We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Soori Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soori Bali
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tabanan
Certificate of Excellence
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great. Fantastic location and service. Friendly personnel. Enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was tasty. Needed faster Internet for complete happyness. I recommend this hotel for couples and families. Best!!


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Natali0255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    101
    37
    5
    7
See reviews for
133
389
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I give this a 4/5 rating. some aspects can be worked on some limited.

Pros - the architecture is tastefully done, especially when lit up at night. Villa was spacious, location secluded (more on this below) and relaxing.

Location - beachfront but unable to swim, the indian ocean is too strong, and the incessant crashing waves are too loud, so if u can hoping for calming gentle sounds of the sea lapping against the shore perhaps set to Debussy, this is not it. Given that you can't swim in the sea, you'd expect the pool to be larger.

Also the resort is really secluded, its faraway from main tourist areas and transport options are limited. But if you are looking for seclusion this is it, you can drop off the grid, ensconced in your own luxury cocoon here. The only problem was that the hotel food did not agree with me as it was did not have authentic indonesian fare, and other than the first day, we kept going to Seminkyak for dinner instead, time consuming and not cheap either.

Villa - was not too impressed with the terrace view. The mountain is too far off ("in the morning you might see Agung" tho i couldn't) and I guess the padi was newly planted, so none of that publicity pic type verdant green or majestic mountain. Maybe their Ubud property might have a better setting.
Kept awake by village loudspeaker broadcast (one off) and vocal bats, woken up by motorized plow. Get the ocean facing villa instead.

Something went wrong with the plumbing after first night, totally no running water in the morning.

Service - definitely could improve. Check if there is a wedding scheduled during your stay. The staff cannot handle everything at the same time. Discernible drop in service standard once the wedding party arrived. Room service took 45 mins to deliver breakfast on one occasion. on another they came with half our order.
Its the small things that determine whether the service is 5 stars, this can be worked on.


Suggestions - have a little dark zone for stargazing, a waste of the starry night sky.

overall all the small things added up, preventing our stay from being the idyllic romantic getaway.

Room Tip: get the ocean facing villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranvier1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlilaHotels, General Manager at Soori Bali, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Ranvier1980,

Many thanks for providing us with the detailed feedback on your stay. Our site is indeed unique in its location with rice-fields and mountains on one side and the beauty of the ocean and its volcanic black sand on the other. Some people prefer one others combine the both during their stay.

We regret to find out that you have missed romance during your stay, as we have one of the most romantic Spa's with individualised treatments, Vichy showers and palatial set-ups. Also we would have been happy to organise a romantic dinner for two on the beach or even in your villa.
On your roomservice we sincerely apologise for the delay and incompleteness incurred, and due to this feedback we have put in controls to ensure that this does not occur again.

So many thanks for being so constructive in your feedback and for giving our team the opportunity to continue our goal of making all guests have an amazing time. Should you have an opportunity to revisit our property kindly reach out to me directly so I can assign an Ocean Pool Villa and ensure you'll have a romantic moment at Alila Vilas Soori.

Warm regards,

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Fantastic location, you feel in paradise, great architecture.
The kind staff and its overall great service attitude make our stay a memorable experience.
It's one of the more expensive places on Bali but overall it's well worth the cost.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Loys G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the Coast
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Just as I expected, Alila Villas Soori does not disappoint. This is a place for pure relaxation. If you are in for no crowd hotel, then this is for you.

We love having breakfast in the villa rather than at the restaurant (much more special). Our mountain view villa has the best morning air from 7 am to 9 am. Afterwards, it is HOT! I spent so much time in the bathroom since they have outdoor shower and other knick knacks. This villa is powered with two air conditioners, one in the bathroom and one in the bedroom. Guaranteed to make us lazy leaving the place. On our last night, we could hear chantings of religious ceremony from nearby village, it was mystical. Yustian (our butler/host) made sure that everything is to our satisfaction.
Make sure to take a morning walk from hotel to see the village..., it has the most breathtaking sights.
Apparently, rice paddy fields near Alila has been harvested and nothing is green (presently). Balinese harvested rice fields 3 times a year. October/November is another good time. During sunset, i saw a group of bats coming out of the nearby cave.... give me chills.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DUDETTE33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent four wonderful nights here in July. This was our second time staying here at Alila Soori.

The first time was four years ago. My family and I stayed here for two nights. Upon arrival we were blown away by the spectacular view and setting and the top-notch service. Even though the location was further away from the airport than where we had previously stayed, we felt that it was totally worth the journey.

In the beginning of July, we stayed here again to have our pre-wedding photo shoot during our family vacation. My impression and memories of this property from my previous stay was so wonderful, we chose to have our photos taken here. There were four of us and we stayed in two two-bedroom beach front villas which had a beautiful view of the ocean. With my short notice of the shoot and our stay, the event manager, Arrissra, and the team delivered a truly high standard of service! She made sure the shoot ran smoothly, and even went out of her way to call me a couple of times prior to our arrival. She help us to book a top photographer in Bali for our shoot. We cannot thank Arrissra, the GM Marco, and the team enough for making our dream came true!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

we stayed here as a family for 3 nights with 2 adults and one adult child and one teenager. Firstly this is a very luxurious resort with fantastic service and staff. we had an ocean view villa with a private pool which was beautiful. The food is fantastic either at Cotto the asian restaurant or the european one. I feel however that we didn't make the best choice as what suited our family. There is very little to do here, which is great if thats what your after, but we would have liked a little more options e.g. we would have liked to swim in the ocean and the market tour could have been a little more informative and comprehensive. probably more suited to honeymooners i think. if you are looking for a luxy resort to do nothing but relax then this is the one!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel28120527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for our cousin's wedding. The whole hotel is booked for family and friends. Service is excellent and room is big and luxurious with a private pool. HOWEVER, the villa is full of insects. One of our cousins got bitten by sands fly with over 100 bites on his legs that he couldn't sleep all night and had to call in the doctor in the morning. Another cousin found a frog and cockroach in the room! Another one saw a snake inside his private pool! Luckily for me, nothing big happened in my room, just found a big ant and spider which could be easily killed. And also, some of our friends were having shower when the water suddenly died. And when they called the reception they were told due to high occupancy there's limited supply of water.

The hotel is very far from everywhere. Maybe suitable for those who want to relax in the hotel and not go anywhere. Overall, I wouldn't stay at this hotel anymore. I think Alila Uluwatu is much much better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuLiaNi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlilaHotels, General Manager at Soori Bali, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Julia,

Many thanks for your positive comments on our food, team and villas. Besides that we have taken good note of your comments on insects and frogs.
Despite the fact that upon notification during a stay there is lot we can do, we also would like to take the opportunity to sincerely apologise for the sentiment this has caused. We are also glad to inform you that we meanwhile have intensified our pest control measures on site. On the water pressure we can note that this was an incident that shall be prevented going forward.

Julia, we would love for you to come back to Alila Villas Soori and please do reach out to me personally should you decide to do so.

Once again many thanks for sharing your thoughts and we look forward to having you back!

Best regards,

Marco den Ouden
General Manager
mdenouden@alilahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
19.4 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 7 in Uluwatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
9.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#25 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,086 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#5 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#7 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
9.8 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soori Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soori Bali

Property: Soori Bali
Address: Kpg. Dukuh | Kerambitan, Tabanan 82111, Indonesia (Formerly Alila Villas Soori)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tabanan
#1 Spa Hotel in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Soori Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the ocean between the Batu Karu Mountain and terraced rice fields, Soori Bali is a hidden refuge, rejuvenating and peaceful; it is Bali as it should be. Designed, owned and operated by renowned architect Soo K. Chan and his wife Ling Fu, the resort prioritises environmental and cultural sustainability. Crafted out of local materials, Soori Bali maintains a true sense of place. Keeping things pure, its restaurants use fresh produce from nearby farms and spices from its own garden; the resort’s spa uses only the highest quality organic products. All 48 of Soori Bali’s villas feature private pools with sweeping vistas. Within easy reach of the legendary Tanah Lot and an 18-hole championship golf course, the resort is perfect for those seeking spiritual and recreational delights. There are few places that revere nature’s gifts like we do, and absolute discretion for our guests is the pattern of our craft. Soori Bali is an amazing place to be, naturally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soori Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Villas Soori Hotel Tabanan
Soori Bali Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing