We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Soori Bali
Nearby Hotels
Natya Hotel Tanah Lot(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$47
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Taman Sari(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amarta Retreat(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
WakaGangga(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bali Japan Village(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$51
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
De Moksha Boutique Resort(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Istana Balian(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$45
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveller rating
576
110
38
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
576
110
38
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsalila villasapple tvocean pool villavilla hostblack sand beachsegway tourtasting menuin villa diningbutler serviceindian oceancold towelsnespresso machinebat cavereading roomthe general managercrashing wavesour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
529 - 534 of 738 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I am a big fan of the Alila brand, having been to Cha Am and Maldives (now the Park Hyatt) and was really looking forward to Alila Soori. Given that i have been to Bali as least 6 to 7 times in the last 10 years, i did not mind the location of this property as it was indeed a different experience. Thus I would recommend that if one is a regular visitor to Bali, go for it as it has all the qualities and advantages listed by previous reviewers and if you are ready for a more secluded location. But if you are going for the 1st time, ideally it should be combined with a stay in a more accesible location and has more ameneties like Seminyak or Ubud as Bali has some pretty good restaurants and it will be a shame to just dine in the hotel.

Neverthless, we had a great experience. Food was better than expected, price of beer was very reasonable for a 5 star hotel (35,000 rup compared to the Ayana where we moved to and it was 60,000 there), did a complimentary yoga class which was ok, fantastic spa experience (great looking rooms! and prices are competitive compared to other properties) and staff generally friendly. My husband, son and I ventured outside on bicycles and it was a different experience for all of us. of course selcting the right bikes took a while as some had flat tyres, creaky wheels but we sorted ourselves out after 15 mins.

Our butler Chitra was pretty good, your go to point for everything and she brings everything that you ask for (even room service!). Well apointed villas with lots of entertainment options and complimentary DVD player in your room upon request and even a whole album of DVDs to select. Warm welcome from the Front office mgr, i think her name is Novita and the GM.

My only regret? - not upgrading to the upper level villas as they were MUCH BETTER than the lower level ones, so if you can afford it, please pay the extra for the upper level ones. Perfect view of the ocean and pool is not in the shade.

Till my next Alila stay.....

Room Tip: definitely the upper level villas
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peonylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

My wife and I visited this hotel a second time since it opened. We were there in the first months when Soori opened. The property has flourished and the service has improved tremendously . We are both seasoned Bali visitors and have stated at all the luxury hotels including Bulgari, Alila villas
uluwatu and the aman hotels. Soori is by far the best experience we have had. I certainly had a better experience there than at its sister hotel uluwatu. So i have to politely disagree with the recent reviewer who compared them both. They have such different settings and character so is unfair to compare. It is true that the hotel is an hour and 15 min from the airport but once you get there you will have the best experience ! The site with the big surf and the rocky peninsular and rice fields are incredible. The design is contemporary but fits in beautifully. The service is excellent.. Attentive without being intrusive. This is real Bali in luxury. There is an authentic Balinese village just next to the resort and lots of cultural activities to do. The hotel is really only 40 min from seminyak if you go off peak hours..
Will certainly recommend to go.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jimm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed two nights at Alila Uluwata and two at Alila Villas Soori during our trip to Bali in November 2011. Alila Uluwata was outstanding and worthy of 5/5 rating (see my review). Unfortunately Alila Villas Soori just isn't up to the standard of its stunning sister property. We stayed in one bed Ocean Pool Villa at Soori and a one bed Villa with Pool at Uluwata - both with similar room rates.

WE LIKED

+ Delightful, friendly drivers.
+ Very warm welcome from the Resident Manager on arrival - quick check-in in the room.
+ Local musicians playing in the reception area.
+ Beautiful architecture and landscape around the resort (however, without the wow factor of its sister property).
+ Good sized private villas with private pool, external cabanas, privacy and direct sea views.
+ Apple TV with selection of movies and music.
+ Nespresso machine.
+ Lovely Alila branded toiletries.
+ Small, but pleasant spa.
+ Lovely library with good selection of books - although always in use by the staff for meetings.
+ Staff were very friendly and tried very hard - yet obviously inexperienced.
+ Same breakfast concept as Uluwata - but not the same standard or service.
+ Constant crashing sound of the waves - although some might find it too loud!
+ Good reliable internet connection.


WE DISLIKED

- Over two hour car trip through unpleasant urban detritus - lots of traffic after 2pm.
- The resort is quite small and in the middle of no where (uninspiring landscape).
- The wardrobe space is poorly designed, within the large bathroom, and there is not enough space for two bags. and hardly any hanging space.
- A decorative console is located opposite the vanities - which should really be changed for a large bench for bag storage.
- Bathroom was full of ants which eventually found their way through my baggage & clothes.
- The split air conditioning system was labouring and only just cooling the rooms.
- Heavy drapes over the main western window - sliding timber louvres would have been more appropriate for the environment.
- Stained sheets - yikes !
- Really only one restaurant space. The second restaurant is a small terrace adjacent to the main restaurant.
- F & B: Limited menu in both restaurants.
- The bar area is just an external seating arrangement - upholstered seats are soiled as they are left out each night (although covered).
- Lunch & dinner (both restaurant and room service) were very ordinary - a real disappointment.
- The remnants of room service dinner served in the exterior cabana were still there in the morning - despite two requests to clean it up.
- The main pool is very small and looks like an afterthought.
- The black beach, directly in front of the resort, is littered with rubbish - hence not pleasant to stroll along.
- Beachfront open to anyone, hence, strong presence of guards around property.
- The segway bikes were fun - but expensive, considering there isn't much else to do around the resort.


In summary, I think that it is fair to compare the two resorts (Uluwata & Soori) as they are sister hotels and the room rates we paid were very similar. Alila Villa Soori needs to pull up its socks (particularly the F & B) and consider considerably dropping the room rate for the Ocean Pool Villas - that just don't compare in quality to the Uluwata one bed Villas and the overall quality of the Uluwata resort offering. We could only just stand two nights/days at this resort. The car trip to Soori is just not a pleasant experience and the location is uninspiring. Hence, I would not recommend this resort - it's presently just not a five star experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Elysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlilaHotels, General Manager at Soori Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Dear Elysia,

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor following your stay in November with us.

We are grateful for your feedback and pleased to learn the positive points you mentioned, we will continue to keep this up with some improvements on some of the points. However, I am sorry to hear that your Alila Villas Soori experience was not to your expectation in comparison to Alila Villas Uluwatu. On behalf of the entire team I would like extend my apologies, for the shortfall of services you experienced during your stay at the 14th November for 2 nights. Your points have been addressed to the Head of Departments concerned and we are ensuring proper actions will be put in place to avoid reoccurrence. You will be happy to learn that the we made changes to our menu's and have added a larger variety of dishes in both restaurants.

I would also like to thank you for your suggestions from a design point of view, this gives us great indication on how we can enhance our product to complement our guests’ experience. Our beach is usually well maintained, however just before your stay we had the first monsoon rain of the season and this bring a lot of debris out to the sea.

We hope we have another opportunity to show you our true level of service on your next visit to Bali. In the meantime, please be encouraged to contact me in case I can help out with anything at all.

Kind regards,

Marco Groten
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

in summer we visited Bali and ended up in Tabanan in the new Alila Villas Soori.it's everything you can dream of for an unforgettable few days in Bali.
unique location betwee sea and ricefields
western seaside restaurant and indonesian restaurant; we tasted both and still can't decide what's the best.
near a small village where you can have contact with the way of life in Bali
everything was perfect.
we had a free update to the three room recidence (more space than at home :-)) because all the vila's just near the sea were allready fully booked, a very spacious place to stay
because it was our wedding anniversary we received a lot of extra attentions like special room decoration with a hearth of rose petals on the bed and in the bad, extra sweets in the evening; personal housekeeping, ..
ok it was expensive but worth every euro
best location in Bali for special moments

Room Tip: if you want the full luxury experience try the residences
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frans b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The place is great, nice views and stunning villas. Breakfast very good choices and service.
Room service dining needs to be improved in quality and delivery.
Too many guards around, i know it is for the guest security but they need to be less visible.
The grounds behind the villas and not very well kept. Maybe it was the time of the year.
Beach is great for long walks.
Perfect place to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moschino24_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews