We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bit of modern luxury but worth it”
Review of Soori Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Soori Bali
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tabanan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2011

this is a stylish and well equpiied hotel
service is beyond reproach,excellent staff
beautiful designed rooms
good food, but not cheap
villas a bit remote
but nice privacy
well equpped rooms
would stay again

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppurewal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 December 2016

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

We spent three nights at Alila Villas Soori in an Ocean Pool Villa. We had booked the optional "we'll whisk you through airport immigration with no lines" service, which was a great way to arrive. We loved the lavish spa treatments, and I wholeheartedly recommend the daily yoga classes with Sisi: exceptional.
On the down side: bring your own nail polish if you're going to have a manicure and pedicure (the selection available is small and not really up to date with fashion colors) and your own hair conditioner (the Alila brand, although available in both "for her" and "for him" version, does not disentangle even medium-length hair). Don't bring many clothes, at least the type you would want to hang: the villas have little closet space, no doubt in tune with the idea that you are there for a relaxed beach holiday and need very little.
The breakfast "concept" could use a tune-up: it is not fun to wait for breakfast to be served (for some reason, it's the slowest meal of the day) when all you want is a little fruit or something from the buffet. Also, the breakfast staff made some minor mistakes, although they were quickly corrected when pointed out (such as serving tea in a pot with a strong coffee smell).
All in all, however, a remarkable place and one I do not hesitate to recommend.
All in all, however, a very remarkable

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LivePaola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 December 2016

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We had a wonderful weeks holiday at Alila Villas Soori . The kids were particularly thrilled to have their own attached bedroom with all the excellent amenities and our own private pool! We had a perfect view of the black sand beach with a cliff nearby which provided breathtaking sunset views.
Despite being remotely located, about 20 minutes from Tanah Lot, we still found plenty to do.
The whole family enjoyed the visits to the rice fields and temples. The older boy especially enjoyed the Segway ride through the village and the younger, kite making and fishing. These were few of the 'Journeys' offered to all guests.
Breakfast offerings were superb and we were spoilt for choice.
Did I mention the Apple Tv, music and wireless internet to keep all entertained during the evenings?
Overall, the staff at Alila Soori made our trip amazing from beginning to end. They were very thoughtful and went above and beyond to make our stay there exceptional!
The younger boy, 8 years old is already asking 'When are we going back to Alila Villas Soori?'

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myrna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 December 2016

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed here for five nights and had a great experience. The service is excellent without being intrusive. The service started right away with their airport pickup. New and clean van with water, snacks and cold towels. Since we landed at night and the ride was about 90 minutes, they gave us a menu so that we could order dinner and have it ready for our arrival.

Villas are large and have decent size pools. We were upgraded to a very large villa with a great view of the ocean. The villa staff always cleaned the villa promptly while you were at breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, the food was great. Instead of a buffet, they have put together a tasting menu that changes daily. You pay one price and order as many items as you like. Coffee, tea and cappuccino are included as well.

The rest of meals are also very good and the staff will go out of their way to make you almost anything. Chef Ashton was always mingling with the guests to make sure everything was perfect. In fact, he cooked a special six course meal for us with a special table set up on the beach. The food and set up was great.

We also had several interactions with the General Manager, Marco, who was also very involved with guests and making sure things ran smoothly.

I would highly recommend and would also return again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Std63nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 December 2016

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Nice Hotel, very nice Pool rooms and amenities! Ride with the Segway was awesome! Directly at the Beach with Sunset View. Restaurants have very limited menus unfortunately! Don't Bother the Way there As it looks there would be nothing there anymore... Stuff and Butlers have been very nice and attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pigalle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 December 2016

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Alila Villa is gorgeous! Its a lovely lovely property. We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa and didn't want to leave! The master bedroom had nespresso machines, we had the option of having our breakfast in the villa, which we did. The pool was clean and very inviting. We had lots of little birds fluttering around the tree : )

Their toiletries are excellent-I believe its their own brand.

Although August is considered a super peak period,we hardly see a soul in the property which is very good if you like privacy.

The only "hiccup" I can think of is that on the last night I was there, my aircon wasn't working and I tried to call the butler, the manager and the operator in the wee early morning and no one pick up the call! Makes me wonder if there was emergency what is one to do. I feed back to the front desk the next day. I hope they look into this. But while you can get them, their staff is very polite and attentive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denimautum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 December 2016

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This is a special hotel in Bali. It feels totally secluded yet it's just about 20 minutes from Tanah Lot - on one side of the hotel is a black sand beach with a cliff nearby which provides breathtaking sunset views. On the other side of the hotel are the beautiful rice patties. The lines and angles of the architecture and design of the hotel itself are simply stunning. The service is unsurpassed in Bali. The food at the Indonesian restaurant was superb - a rare opportunity to enjoy the local fare in a sit-down restaurant overlooking the sea. I do hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 December 2016

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
19.4 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 10 in Uluwatu
1,108 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#9 of 149 in Seminyak
1,632 reviews
16.3 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#9 of 200 in Ubud
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#20 of 149 in Seminyak
3,623 reviews
20.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
10.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soori Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soori Bali

Address: Banjar Dukuh, Desa Kelating | Kerambitan, Tabanan 82151, Indonesia (Formerly Alila Villas Soori)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tabanan
#1 Spa Hotel in Tabanan
Price Range: £330 - £636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Soori Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the ocean between the Batu Karu Mountain and terraced rice fields, Soori Bali is a hidden refuge, rejuvenating and peaceful; it is Bali as it should be. Designed, owned and operated by renowned architect Soo K. Chan and his wife Ling Fu, the resort prioritises environmental and cultural sustainability. Crafted out of local materials, Soori Bali maintains a true sense of place. Keeping things pure, its restaurants use fresh produce from nearby farms and spices from its own garden; the resort’s spa uses only the highest quality organic products. All 48 of Soori Bali’s villas feature private pools with sweeping vistas. Within easy reach of the legendary Tanah Lot and an 18-hole championship golf course, the resort is perfect for those seeking spiritual and recreational delights. There are few places that revere nature’s gifts like we do, and absolute discretion for our guests is the pattern of our craft. Soori Bali is an amazing place to be, naturally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Soori Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Villas Soori Hotel Tabanan
Soori Bali Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing