We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“heaven on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Soori Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soori Bali
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tabanan
Certificate of Excellence
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“heaven on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

a unique concept of the highest possible quality and whilst exclusive still very warm and personal. The design and comfort offered in the villas is the best you can expect and the views and location are just offering the best. Overall a great experience

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    101
    37
    5
    7
See reviews for
133
390
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Alila Soori is a property like no other. Beautiful villas, serene gardens and waterfront restaurants, this is a hideaway from the hustle and bustle of Bali's more popular tourist hotspots. Service is a charm and you are treated extremely well but the staff here. The spa and journeys are highly recommended, as you fill up your electronic guest folio and get to even pick the pillows for your bed. Loved every moment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rsidharta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

A perfect place that will cool down even the busiest manager and a wonderful place for two. We stayed at Alila Villas Soori for 16 nights and if you go there - chose an Ocean View Villa - the most relaxing place we have ever been as a couple.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andreas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The location of this resort is remote and takes at least 1.5 to 2hrs to get to from the airport. It's a perfect getaway if you want to be left alone and just enjoy the view of the crashing waves in your villa. Food and service is all very good although the service is a bit slow at times. Also, during breakfast when it gets very crowded, the orders can get messed up and service can be slow. Wifi is fairly reliable as it comes and goes. Overall it's a great place to unwind and do absolutely nothing but relax.

Room Tip: Ocean view villas are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DistantTraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlilaHotels, General Manager at Soori Bali, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Distant Traveller8,

Many thanks for sharing the feedback on your stay at Alila Villas Soori.
We are indeed situated away from the hustle and bustle in other parts of Bali. At 42km away from the Airport we are situated in one of the most stunning parts of Bali with a 1.2 km stretch of Volcanic beachfront and Rice fields and Mountains on the other. It is a unique scenery that has a growing number of admirers.
Food is an important indulgence for our guests and us and we are glad you have enjoyed the quality and diversity that we provide. We take your comments on our delay of breakfast service to heart and have already changed the way we work and the way our guests perceive it is radiply improving as consequence. We are thus confident that this will not happen again and none the less sincerely apologise for your exeperience.
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally should you decide to return to our patch of paradise cause we would all be delighted to showcase our next level of service and offerings.

Warmest regards from the team at Alila Villas Soori,

Marco den Ouden
General Manager
Alila Villas Soori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The black beach is just astounding. The view of the ocean (if you chose a top level ocean view villa) never gets old. For hours we could watch just the surf, the white water washing across the pitch black sand. The architecture (Soo K. Chan of Singapore) and interior design are beautiful (if you don't need Bali kitsch to enjoy your vacation). Service attitude is great. Our main host, Mira, was not just friendly but also a very efficient fixer - when something was broken, which easily happens under these climate conditions, she took care of it immediately (must say the same thing about another host who's name I forgot, she was from Borneo). The maintenance crew of the resort seems to be very able. Food was excellent. The breakfast menu is very creative and changes every day (repeating itself after five or six days - no problem as you have so many options every day). Dinner at the international restaurant is very good. It is not cheap - but this is a 5 star resort. Don't book Alila Villas Soori if you want to go out in the evenings, try different restaurants and bars and clubs - you are in the middle of the beautiful nowhere. Only disappointment was the special "Shanghai night" with Chinese food. Boring, mediocre food that had little resemblance to what we have been eating in China so far. But I say this just to prove we are not easily satisfied. The spa treatments were first class. Marco, the general manager, was very visible and communicative. His lieutenants (F&B, front desk, housekeeping...) made a great impression including excellent language skills. Made a two hour tour with Segways through the neighboring villages and rice fields. Late afternoon, everybody out in the streets, on the fields, at the beach (very popular hangout for the locals) - enchanting atmosphere, great beauty, almost everybody smiling, waving, greeting, exercising their English ("Hello. How are you. I am fine.") Segway-guide Nyoman being knowledgeable, friendly and generous (made it two and a half hours). Don't make a mistake: This is a quite place. This is not Kuta, Seminyak, Jimbaran or Ubud. If you are looking for action, go somewhere else. If you want to enjoy cheap food and beer, go somewhere else. Get advise before deciding which kind of villa you chose to avoid disappointment. The villas are very different in terms of view, atmosphere and privacy. This resort is among our favorites on Bali now (together with the Aman resorts and the One Villas).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alexander_doepel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great. Fantastic location and service. Friendly personnel. Enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was tasty. Needed faster Internet for complete happyness. I recommend this hotel for couples and families. Best!!


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Natali0255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I give this a 4/5 rating. some aspects can be worked on some limited.

Pros - the architecture is tastefully done, especially when lit up at night. Villa was spacious, location secluded (more on this below) and relaxing.

Location - beachfront but unable to swim, the indian ocean is too strong, and the incessant crashing waves are too loud, so if u can hoping for calming gentle sounds of the sea lapping against the shore perhaps set to Debussy, this is not it. Given that you can't swim in the sea, you'd expect the pool to be larger.

Also the resort is really secluded, its faraway from main tourist areas and transport options are limited. But if you are looking for seclusion this is it, you can drop off the grid, ensconced in your own luxury cocoon here. The only problem was that the hotel food did not agree with me as it was did not have authentic indonesian fare, and other than the first day, we kept going to Seminkyak for dinner instead, time consuming and not cheap either.

Villa - was not too impressed with the terrace view. The mountain is too far off ("in the morning you might see Agung" tho i couldn't) and I guess the padi was newly planted, so none of that publicity pic type verdant green or majestic mountain. Maybe their Ubud property might have a better setting.
Kept awake by village loudspeaker broadcast (one off) and vocal bats, woken up by motorized plow. Get the ocean facing villa instead.

Something went wrong with the plumbing after first night, totally no running water in the morning.

Service - definitely could improve. Check if there is a wedding scheduled during your stay. The staff cannot handle everything at the same time. Discernible drop in service standard once the wedding party arrived. Room service took 45 mins to deliver breakfast on one occasion. on another they came with half our order.
Its the small things that determine whether the service is 5 stars, this can be worked on.


Suggestions - have a little dark zone for stargazing, a waste of the starry night sky.

overall all the small things added up, preventing our stay from being the idyllic romantic getaway.

Room Tip: get the ocean facing villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranvier1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlilaHotels, General Manager at Soori Bali, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Ranvier1980,

Many thanks for providing us with the detailed feedback on your stay. Our site is indeed unique in its location with rice-fields and mountains on one side and the beauty of the ocean and its volcanic black sand on the other. Some people prefer one others combine the both during their stay.

We regret to find out that you have missed romance during your stay, as we have one of the most romantic Spa's with individualised treatments, Vichy showers and palatial set-ups. Also we would have been happy to organise a romantic dinner for two on the beach or even in your villa.
On your roomservice we sincerely apologise for the delay and incompleteness incurred, and due to this feedback we have put in controls to ensure that this does not occur again.

So many thanks for being so constructive in your feedback and for giving our team the opportunity to continue our goal of making all guests have an amazing time. Should you have an opportunity to revisit our property kindly reach out to me directly so I can assign an Ocean Pool Villa and ensure you'll have a romantic moment at Alila Vilas Soori.

Warm regards,

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
19.4 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 7 in Uluwatu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
9.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#23 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,092 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#12 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
9.8 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#24 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soori Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soori Bali

Property: Soori Bali
Address: Kpg. Dukuh | Kerambitan, Tabanan 82111, Indonesia (Formerly Alila Villas Soori)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tabanan
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Soori Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the ocean between the Batu Karu Mountain and terraced rice fields, Soori Bali is a hidden refuge, rejuvenating and peaceful; it is Bali as it should be. Designed, owned and operated by renowned architect Soo K. Chan and his wife Ling Fu, the resort prioritises environmental and cultural sustainability. Crafted out of local materials, Soori Bali maintains a true sense of place. Keeping things pure, its restaurants use fresh produce from nearby farms and spices from its own garden; the resort’s spa uses only the highest quality organic products. All 48 of Soori Bali’s villas feature private pools with sweeping vistas. Within easy reach of the legendary Tanah Lot and an 18-hole championship golf course, the resort is perfect for those seeking spiritual and recreational delights. There are few places that revere nature’s gifts like we do, and absolute discretion for our guests is the pattern of our craft. Soori Bali is an amazing place to be, naturally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soori Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Villas Soori Hotel Tabanan
Soori Bali Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing