and in the dining area his CD's are in play at all times, it seems. Eco-lodge patrons come partly to experience the sights and sounds of nature! -- so give us a break from the constant CDs -- and adding a good gamelan recording to the mix would be welcome.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    49
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
131
54
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed four nights at Bali Mountain Retreat, which we were surprised to learn is literally next door to Sarinbuana Eco-Lodge. The first three nights we stayed in their most expensive room -- the Lotus House -- but in the Teak House for the final night (since it had already been booked when we booked). The Lotus House is more in the rainforest and the sheets felt wet at night from the humidity, although the air was cool. The Lotus House has a mini-bar but not the Teak House (although the Teak House had a few advantages). The Lotus House was more private since off to itself, while the Teak House includes several rooms.

The hotel has people on staff who may be hired for trekking. We did a mountain to sea cycling trip and a village/rice paddy walk (which was slippery since much rain had fallen). Both treks were great and our guide Putu was wonderful. One day we set off on our own and hiked through the lush rainforest up Mt. Batukaru, at least as far as the temple. The menu is limited but the food was as good as any we ate in Bali. One night we ate next door at Sarinbuana -- their food was comparable but a bit more expensive.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sojourn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark, Copenhagen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Hidden away on the mountain slope this relaxing spot in a very beautiful garden is very unique on Bali away from the tourists. The rooms are very stylish with everything made from teak wood and with 2 kids it was very nice with option of extra 2 seperate beds in the room. Great places to hang out and relax which was all we where doing while we stayd there. Richard (the Australian owner) was very helpful and present and did also arrange our transfer. Award yourself while on Bali to stay here to enjoy something very special compared to more wellknown places on Bali.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyTravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2010

What an amazing place Richard has created on the slopes of Mt Batukora. We stayed four nights in this special place. Highly recommend BMR, a truely spiritual place to visit.... thank you Richard and your lovely helpers.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

I stayed at BMR for four nights. I had originally booked for eleven but as a solo traveller I realised quite soon after arrival that this was going to be far too long as the retreat is very isolated (the bad weather at the time also played a big part in me leaving early). However, that aside, the retreat is a beautiful place to stay and the owner Richard is extremely helpful and welcoming. He upgraded me on arrival as he had a spare room (I was originally booked for a rice house) and I could see throughout my stay that he looks after his guests exceptionally well. The restaurant food is outstanding in terms of value, quality and presentation and eating there was an absolute pleasure. The staff are incredibly friendly, polite and helpful and look after you very well without being overbearing. The only things that were slightly annoying was the shared outside bathroom/toilet was a bit of a pain to go to in the middle of the night and the soundproofing between rooms isn't great. There is a great yoga/dance studio though and I was able to practice yoga there each day. If you're a solo traveller then one or two nights here would be plenty but if you're a couple then a longer stay would be fine. There are walks and excursions available and massage treatments (I recommend the reflexology, head, neck and shoulder massage). All in all a really great place to stay with beautiful furnishings and an amazing team. If you want to get away from it all for a bit then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlyLondon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We had such a great stay at Bali Mountain Retreat and it was one of the highlights of our 3 week trip (we went to Seminyak, Ubud and Gili Trawangan as well). We had originally planned to stay 2 nights, but very shortly after we arrived and saw the beautiful property, all the activities and the friendliness of Richard and the rest of the staff, we quickly decided to stay 3 nights and were very happy that we made that choice.

It is a very different experience from other parts of Bali and we felt that we were seeing a part of Bali that is generally untouched by tourism.

We did two hikes with Putu, who did an excellent job, including going out in the pouring rain so that we could see the rice paddies. His knowledge of the plants and animals was very impressive and we enjoyed trying all the delicious fruit that he found for us on the trip. We did the rainforest/temple trek and the rick paddies trek. Both were two of our favorite experiences and the rice paddies were incredible. It was muddy and rainy but coming back after seeing the rice paddies (and a hot shower) made it so worth it.

The food was delicious and served by an incredibly friendly staff. We ate so much good food and we still talk about our meals. I had 2 massages (one Balinese and 1 hot stone) and both were wonderful. I wish that I had a third before we left.

Richard did an amazing job designing the property and the amount of detail in the architecture and landscaping were incredible. There are several stand alone buildings that have comfortable lounging areas with great views. It was such a relaxing place to come back to after the treks. We also really enjoying meeting Richard and hanging out with him and hearing his music (thanks for the CDs Richard). Since it is a rural area, you do hear the roosters that start around 5am and go most of the day, but if you have ear plugs its pretty easy to ignore. The rooms are simply designed but with beautiful 200 year old teak that Richard brought from Java. However, when we were there, it was rainy for most of 1 day so it is not the beach experience you will get in Seminyak.

Three pieces of advice (1) definitely use the driver offered by Richard. We are independent travelers and generally have our own car when we travel, but trying to find the BMR would have been very challenging. (2) bring a rain jacket and clothes you don’t mind getting dirty if you will do a trek. Richard does provide ponchos for the trek, but I was glad to also have a rain jacket and pants that I could get (very) muddy; and (3) plan on staying at least 3 nights to really experience all that BMR has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandaksf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

I would highly recommend Bali Mountain Retreat, especially for nature lovers, those who are interested in seeing more of bali than the touristy areas and those who are keen to do some hiking.
I found the accommodation to be lovely. Richard (owner) very kindly upgraded us from the rice huts to the budget teak house rooms (share bathroom) at a very reasonable rate due to the recent heavy rain falls (he thought we would be more comfortable in the teak house room). We found this room to be great - lovely king size bed, doors opening onto what felt like our own little part of the jungle.
The most striking thing about Bali Mountain Retreat is the beautiful gardens. We saw many flowering orchids and beautiful heliconias. There are also many parts in Bali Mountain Retreat to relax with a good book - most also having great views down towards denpasar and the beaches.
We opted to do the 6hr trek which involved a few hours climbing up the mountain in the jungle and a few hours exploring the rice fields. The latter was definately a highlight of our trip. we met lovely locals and enjoyed seeing the rich farming area and cooling our feet in a beautiful flowing stream .
The food at BMR is fantastic. I couldn’t believe that in the middle of our mountain trek we were served hot nasi goreng at the temple, complete with still-runny fried egg. Amazing! Also, don’t miss the eggplant wedges and fern tip spring rolls at the BMR restaurant

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lou757575757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
15.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
#1 of 54 in Tabanan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.1 mi away
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
#4 of 54 in Tabanan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
8.9 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 26 in Munduk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bali Lush
Bali Lush
#3 of 54 in Tabanan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Mountain Retreat

Property: Bali Mountain Retreat
Address: Br Biyahan | Desa Wanagiri, Tabanan 82113, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bali Mountain Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Mountain Retreat is nestled high on the eastern slopes of Mt Batukaru in traditional Bali. An amazing outlook to the coast, a natural setting amongst the food forest and drinking water direct from a spring on the mountain. In one direction you can trek in the last true national park in Bali and in the other stroll through the sculptured rice fields. With comfortable accommodation and delicious meals in a truly traditional setting, Bali Mountain retreat is a unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bali Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Mountain Retreat Hotel Tabanan
Bali Mountain Retreat Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing