We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“real bali experience”
Review of Bali Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tabanan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bali Homestay
Ranked #3 of 24 Tabanan B&B and Inns
Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“real bali experience”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

It is the experience every visitor should have when visiting Bali. Interaction and and learning there cultur with a family in a traditional balinese compound. Wayan is not just a very informative host but has also a good feeling for integration of tourists with vilage life. Visitor with a genuine interest in culture and the way of living in a simple balinese home will be rewarded with the best hospitality and even better home cooking from Wayans wife Nyoman.
We hope to come back and see this program to further develop.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itchyfeetandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balihomestay, Owner at Bali Homestay, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your review for further improvement of our homestay program and value. Keeping the good thing and left the bad thing at the back as an experience to learn. It's our pleasure to have host both of you in the village and share an idea and many more about tough, life experience and culture.

With full of laugh and happiness for gain better life in the future. We are sorry if there is lack of our service and facilties that we provide to you in the humble of our village life. We are happy have been share with you our village life, culture and surrounding although there is still need many improvement on the journey.

We hope that we may meet again in another occasion in the future, which you may see the improvement of the program with well keeping the culture, environment and genuine balinese hospitality as promises.

Thank you very much for have been spend your valuable time in the village. Hope to bring you fold of good memories to bring home to Australia.

With best regards,



Wayan Suwendra
Bali Homestay Program
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
16
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
central coast N.S.W
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I took my 3 kids aged 9-15 who really enjoyed this experience. The neighbourhood kids welcomed them into their crowd and my youngest two kids spent alot of their time playing soccer and flying kites with a big group of 10-20 kids from the surrounding compounds,
I also got my kids to bring some soccer balls and other small gifts to share with the village kids which were really well received.
Chrishna who is Wyans son brought my kids their own kite to fly- you have lovely kids Wyan!
I did the 3 night 4 day package and the first and second days were excellent however the third day involves travelling in a car from 10am until 7pm at night...WAY too long for my kids but Wyan happily took us home when we had had enough. Reading the guest book that he keeps I wish we had have gone to the near by hot springs and for a ride in a boat through the local mangroves instead.
In the 4 and a half hours of driving we did on day 3 we saw the view of the rice fields from the top of the mountain- (seen over 3 hours of them the day before),we also went to the botanical gardens which really were pretty ordinary compared to the Sydney AUS and Hamilton NZ ones I have visited previously,maybe others enjoy long winding car rides but we did not.
The villiage atmosphere is so wonderful i feel it is better just to hang out longer there and participate in truely local things! I am sure Wyan would happily accomodate this request.
The only other negative was one of the rooms had really bad rising damp problems with mould covering the bottom half of the wall and a really overpowering musty/damp smell, which gave me headaches and left me short of breath. The other room my sons stayed in was fine so maybe request this room if staying with just two people.
In saying that I would definately recommend this homestay, the food was AMAZING, Nyoman was such a hardworking, friendly lovely ,woman , the whole family is just so welcoming and hospitable... this experience is something I will remember fondly forever and so will my kids.
Thanks so much Wyan and family

Room Tip: Request the one without the rising damp problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelbeachdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balihomestay, Owner at Bali Homestay, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It was so happy have to host you in our family compund with your kids in our humble village. Also the gifts that you have been bringing to the kids which is useful for them for developing in football skill. They still happy to contact each of their friend till now together playing soccer with the soccer ball that you gave them.

They think that your kids are still home and however they asking whether they will come back again to play with.

We are sorry for the room with the damp smell because of the humidity at the place. I will always t\ improve the facilities step by step to match with our guest requirement. Your review of our program and facilities is highly appreciated for us to improve to better service time by time.

Our happiness to host you and willing stay with us in our homestay program in the village with all of the limitation and humbleness that we have.

Hope some time in the future you may have chance to participate again with more better atmosphere and may spend more longer time at home to know more deeper of the culture and heritage of the village lifehood.

Warms regards from Ngis - Jegu, Bali,



Wayan Suwendra
Bali Homestay Program
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed here as a solo traveller and never felt alone,even though Wayans progam gives ample opportunity for free time. wayan and his wife Nyoman are so hospitable. His Dad and Gran live with them and along with an Aunty I had some funny times practisng my Indonesian and them ,their English.
Nyoman is undoubtably the BEST cook. Her food is so good,you just want more!!
I cant thank the family enough for letting me share a glimpse of their lives

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicntak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balihomestay, Owner at Bali Homestay, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review with our homestay program. We are so happy to have you at home to participate with our homestay program and become apart of our family. We hope that you are enjoying while you stay with us in knowing more deeper of our culture, cuisine and hospitality and we will always to improve our program for more become better and better in this coming season with thanks to your great idea as and addition into our program.

We hope one time in near future may host you again in our special program or trying our new extension program to exploring other parts of Indonesia with based from our place.

Thank you for have been stay with us and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terengganu, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Spent two days and a night here. It's back to nature. It's back to the basic way of life. It's back to a world which we, the young generations of today tend to have forgotten but should rediscover and remember. Being pampered by a luxurious life in the city, one tends to take everything for granted. The homestay sort of jolts us up to appreciate and treasure greatly what we have been blessed with and the present. It's a perfect getaway for some self-reflection. To Endra, Nyoman, Pekak, Surya, Riska, Krishna and the rest, thank you very much for welcoming us with wide open arms. We appreciate the Balinese dance you put up for us. Quite regretful though, that we did not wear the beautiful Balinese costume as we were dead tired after a long flight. Comfortable rooms and surprisingly, no mosquitoes!!! Nyoman, you are a great cook! And we love the daluman drink. Endra, thanks for furnishing us with details about the Balinese way of life and culture, the significance of the four colours - white, red, yellow and black. Grandma - Thank you for being so concerned about us. Not to be missed, among others, - the scenic rice- terraces,awesome Mt. Batukaru and wow, the magnificent Tanah Lot and it's sunrise. Breath-taking view !!!

Room Tip: Any room is a good room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fragrantmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balihomestay, Owner at Bali Homestay, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your kind review and have been came and stay with us in the humble village. Your review is very useful for us to improve our program in the village. Even in short time that you have done abundant thing to the village with helping the children and supporting the school. We will always remember your visit and hope once time in the future we may meet again and host you in the village with spending more time to explore more the unique of Balinese culture and heritage and enjoy the stay with family as a part of our family in the village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elbronx
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Wow! I'm still on cloud 9 after a wonderful holiday in Bali staying with Wayan and the family. They are amazing, beautiful, and kind people and made me feel like I was at home. You'll immediately became part of the family and get a very authentic experience. They set up a great program to explore the village and rice fields as well as really interesting places of Bali. I also ate delicious food (thank you Nyoman) that I still dream about. I've travelled to a lot of places and this was definitely one of the best! You're missing out on a truly unique experience if you don't spend time at their lovely home.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elbronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balihomestay, Owner at Bali Homestay, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for have been review our program and have been stay with us in the village in the Balinese traditional life. Hope your stay with us bringing fonds of good memories of rich culture of Bali on it's original place.

We are happy to have you in the village with the family and share laugh, activities and introduce you with some Balinese traditional foods.

We always keen to improve of our program and hope to bringing you unique view to know and experience the real Bali by staying in the Balinese family and experience their daily life with our homestay program,

Wish you all best with your travel and we will be very happy if in the future we can meet again in another occassion here in Bali.

Best regards,


Wayan Suwendra
Bali Homestay Program
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

For those who really want to see the real Bali (and not only the touristic areas) and experience the Balinese way of life, this is the place to go!
Great family, fantastic food, friendly atmosphere, flexible and "tourist-less" excursions/visits program. Wayan and his wife Nyoman are the perfect hosts who will imerge you in the Balinese culture like no one else.
Do not expect a 5* resort as this is not the real Bali, but you can definitely expect a clean bedroom, shower and toilet and a real sense of well-being.
As per the food in Bali, I never experienced anything better than Nyoman's Balinese cuisine and I wish I could order take-away from Sydney... .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balihomestay, Owner at Bali Homestay, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Dear Sylvain,

Thank you for your review with our homestay program. So glad to have you in our homestay program last time and wish you enjoy the moment. Your review is useful for us to improve of our program to become more better and also your advise and suggestion.

We always inform our guests for a real conditions of the village and stay. It's may your sleep quality is not so good which because of the noise of a roaster which that is become apart of the uniqueness of the village life. We will try to make an improvement to become better for our next guests to get better experience about Bali and it's culture also the daily life of village.

Once again thank you very much for your review and wish to host you again in future time when back to Bali again with your children's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

If you want a real balinese experience stay with this fantastic balinese homestay program.

I have stayed with this homestay program on three occasions, and from the time Wayan and his wife Nyoman pick you up, to the time they take you back to your tourist accommodation you are guaranteed the best of balinese hospitality, the balinese food prepared for you is fantastic, you stay with a family in a balinese family compound, they are all so friendly and you can learn all about village life and traditions and, if you wish to tour to see anything of particular interest Wayan is happy to take you on personal tours.
See the real bali through this very unique homestay. Happy to answer any questions, just msg me.
Here is the link for you

http://bali-homestay.tripod.com/

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jubaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balihomestay, Owner at Bali Homestay, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Thank you for your review with our homestay program. We are so happy to have you in our family in the village for several time share laugh, culture and become apart of our family. We often think about all of you and talk about kindness are giving to family and community.

We will always try to improve our program to adjust with the personal guest requirement and making good relationship in between.

Wish you all the best and may we meet again in another occassion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tabanan hotels
8.6 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#1 of 14 in Tabanan
674 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bali Homestay Cepaka
Bali Homestay Cepaka
#1 of 24 in Tabanan
39 reviews
10.4 mi away
Natya Hotel Tanah Lot
Natya Hotel Tanah Lot
#6 of 14 in Tabanan
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Aura Shanti Retreat & Villa
5.7 mi away
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort
4.9 mi away
Puri Taman Sari
Puri Taman Sari
#5 of 14 in Tabanan
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Homestay

Property: Bali Homestay
Address: Br. Ngis Kelod - Desa Jegu | Kec. Penebel, Tabanan 82152, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from maddening crowd.Wake up to spectacular sunrises.Feel the refreshing nudge of the gentle breeze. Witness rice terraces unfurling themselves into a vista of pure spectacular splendor. Experience all these, and more, when you immerse yourself completely in the Tabanan - Bali Homestay program. Why succumb to other depthless tourist program that offer less of experience ? Our home-stay program gives you a unique opportunity you will never experience in urban Bali. Here in Ngis - Jegu, you can participate with the local community, work in their traditional environment or simply enjoy Nature's way of defining the good life.Walk into the colourful arts and cultural heritage of traditional Balinese life. For the musically inclined, try captivated by the hypnotic "rindik" melodies harmonizing flawlessly with the sounds of nature. And do remember to relax and join in the fun when your host family invites you for a Balinese dance ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bali Homestay Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing