We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, perfect service but too expensive”
Review of Soori Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Soori Bali
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Tabanan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2011

As a part of our honeymoon we stayed at Alila Soori for 5 nights before we continued our holiday to other parts of Bali.
Even though there are quite a few villas next to each other, you never felt disturbed or got the impression of sharing the beautiful location with others. The privacy is guarantied and still we received the best service EVER by our butler Annie. She noticed every little needs we had before we informed her. Thank you Annie again for your excellent service.
All the staffs always greet you very friendly and offer you an excellent service. Even though we had quite a few moments of rain, we never got wet; someone was always ready with a big umbrella at any corner within the resort. As soon as you entered the central pool, they provided us with fluffy bath towels and glass of iced water with orange slices. The tea you get at the SPA is simply delicious! The kitchen staff was always flexible if we had any kind of special orders or extra wishes. The architecture is sec but not cold and the interior has a grand scale but you don’t feel lost.
The Villa is beautiful and has everything you need to make your stay perfect even though any extra offer they have is very expensive. The resort is away from any village or city and it is perfect to enjoy the quietness. On the contrary you do not have any possibilities to dine outside without renting a car or a transportation service. A taxi organized by Allila is expensive as well and you need to take the service for at least two hours. This fact makes your stay very pricy since you don’t have any other options than having breakfast (which is not included in the price of the villa…), lunch and dinner at the hotel.
After having continued our trip to other villas in Bali, we had the possibilities to compare Allila Soori with other offers. This made us aware of a few things Allila Soori could improve: The culinary standard of Allila Soori is lower than you expect from such a luxury hotel. The food was very good, but not unforgettable. There were no positive surprises or excitement. The therapist in the SPA seemed to have quite different levels in terms of massage skills. Some were excellent and some were just like robots performing 1:1 what they have learned without taking the personal differences of the guests into account. The yoga teacher was a very friendly person but you hardly understood him because of his strong accent, which makes it very difficult to follow the exercises during the lesson. Regarding his yoga skills, we did not have the impression that he was a professional.
In total, Allila Soori is surely a place we will never forget and we enjoyed our stay very much but taking everything into account, too expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samarkanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 December 2016

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
There are newer reviews for Soori Bali
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

I just returned from a two night stay at alila villas soori and I must say the hospitality shown was really commendable! Right from the minute we arrived, Rina the reception manager was extremely warm and welcoming till the point of departure every little detail was well looked into and taken care of. Even Ari the reservations manager was extremely helpful and graciously upgraded us to an ocean pool villa which was gorgeous to say the least. What really stood out was hiw the staff went all out to make sure your stay in Bali was nothing short of perfect. We were actually stuck in really heavy traffic early this morning on the way to the airport due to heavy rains and some flooding. We had planned for a 1.5 journey to the airport hence left the resort 3.5 hours before our flight departure time. Unexpected crawling traffic however delayed us tremendously and 1.5 hours later had us really anxious. The driver assigned to take us to the airport (Buda) however was not only calm and reassuring but took the iniatitive and started making calls to his collegue at the airport to help make contingency plans by booking us in the next flight as it was starting to look unlikely for us to make it in time. We finally arrived at the airport 3 hours into the journey and 20 mins before our flight was scheduled to take off. Just as we jumped out of the car, another one of alila's staff (futrah) whom we believe is stationed for duty at the airport was all ready to receive us and immediately took over. By some miracle and a lot of help we managed to run to the check in counter which had just closed and with local translations and pleading got us clearance to board the flight!! Futrah even made the effort to run ahead and help clear the airport duty tax whilst we cleared immigration!! We are extremely grateful to have made the flight with barely 2 mins to spare and without the help of alila's staff would not have been possible. So thank you to the impeccable service level you have across every one of your staff from the managers, to drivers and spa masseuse!! You not only made our stay wonderful...you made sure we ended our holiday ended wonderful!! Where other resorts may have excellent service throughout our stay...your staff went the extra mile!! Thank you alila!!!
Ps: I actually took the twin sensation package and stayed at alila uluwatu for 2 nights as well. Another wonderful experience...so moving on to the next review...:)

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hayhayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 December 2016

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed at the Alila Soori on our honeymoon. The service was beyond anything we have experienced. We were treated like rock stars, greeted at the front driveway by three staff members. We were handed cool, damp towels, and our luggage was whisked away. We were given a brief orientation of the lobby and grounds as we walked through them. Then we were loaded onto a cart and driven off to our villa, at which fresh drinks awaited us. The check-in process was completed at our room, and our butler introduced himself to us and gave us his extention with instructions to call any time we needed anything.

We made dinner reservations and intended to walk to the restaurant, but as we left our villa a cart and driver were waiting at our door to drive us the short distance to the restaurant. After dinner we snuck back to our hotel without letting them buggy for us, which I think threw them into a bit of a panic. But we walked the grounds, and when we got back to our villa we found a cake waiting for us with candles in it and the words "Happy Honeymoon" on the cake. They must have had it all planned to surprise us but wanted to time it to our arrival back to the room. They did an excellent job.

Needless to say, we will go back and HIGHLY recommend the resort to anyone looking for top-notch service at a low-key resort. Oh, and they have free yoga classes twice a day!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 December 2016

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

I will never forget the experience of Alila and the top of top service it provided my husband and myself during our recent stay. I could tell you about the food (WOW), the accomodations (STUNNING LUXURY), but the service (LIKE NONE OTHER). I love the attention to every detail. I felt like family. We were treated just like royalty and were loved and cared for. Marco Groten (GENERAL MANAGER) rocks. Leaving nothing to the imagination at Alila....true perfection.

Ashton Hall (CHEF) my new BFF. Makes it look all too easy but none the less kicks some cookin' butt in that kitchen. Fried ice-cream (YUMMY) and six course Chef tasting on the Ocean. Well we will always remember you and see you in Buckhead one day!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nobleinsight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 December 2016

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We checked in for three incredible nights at Alila Villas Soori - by far one of the best hotel and villa complexes I've been to, with exceptional service and attention to detail.

The resort's stylish villas have a lovely setting, between a black sand beach and rice paddies. Ours had its own pool, direct beach access and uninterrupted sea views.

Facilities include yoga classes and gym overlooking the ocean, a large pool (in addition to private pools in the villas), a spa and two fabulous restaurants. The resort also arranges 'Journeys' which are half and full day experiences to learn more about Bali's culture and lifestyle. Our culinary journey began with an early morning visit to the local market with the chef to choose ingredients for the day’s dishes. We then worked alongside him in the open air kitchen to prepare delicious chicken dishes which we had for lunch.

We're already trying to work out how soon we can go back! HIghly recommended for a completely get-away-from-it-al luxury break.

Room Tip: Ocean view villas on the top level have best views
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 December 2016

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The staff at Alila Soori made our trip amazing from beginning to end. Even before we arrived, they had everything we could possibly want arranged for us. They were very thoughtful and went above and beyond to make our stay there exceptional.

Bali itself is a stunning place. Alila is a jewel in the very rich crown of the island. We can't wait to return for another visit!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April_lawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 December 2016

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Great stay at a wonderful hotel. More food options would have been nice as the Hotel is out there, but the best place to relax that I have experienced.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PRM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 December 2016

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
10.0 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 147 in Seminyak
1,557 reviews
9.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#20 of 147 in Seminyak
3,400 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#3 of 147 in Seminyak
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
20.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
19.4 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 9 in Uluwatu
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soori Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soori Bali

Address: Kpg. Dukuh | Kerambitan, Tabanan 82111, Indonesia (Formerly Alila Villas Soori)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tabanan
#2 Spa Hotel in Tabanan
Price Range: £343 - £892 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Soori Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the ocean between the Batu Karu Mountain and terraced rice fields, Soori Bali is a hidden refuge, rejuvenating and peaceful; it is Bali as it should be. Designed, owned and operated by renowned architect Soo K. Chan and his wife Ling Fu, the resort prioritises environmental and cultural sustainability. Crafted out of local materials, Soori Bali maintains a true sense of place. Keeping things pure, its restaurants use fresh produce from nearby farms and spices from its own garden; the resort’s spa uses only the highest quality organic products. All 48 of Soori Bali’s villas feature private pools with sweeping vistas. Within easy reach of the legendary Tanah Lot and an 18-hole championship golf course, the resort is perfect for those seeking spiritual and recreational delights. There are few places that revere nature’s gifts like we do, and absolute discretion for our guests is the pattern of our craft. Soori Bali is an amazing place to be, naturally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Soori Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Villas Soori Hotel Tabanan
Soori Bali Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing