We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Luxury Villas in the quiet section of Tabanan”
Review of Soori Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Soori Bali
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tabanan
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Tahoe, NV
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Luxury Villas in the quiet section of Tabanan”
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Great stay at a wonderful hotel. More food options would have been nice as the Hotel is out there, but the best place to relax that I have experienced.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Soori Bali, responded to this review, 9 December 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    105
    37
    6
    7
See reviews for
141
412
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maplewood
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I can't say enough good things about our experience at Alila. The service and the attention to every detail is exceptional. Everyone at Alila goes above and beyond and really enjoys what they do, which really comes through. Our experience started well before we even checked in while we were still planning our stay at Alila we were in contact with the assistant manager of the property and she was wonderful and so helpful in answering all of our questions. The level of service only grew from there beginning form our drive to the hotel, our journeys to see Bali and our stay at the hotel. Our villa host Lucien and the other staff was terrific and consistently went above and beyond. There were so many things that they did to make us feel welcome and comfortable and to enrich our time in Bali, too many to name here. We are now loyal Alila customers and rave about our stay here. We loved every moment we spent there!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCCMaplewoodnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Soori Bali, responded to this review, 9 December 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I made the journey with my wife and two kids (4 and 2.5yrs) and we loved it. To work out whether this review make sense to you I am 36, married with kids. Travelled since 18 from back backing to 7 star hotels. I used to travel for work and spent about 150 nights per year in hotels around the world. So here is my view:

Service - sensational. No effort was spared and we were treated with great kindess and warmth. Thats the Balinese for you. Add to that professionalism and you have something pretty special.

Food - Chef Ashton and his team did a great job. Our daughters are gluten intollerent. When we asked ffoor gluten free they proceed to cook up and deliver gluten free bread and food for out entire stay. Kudos to you guys, thats brilliant. The food was teriffic and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals.

Accomodation - brilliant, modern, large villas. we stayed in a Terrace Villa for one night then moved to the 3 bedroom option. Amazing rooms. Pools are really great.

Sleeping - like a baby! for me the beds were soft and firm. The pillows are almost perfect. Combined we as a family slept great.

Dining - the eating spaces are lovely, mind the 5:30 mosquito attack though. I got taken down big time and I live in Bali and know to be prepared. Forgive the hotel of the native insect life I foung the eating spaces very comfortable and the staff terific - The two Made's, a Ketut, and Julie looked after us daily. And Ched Ashton always popped around to check in and for a quick chat.

Facilities: we have little kids so for us pool and grass and beach are the key things. The space around the pool was more than large enough for our kids to run around. The poool was big enough that we did not impede on our felllow guests experience.

Beach: Now the beach is volcanic sand, its graphite looking and pretty freaky if white is your ideal beachh colour. However you get used to it pretty quick and the coast line is stunning. One of those views you jsut stare at happily for a few hours whilst sipping on something refreshing and attempting to read a fine novel.

Location: Bali is a retty big place if you have never been and Alila Soori is a long way from Kuta and about 40 minutes from Seminyak. Here is the thing though - if you want rice padies, rural Bali, local villages, hot springs, village markets, Balinese music and culture, beautiful coastal scenery and just the bliss that silence can offer you this place is terrific. Alila Soori is in Tabanan which is the rural heart of the island and after Ubud offers the greatest, in my view, cultural experience.

Price: this is not the place to go if you are trying to save money. Its hardly pricey by 5 star europe but be prepared to be surprised when comparing iit to other Bali venues. It is far from everywhere, keeping such a high standard of food is not an easy task on an Island with water and power shortages. For me at least I surrecnded myself to the experience paid a large bill at the end and walked out of there with the biggest smile on my face for some time. In other words "refreshingly and deservedly expensive"

First or Second Time To Bali: check this place out. Split your holiday up as follows. Nusa Dua for water sports and diving fun. Seminyak for Bali Scheik and cosmopolitan fun. Tabanan for luxury, relaxation. and Ubud (I have not been to Alila Ubud but I will be) for your central mountainy experience.

Overall - First Class. I it sounds like I am raving about this place its because I am. There were little problems, there always are, however my family and I left this hotel (a) not wanting to leave and (b) vowing to retuurn.

Drop me a note if you want any help.

Cheers,
Mike

Room Tip: All are good. Beach front v. Mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michaelmckerlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Soori Bali, responded to this review, 9 December 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We only ended up in Bali at Alila Villas Soori as our original destination of Koh Samui Thailand experienced severe flooding just as we landed. As one door closes another opens, and this is a perfect example. We travelled from Toronto Canada to Thailand with our 2 yr old only to find out the situation in Koh Samui as we finally landed. We stayed in Bangkok for a few days weighing out our options and decided to try Bali. From the reviews on TA Alila Soori seemed like just the relaxing secluded place we were yearning for by this time. We were only one of a few guests that week and we were treated like gold. The staff were attentive and around whenever we expected them to be, super friendly with us and our little girl, but no where in sight when you felt like privacy. We booked an Ocean View Pool Villa and then realized when we arrived we couldn't sleep at night listening to the waves wondering about an Earthquake and pending Tsunami. Our minds were running away with themselves, yes, however there had been a relatively nearby Earthquake just as we landed in Bali, so it was fresh on the list... Upon having a chat with the Property Manager they were sympathetic and offered us the ability to sleep in one of the rice terrace villas high up on the property away from the water. We accepted and spent our days in our pool villa by the Ocean, and nights by the rice terraces in a separate villa. ! Super accommodating to our worries, however crazy they may have sounded. They also allowed us to change our reservation and spend the last 4 nights of our 13 day day at their Uluwatu Villas in the south for a change of scenery. The only negatives I can say were the chirping salamanders at night in the villa (hiding somewhere) and the food while quite good was often too exotic for our tastes. More simple yet well presented dishes would have been nice. All in all a very positive first experience with the Alilia group!

Room Tip: Go for the Ocean View Pool Villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kodi96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Soori Bali, responded to this review, 9 December 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

What a premium place! I stayed there for several days for my writing column and love it in the way that it is so distant from the downtown so i got the see how the real Balinese lifestyle is. The not-so-good thing is the price, which seems a bit too high. Still, overall is nice, perfect for people who loves solitude.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chidsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Soori Bali, responded to this review, 9 December 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

My partner and I stayed at Alila Soori in Bali in December 2010 and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to unwind in a very peaceful, private and beautiful location.

We stayed in an ocean front villa which was absolute luxury. We felt comfortable and started to relax as soon as we walked through the door and from then on spent most of our days in the private infinity pool and cabana, while watching the waves breaking on the beach below. (There were plenty of other smaller touches in the villa too; my partner enjoyed the convenience of the Nescafe coffee machine while I thought the resort’s range of his and her’s aromatherapy toiletries were a beautiful touch.)

Our days were very relaxing and disappeared too quickly. We enjoyed the tranquillity of walking along the (usually deserted) beach and ate far too much courtesy of the amazing menu put on by head chef, Ashton. On our last night he tailor made a five course degustation meal just for us, using all our favourite ingredients. It is this sort of attention which made our stay at Alila Soori so memorable and special.

Anyone interested in social responsibility will be pleased with the resorts’ approach to hiring. They have about 200 attentive staff and a high percentage of these are from the nearby village. The resort offers its staff extensive training to take them up the career ladder at the resort, or open doors to other opportunities. The flow on effect of this level of local employment is evident if you go for a walk or bike ride outside the resort (Actually the bike ride is highly recommended – and the locals will show you the paths through the rice fields which is a great way to see the birds).

Thanks to everyone at Alila Soori for a magical holiday.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappiestTraveller_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

I wouldn’t be overstating this was the best hotel experience of our lives.

The point of difference for this luxury resort is the location. It is remote in the sense there are no other restaurants, no night life and no westerners in sight once you step outside the resort. And that for us was a BIG plus. But no so remote you are disconnected from the country you have come to experience; situated adjacent a beautiful and traditional Balinese village set amongst rice paddies overlooking the ocean.

We were collected from our 5 star Seminak hotel (which felt little better than a backpackers once we returned!) and transported a scenic 45 minute drive from the throbbing Seminyak/Kuta hustle and bustle into the serenity of Alilia Soori.

The guests are a mix of nationalities. Though you will hardly see anyone with most guests choosing to stay in their villas overlooking a stunning black sand beach (or rice paddies) and order room service on their private deck. I must admit it was hard to draw us away from our private infinity pool but we did venture down to the restaurant for most meals.

The food for us was the real highlight. Executive Chef, Ashton Hall (USA), is right up there with the worlds very best. Amazingly on one occasion we were the only guests in the restaurant and he cooked us a five course degustation dinner to our preference. Absolutely world class (ask for his cold cucumber soup with passionfruit sorbet).

We also had the good fortune to meet General Manager Marco Groten. He organised a massage and spa treatment for us that has set the benchmark for all future massage experiences (indeed one couple we met mentioned they were having up to three sessions per day!), he also suggested we take a bike ride through the local villages and arranged our mountain bikes.

The ride through the village was great. We felt like minor celebrities as we rode through this untouristed area; children came running out of the houses to say hello and wave. One wizened old local, immaculately dressed in his traditional Hindu clothes, made an effort to talk to us while we drank some roadside drinks and gave us directions through a very special rice paddy trail out toward the ocean. A real highlight!

Congratulations to Marco and all the Soori team for delivery such an outstanding guest experience. A real life experience we will never forget.

Highly recommended. Two thumbs up .... way up.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeanBlocksidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Soori Bali, responded to this review, 9 December 2016
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
10.0 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 146 in Seminyak
1,540 reviews
9.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 146 in Seminyak
3,335 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 146 in Seminyak
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 8 in Uluwatu
991 reviews
9.7 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#19 of 146 in Seminyak
911 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
The Ritz-Carlton, Bali
#7 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soori Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soori Bali

Property: Soori Bali
Address: Kpg. Dukuh | Kerambitan, Tabanan 82111, Indonesia (Formerly Alila Villas Soori)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tabanan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Soori Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the ocean between the Batu Karu Mountain and terraced rice fields, Soori Bali is a hidden refuge, rejuvenating and peaceful; it is Bali as it should be. Designed, owned and operated by renowned architect Soo K. Chan and his wife Ling Fu, the resort prioritises environmental and cultural sustainability. Crafted out of local materials, Soori Bali maintains a true sense of place. Keeping things pure, its restaurants use fresh produce from nearby farms and spices from its own garden; the resort’s spa uses only the highest quality organic products. All 48 of Soori Bali’s villas feature private pools with sweeping vistas. Within easy reach of the legendary Tanah Lot and an 18-hole championship golf course, the resort is perfect for those seeking spiritual and recreational delights. There are few places that revere nature’s gifts like we do, and absolute discretion for our guests is the pattern of our craft. Soori Bali is an amazing place to be, naturally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Soori Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Villas Soori Hotel Tabanan
Soori Bali Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing