We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”
Review of Soori Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soori Bali
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Tabanan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This was my third visit to beautiful Alila Soori and each stay just seems to get better. The villas are superbly appointed, the staff sensational and the food sublime. The degustation breakfast would have to be one of the best in the world especially when overlooking the Indian ocean. Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DrewBernhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

We were very happy to be able to stay there with our family and friends in one big villa which was hard to find in other places. Our villa butler served us very well, before lunch and dinner, they always prepare everything and was always ready to serve us.
We liked all the rooms in this villa, especially the master bedroom suite that we occupy. The view from this room is very beautiful and the in room facilities are complete. There is a living room, a work desk, 2 flatscreen TVs, an outdoor jacuzzi and even an apple TV and Bose sound system.
We also liked the all amenities that Alila Villas provided for us which are different for men and women. They provided ala carte menu for the breakfast, the food itself was very delicious.
The main living room/dining room is very cosy, the view from this room is fantastic since it overlooks the ocean.
The pool is large and they also provided a Bose sound system along with Bose outdoor speakers. We could enjoy swimming or relaxing in the pool while overlooking the ocean with our music of choice in the background.
Overall we were very satisfied with our experience staying at Alila Soori Villas' 10-bedroom villa. This is our second time in this villa and we want to go there again in the future.
Amazing villa, amazing service and amazing location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jufi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We had a most wonderfully rejuvenating few days here in a 3 bedroom villa: totally private and spacious, zen-like understated luxury. Our private pool and gardens were a sanctuary of peace and relaxation. Everything one wanted or needed had been thought about by the resort before one had to ask, but the butler was only a phone call away if one had any sort of request.

The Chef did a most amazing job of making sure all of our different and complicated dietary needs were accommodated. Dinner under the stars with the waves rolling in just meters away was fabulous and even the delicate and exquisite afternoon teas on the resort verandah were brought out bearing all dietary needs in mind, without us having to ask for it.
Put this one on your bucket-list!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolyGrail613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The ocean view villa is fantastic. Indonesian food served is great too. We had in villa dining throughout our 3 nights stay and that was wonderful. Afternoon tea was served in The Library daily from 3:30-5:30pm. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We are a family of 4adults who vacation around the world and stay at many wonderful places, as time goes on the bar get set higher and alila soori was just perfect, from UNga the host to the restuarant staff and to the entire team . Well done.
A bit away from the madding crowd, but this is what the doctor ordered. We also spent 3 nights at the alila manggis and that was also first rate. Very different area but family friendly and enjoyable.
The staff make a real effort.

Room Tip: Ocean front villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vancouverasgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The services from all staffs are exceptional. The attention to details is personal and warm. The well kept facility and services set Allila Soori apart from other luxurious resort such as the Four Seasons.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Isabelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Alila Villas Soori is the embodiment of finely designed luxury. With spacious, remarkably well designed and quite beautiful villas, surrounded by lovely landscaping that is very well maintained, it is all that its photos suggest it is, and then some. It is located on the west coast, away from the white sand beaches of the south, which are painfully over-developed. That said, the west remains under-developed for tourism, which is now Bali's largest source of income.

At Alila Villas Soori, there are three sets of Villas, one facing an interior garden, a second facing the rice paddies, and the third facing the ocean. Unfortunately, the rice paddies don't appear to be farmed, so that view was not ideal. The ocean view is certainly the most dramatic, though the black sand beach was strewn with garbage that flowed in rivers to the sea during a heavy rain, and that was far, far from an appealing view. Unfortunately, Bali is a third world country with distinctly first world problems, and a dismal lack of infrastructure, particularly with regard to trash management, means that Balinese simply toss their trash into the many rivers, all of which do, in fact, flow to the sea, carrying the trash (and predictable other effluvium not prime for swimming) with them. However, given riptides, ocean swimming isn't advised (though surfers ignore that advice).

Each villa has a private pool of quite nice size, and there is a large pool for all guests. There is also a grassy area between the villas and the ocean on the beach side, where chaises are set up for guests who want to get closer to the beach without actually being on it.

The Villas really are lovely, exquisitely designed by Yale-educated architect Soo Chan (SCDA Architects). A large living room, spacious bedroom with a king size bed, tremendous bathroom/dressing area, with both an indoor walk-in shower and a beautifully landscaped private outdoor shower, plus a lovely soaking tub roomy enough for two. Oddly, closet space was the only real inadequacy.

There is direct access to the wraparound pool from your living room as well as your bedroom, and with a private cabana, one can lounge comfortably in the shade near the pool, too. In fact, the only thing we wished for was a place to sun near our private pool.

A butler is assigned to each villa, and as your host, takes care of any needs. Ours was a lovely young man who almost seemed disappointed that we didn't need more help. Housekeeping is attentive but never interruptive. Staff over all were kind and, while no one rushes in Bali, service was more than adequately attentive and kind. The people were a true pleasure.

There are cameras situated discretely around the villas for security, but we came away feeling that they are also used to track guests' whereabouts, because someone always seemed to appear to offer help whenever we left our Villa.

The very narrow roads in this part of Bali (and south, to Denpasar) are horrifically clogged with traffic: commercial trucks, hotel vans and innumerable motor bikes, which are the primary means of transportation for Balinese (and intrepid travelers like this writer). Thus, trips as short as 20 miles could take 90 (tense, hot) minutes. Therefore, the pleasure of this resort was clearly the saving grace of our vacation.

We could easily imagine ourselves staying at Alila Villas Soori again...though we cannot say the same for Bali in general, which didn't really measure up to the high standard set by the resort.

Room Tip: On the ocean side, 115 and 215 are the longest walk but very private. The villas facing the ride pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
10.1 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 148 in Seminyak
1,575 reviews
9.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 148 in Seminyak
3,451 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 148 in Seminyak
1,826 reviews
20.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bali Resort
19.4 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 9 in Uluwatu
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soori Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soori Bali

Address: Kpg. Dukuh | Kerambitan, Tabanan 82111, Indonesia (Formerly Alila Villas Soori)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tabanan
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tabanan
Price Range: £352 - £957 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Soori Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the ocean between the Batu Karu Mountain and terraced rice fields, Soori Bali is a hidden refuge, rejuvenating and peaceful; it is Bali as it should be. Designed, owned and operated by renowned architect Soo K. Chan and his wife Ling Fu, the resort prioritises environmental and cultural sustainability. Crafted out of local materials, Soori Bali maintains a true sense of place. Keeping things pure, its restaurants use fresh produce from nearby farms and spices from its own garden; the resort’s spa uses only the highest quality organic products. All 48 of Soori Bali’s villas feature private pools with sweeping vistas. Within easy reach of the legendary Tanah Lot and an 18-hole championship golf course, the resort is perfect for those seeking spiritual and recreational delights. There are few places that revere nature’s gifts like we do, and absolute discretion for our guests is the pattern of our craft. Soori Bali is an amazing place to be, naturally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Soori Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Villas Soori Hotel Tabanan
Soori Bali Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing