We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth at least one night!”
Review of Puri Taman Sari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puri Taman Sari
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Tabanan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I took my extended family here in October. We only had one night because the next night and the night before was full. We'll certainly be back!

Lovely staff, and such a pleasure to meet them! A special mention to Beratha who we met at breakfast the next morning : what a delight he is! Speaks many languages so make sure you have a chat with him! Well traveled and he has the best sense of humour. Had both my daughters laughing and laughing ......... well, we were all having a good time!

Saturday night was quiet, but we made our own fun. Lots of joyful conversation which flowed easily due to the nice food (not super fantastic but good enough), the wonderful service (Ayu was terrific!), and the general ambience : other guests probably thought we were quite mad, but we were relaxed and happy. It was a wonderful stay. Rooms were quite adequate and we loved out door showers. Nothing to complain about, but don't set your expectations too high.

Menwi might seem remote, but it isn't. Not far from Seminyak/Kerobokan : and lots to explore in the surrounding area. I'd use it as a base for several nights, and if I were going to do this, I'd try to get a room with rice field views as it is closer to the swimming pool.

Looks to be a great place to have a low key wedding, and your guests would not have to pay to much to stay. would be lots of fun for any sort of family reunion, event ......... I thoroughly recommend it.

Although I only put 3 for kids activities. The 5 year old in our group just loved it, exploring and running around, feeding the fish, playing with Beratha ....... well done Puri Taman Sari.

And thank you Beratha, you made our stay even more memorable!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monserrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Puri Taman Sari
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

When this resort popped up as a compliment to my flight booking on Expedia I was skeptical initially, however with the past positive reviews here on Trip Advisor I gave it a shot with my fiancee. How glad I was when I arrived to this distinctively different Bali experience. The staffs here generally speaks English and more often than note serves us with a smile.

Though being close to nature also means some accompaniment by her habitats such as insects and all but the well kept and tranquil setting and surroundings should not be discounted on. Travelers should lower their expectation in accordance to the price paid and natural beauty in order to enjoy the stay.

Recommend: Agree that room looks gloomy sometimes and could do with an additional lighting in the bedroom.

Would like to thank Agung Nancy and Agung Bagus for all arrangements.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Halo_Crystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

stayed here for 2 nights and was pleased with hotel. Food was excellent and rooms were clean. Decorations on hut door had a sharp edge which can be dangerous to anyone over 5' 10". Location is remote and you are at the mercy of the hotel for driver pricing, visited ubud for half a day, be careful as driver stoped on way at a shop and my wife bought bag which subsequently was offered at 1/3 the price at the market in ubud. First night wifi worked in our room but then was blocked and had to use wifi in reception area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeybreathLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Me, my husband and 5 year old son stayed at Puri Taman Sari for one night, we had booked for 3 nights but then realised that this is not the place for family vacation. Hotel is situated in a village near Puri Taman Ayun royal temple in Mengwi. The hotel is family owned, in a very beautiful place in the middle of the rice fileds. The hotel territory is very well kept, staff is very friendly and helpful. Breathtaking tranquil scenery, ideal place for honeymooners and to take a week or so for meditation and yoga. Among other services like massage,hotel offers also ceremony of purification of chakras conducted by local holyman and fortune telling. You can also take a cooking class or learn how to make offerings. The restaurant offered excellent food and good service. There was a lovely small pool to cool off during extremely hot day.We had booked the deluxe cottage which was right near the reception area, the room was a little bit too dark and gloomy. The shower and toilet were outside in the little private courtyard. At the daytime with sun shining it was really cool, but at night when it was really dark (and they put all lights out on the territory at 10 in the evening) it was little bit scary. Anyway, when you decide to stay in this lovely hotel, you have to be prepared to face the nature, really huge green grasshopper on the toiletseat, spider as huge as my palm in our room at night, small cobra snake in the reception area. And of course the lovely gekos on your cottage roof, making their "GEKO" sound all the night long. At 6 am there starts the ceremony at the village temple with the priest making really strange sound from the throat and the loud music of gamelan, this sound is very loud considering the quietness of the place and in the darkness it was quite scary because we didn't undrestand at first what it was :). Overall for us at this vacation this was too zen :) but I will definitely recommend this place to everybody who wants to experience real balinese rural life in the most tranquil and mystic hotel I have ever visited. I definitely want to return some other time for nice meditative getaway.

Room Tip: Much better lookig rooms near pool. Our room was nr.06 near the reception, very dark, I would choose...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annelik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

quiet, Authentic, balinese hotel. i'm right now at padma resort legian-paying Five times the cost of puri taman sari, and wish i was back!!!!

my daughter and i stayed in a rice patty view room. from sunrise, you see the gorgeous green fields and watch locals plant on the terraces. you are in a rural village. ssooo much better than staying at a huge, fancy resort or in a large tourist filled city. the hotel was a royal residence and the grounds are lovely and authentic. ceremonies are held on site. there was a wedding one evening. we were able to enjoy the festivities, dances, and traditional music.

food-excellent and inexpensive. staff-friendly and helpful. rooms- my daughter loved the comfy bed covered by canopy net and called it her princess bed. outdoor show-clean, warm. great to shower under the stars. daybed overlooking the fields. small but very nice infinity pool.

i can't believe so few tripdvisor users have reviewed this place. it is a hiddn gem

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chioual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Puri Taman Sari is a beautiful resort of a few dozen rooms outside the village of Menguwi, in the foothills near Tabanan. This area is quieter than the mad tourist hotspots of Kuta and Seminyak, and much the better for it. We stayed in a "deluxe" villa, a short walk away from the main complex with a view of the rice paddies. It had the luxury feel of a much more expensive resort. The room is large and comfortable with powerful air-conditioning, the ensuite bathroom is open to the air and very nice. You have your own private verandah with day-bed and couch, and a private path to the swimming pool. The restaurant in the main courtyard has a selection of Indonesian and western food, all very reasonably priced ($US3 - 7 per meal) and very good quality. The friendly and helpful staff can arrange a variety of tours and day trips.

We almost wished we were staying longer than two nights - it is certainly a very comfortable way to spend one's time, at least if you are happy to have a low-key and relaxing holiday. Some travellers might find Menguwi a little too relaxed - there is no shopping nearby and to do any sightseeing you really need to hire a bike or scooter. But this was not a problem for us - we were happy to put our feet up for a bit!

One small criticism is that the free wi-fi didn't have a strong enough signal to reach our villa, but there were plenty of comfortable places to log in from in the main complex, so it wasn't a problem.

All in all, we loved it. Highly recommended if you don't mind paying a little extra for a lot more value.

Room Tip: The rice paddy villas are excellent value - private and luxurious!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank southaussie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We have just spent 4 nights at this lovely place, a former royal palace, situated away from any town and uncontaminated by the commercialism of the resort hotspots. Walk to villages through rice fields where you will find people very welcoming. We attended a temple rededication ceremony in Bajare, a tiny village in walking distance and were look after by locals. A very special experience. There's always something happening at this hotel. Dances performed by local villagers are frequent. We got an excellent deal using Tripadvisor 'find the best price' online facility.

Room Tip: We had room 17 which was great.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weekendaway07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tabanan hotels
8.5 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#2 of 13 in Tabanan
690 reviews
9.4 mi away
Amarta Retreat
Amarta Retreat
#7 of 13 in Tabanan
55 reviews
8.2 mi away
WakaGangga
WakaGangga
#1 of 13 in Tabanan
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
De Moksha Boutique Resort
10.2 mi away
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort
8.4 mi away
Natya Hotel Tanah Lot
Natya Hotel Tanah Lot
#5 of 13 in Tabanan
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Taman Sari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Taman Sari

Address: Dusun Umabian, Desa Peken | Kecamatan Marga, Kabupaten Tabanan, Tabanan, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tabanan
#6 Spa Hotel in Tabanan
Price Range: £32 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Puri Taman Sari 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Balinese compound owned by a member of the royal family of Mengwi, one of Bali’s main kingdoms of old. The compound is located in a Balinese traditional village, nestled in shady coconut groves, surrounded by rice fields, with three rivers running through. This is your chance to see Bali as you would have found it in the 1920’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Taman Sari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Taman Sari Bali/Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing