We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing way to see and experience the REAL BALI”
Review of Bali Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tabanan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bali Homestay
Ranked #2 of 22 Tabanan B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An amazing way to see and experience the REAL BALI”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Stayed with my parents for 2 nights with Wayan and Nyoman and their lovely family.
It was a wonderful way to experience the 'real' Bali.
It was lovely to wander around their beautiful village and feel so welcome.
Nyoman's food was delicious, fresh and varied - probably the best food I've eaten in my 4 visits to Bali.
We really enjoyed walking through the paddy fields with Wayan's sister and she was very informative pointing out all the different types of plants and crops growing amongst the rice - the fresh coconut and cocao was really yummy.
Driving around the countryside with Made was very pleasant and visiting the Jatiluwih rice terraces, Royal temple of Mengwi and Tanah Lot for sunset was fantastic.
We really enjoyed being dressed up in their traditional dress and felt honoured to wear THEIR ACTUAL wedding clothes.
Learning about their culture and how to make their wonderful offerings was brilliant and we now appreciate how hard they are to make!
It was a really enjoyable experience and a great way to spend time with my parents without any distractions from phones and internet.
We would highly recommend you stay here, well worth it!
Thanks Wayan and Nyoman : )

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kemartin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balihomestay, Owner at Bali Homestay, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review within our Bali Homestay Program. We are so happy to have you in the humble house in the village of Bali. It were great time to have you with your parents here with sharing laugh and traditional cuisine of Bali.

Hope that you have great memories with the real Balinese Culture and village life style.
We are sorry if there is any lack of service and conditions in the village which you are experienced the real village life and social community life.

Wish you all best on your rest of Bali Holiday and hope to meet you at another time in the future.

Best regards,



Wayan Suwendra
Bali Homestay Program
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
16
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Emu Park, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Thank you to Wayan and Nyoman we had a wonderful time in their village. It was great to share information about our cultures and families and we won't forget how welcome we felt in their compound and village. We were also fortunate to experience and learn about their wedding traditions. The food..... Nyoman, thank you, it was the best food we experienced in Bali, my taste buds were dancing. We offered to bring her home with us, but she declined. The tour through the rice fields and the other outings that Wayan organised gave us a good round experience of the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scharryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balihomestay, Owner at Bali Homestay, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your kind review our Bali Homestay Program and have been experience our homestay program in the village. Our happiness to have you in our simple home in the village. Sharing the culture, foods and also playing with the kids.

Hope to meet you again in near future.

Wish you all the best.


Best regards,


Wayan Suwendra
Bali Homestay Program
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights and wished we stayed longer!!! Wayan and his family are great hosts. The food was amazing and trust me you will not go hungry as we got 3 course meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I am a vegetarian and Wayan's wife and his sister put together delicious dishes for me. I also go to celebrate my birthday in a traditional Balinese ceremony. They dressed both my partner and I,and prepared beautiful birthday offerings. We also hiked through the beautiful rice fields during the morning and in the afternoon our driver Made took us to some of the local temples including Tanah Lot, the night market and other attractions. Made is a great and safe driver, he also picked us up from our hotel and dropped us of to our next destination which is included in the homestay package. The room we stayed in was clean and included air con which I did not expect but I'm it had it. If you want to eat amazing food until your belly's popped, have a safe and friendly driver to take your around to the local attractions, learn and experience the Balinese culture with a lovely Balinese family then do yourself a favour and book it!!! You will not regret it!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leilani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balihomestay, Owner at Bali Homestay, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your kind review on our homestay program and have been participated in our program in the village. Hope that you have a good memories when stay with us and know more deeper of balinese daily life and culture and experience it your self.

Your kindness for a gifts to children in the village is highly appreciated. They are very happy to play with the jump ball and have been spread also pen and pensil to some children of the village. We are so happy to have you on those time.

Please apologize if there is any lack of service, facilities and also the conditions in the village. You have been experience the real life of Balinese people with staying with the family in the village.

Wish your journey to explore the island is wonderful and unforgetable experience.

With best regards & Suksema,



Wayan Suwendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We went as a family of 6 with 4 kids aged 11, 14, 16, 18. We were all apprehensive as to what this would be like, but we all had a fabulous time, and felt it was one of the highlights of our time in Bali. We loved learning about Wayans culture and family traditions, and enjoyed walking through the rice feilds and local villages. Each mealtime was an event in itself, and we loved trying all the delicious foods Nyoman cooked for us. Dressing up in traditional Balinese outfits was a heap of fun for us all too. The whole family was attentive and caring.
Overall, it was a great experience, and we all would recommend it!

Room Tip: Please note that if you are travelling with 6 of you, 2 of the double rooms are air conditioned and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jazznjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balihomestay, Owner at Bali Homestay, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your review to our homestay program and have been stay with us in rural village of Bali. We are always try to improve our program time by time. By staying in the real Balinese village, you will learn more and know more the activities and way of life of the local people.

We are sorry if you feel not comfort and less of sleep in our humble neighbor house which we will try to improve it also. We appreciate of your review for better of the program in the future. We hope that you get good experience while staying with us in the village.

May before come and experience the program that you may see more details and careful of the inclusion and exclusion of the program on our web in order to there is no miss-perception and understanding within our homestay program.

Wish you all the best and we are happy to have you and sharing fun in our humble family in the village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryvale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

My partner and I took his son to Bali as a graduation present. We wanted to give him a genuine experience of the people and culture rather than a tourist holiday. We couldn't have picked a better homestay than Wayan and Nyoman's home. It surpassed all our expectations. We left with an appreciation and understanding of Balinese village culture and fond memories of Wayan and his family who made us feel right at home. It was the perfect experience and one which will continue to have a positive impression upon us for a long time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balihomestay, Owner at Bali Homestay, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for have been reviewing our homestay program in the village and also have been participated in our homestay program last December 2012. Hope by staying with us make you have great memories and knowing more of balinese culture and life style.

We are happy to host you in the village at those time and hope that we may meet again in near future on your next Bali visits.

Wish you all best.

Warms regards,


Wayan Suwendra
Bali Homestay Program
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Mum and I had the best time with Wayna, Nyoman and famil. To stay in their village was just such a highlight, everyone was so welcoming, the attention to detail and thoughtfulness made it such a positive experience. Nyoman's food, Oh my goodness we dream about the meals she so beautiful prepared.

We will be back at the same time next year, and look forward to seeing you all then.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balihomestay, Owner at Bali Homestay, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

It was so glad to have you at home when you are visiting Bali at this time. Hope with staying home in Balinese Village that you have great memories with us and also the culture.

Thank you very much also for your precious gifts of "Raro" which we always remind you at every moment.

Hope to meet you again in near future.

We wish you all best.

With best regards,




Wayan Suwendra
Bali Homestay Program
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I had an amazing experience with Wayan & his family. From the airport pick-up, he & Nyoman were gracious & accommodating. The room & property are truly in the heart of a Balinese village with virtually no other tourists. You honestly live like a local. I was provided with a basic room, a western bathroom, non-stop delicious food, personally guided tours, cultural activities, & lots of great sharing. This is not a 'bed & breakfast' or formal hotel - this is an experience which is so much more valuable.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNSTerp79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balihomestay, Owner at Bali Homestay, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind to review us on tripadvisor. We still remember well the time with you. Hope you have great memories while with us in the village and knowing more deeper of our local Balinese culture and way of life.

We will always improve our program time by time and hope to meet you again in near future. May come with your family and spend a happy time again in the village.

We wish you all the best and thank you for have been visiting us in the village.

Best regards,


Wayan Suwendra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tabanan hotels
8.6 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#1 of 14 in Tabanan
657 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bali Homestay Cepaka
Bali Homestay Cepaka
#1 of 22 in Tabanan
38 reviews
10.4 mi away
Natya Hotel Tanah Lot
Natya Hotel Tanah Lot
#6 of 14 in Tabanan
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort
0.0 mi away
The Sanyas Retreat
The Sanyas Retreat
#5 of 22 in Tabanan
18 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Aura Shanti Retreat & Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Homestay

Property: Bali Homestay
Address: Br. Ngis Kelod - Desa Jegu | Kec. Penebel, Tabanan 82152, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from maddening crowd.Wake up to spectacular sunrises.Feel the refreshing nudge of the gentle breeze. Witness rice terraces unfurling themselves into a vista of pure spectacular splendor. Experience all these, and more, when you immerse yourself completely in the Tabanan - Bali Homestay program. Why succumb to other depthless tourist program that offer less of experience ? Our home-stay program gives you a unique opportunity you will never experience in urban Bali. Here in Ngis - Jegu, you can participate with the local community, work in their traditional environment or simply enjoy Nature's way of defining the good life.Walk into the colourful arts and cultural heritage of traditional Balinese life. For the musically inclined, try captivated by the hypnotic "rindik" melodies harmonizing flawlessly with the sounds of nature. And do remember to relax and join in the fun when your host family invites you for a Balinese dance ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bali Homestay Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing