We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy villa, delicious food, outstanding staff”
Review of Soori Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Soori Bali
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tabanan
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Cozy villa, delicious food, outstanding staff”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The hotel staff were most welcoming and friendly, we were greeted daily by smiling faces & caring conversations, especially with the fantastic F&B manager.
The food was rarely mentioned as a highlight but turned out to be a great surprise bonus as it was delicious from the local Balinese cuisine all the way down to dessert. The breakfast is wonderful, instead of a wasteful buffet, you are welcome to order as you wish to a daily changing menu of small dishes. We also happened to be there when a visiting chef was in town.
Worthy to try some of their journeys such as
-the cooking class where the chef shared his secret recipes (don't do it if you expect to cook yourself!) and we learnt a lot instead of an hour of vegetable chopping.
- Segway ride through the villages and rice paddies - amaaaaaazing must try! It's the most carefree experience and a great way to get to know the friendly village nearby. Wear sunscreen, lots!
- golf at nirvana golf club
- spa! Consistent masseuse techniques, heavenly hot stone massages and tasty ginger tea with a kick

Only possible improvements:
- lighting in room too dim even for great ambiance
- villa felt a little small, wished the one bedroom was more spacious
- A chirping bird at 5:30am

Overall a cozy boutique villa resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetsettingcaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    104
    37
    6
    7
See reviews for
141
408
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

In case you are put off by other reviews .... just say yes

The location, the beach, the rooms, the food, the staff, the activity options are all first class. Touches like personalising the books and movies in your room, being around when needed and out of site when not, customising food choices for young ones are all signs of a great hotel.

Room Tip: Chose between Beach or rice paddies and mountains. Cant go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

A beautiful property with stunning food and impeccable service - everything is done with a genuine attention to detail and I do so look forward to a return visit. A highlight foodwise is the small portions for breakfast which sets your day up perfectly and the balance choices provide an option for everyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

As part of my job I am privileged to travel a lot internationally and stay at some of the nicest hotels in the world. For a relaxing, pampered indulgent beach vacation you cannot beat this hotel. We have just returned from Bali and we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with our 2 young boys. Everything was wonderful. Room upgrade on arrival, Segway tour, beachfront villa, bat caves, kite flying, spa, personal host who was incredible, fabulous food, very friendly attentive staff and oh those sunset views!! Amazing. We will definitely be back again! The Walkers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramfanjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimbaran, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Absolutely breathtaking views of the magnificent waves of the Indian Ocean. The architecture of the hotel is beautiful and the food and service were excellent. Impressive flight of bats leaving their cave at sunset. Only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie1197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

It was the perfect gateway, very relaxing. The service was excellent and the Villa was worth the money you spent. The architecture of the whole estate was traditional but yet modern, love the Ocean view villa, you have backdrop of the black sand beach and the sound of the wave was really calming. The private pool was def a charm. We had our breakfast by the private deck and food was yummy. Thank you so much for the experience. We will def come back and recommend to other friends and family.

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinPingYi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I must admit I am not a big fan of Alila's signature minimalistic design direction, yet it did not bother me much when I stayed here for three nights. The black sand beach with mighty undercurrent were just for there to enjoy, and it was not the most beautiful visual feast. Yet, the swimming pool was a total joy! It's long enough for laps, and it has a dazzling view over the ocean - even better than lounging in the beach beds.

The villas are really spacious, and my Villa 213 had a great plunge pool with ocean view. Bathrooms consist of separate rain shower, outdoor mini waterfall, and an extra wide bathtub. Yes, double vanity, too. The best feature of the bathroom, however, was the Alila Living products. I ended up shopping in the store to bring lots of Alila Living products. Most recommended: Insect Repellant, Sunscreen SPF 30, and ginger-lemongrass lipbalm.

Each villa comes with a Nespresso machine and a first generation AppleTV.

Now, the food - oh, the food! They are more than I bargained for! Breakfast was all a la carte and each item came in a small portion only to encourage us to try everything. Every day the breakfast menu changes, and everything is indeed worth trying - from the jams to the fried rice. While I was there, "Ombak" restaurant served Blackmore Wagyu, and I literally begged them to always include the products in the menu. I forgot the other restaurant's name, but they served a lot of Indonesian dishes coming from different region, and that makes the menu very adventurous even for an Indonesian foodie like me.

The spa is indeed beautiful, but as a fan of strong massage I was disappointed by the treatment. If you're into merely relaxation, the spa would deliver.

Overall, it was a great stay. I might try another resort for next romantic trip, but I would really love to come here again for the food. Oh, the food!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vehandojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
9.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 146 in Seminyak
3,295 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 146 in Seminyak
1,776 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 146 in Seminyak
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 8 in Uluwatu
979 reviews
9.7 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#21 of 146 in Seminyak
906 reviews
16.3 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#8 of 197 in Ubud
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soori Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soori Bali

Property: Soori Bali
Address: Kpg. Dukuh | Kerambitan, Tabanan 82111, Indonesia (Formerly Alila Villas Soori)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tabanan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Soori Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the ocean between the Batu Karu Mountain and terraced rice fields, Soori Bali is a hidden refuge, rejuvenating and peaceful; it is Bali as it should be. Designed, owned and operated by renowned architect Soo K. Chan and his wife Ling Fu, the resort prioritises environmental and cultural sustainability. Crafted out of local materials, Soori Bali maintains a true sense of place. Keeping things pure, its restaurants use fresh produce from nearby farms and spices from its own garden; the resort’s spa uses only the highest quality organic products. All 48 of Soori Bali’s villas feature private pools with sweeping vistas. Within easy reach of the legendary Tanah Lot and an 18-hole championship golf course, the resort is perfect for those seeking spiritual and recreational delights. There are few places that revere nature’s gifts like we do, and absolute discretion for our guests is the pattern of our craft. Soori Bali is an amazing place to be, naturally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Soori Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Villas Soori Hotel Tabanan
Soori Bali Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing